We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nearby Hotels
US$368
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$344
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$303
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horizon Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Klagan Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$53
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sixty3(Kota Kinabalu)
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
US$52
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Grandis(Kota Kinabalu)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,509)
Filter reviews
1,509 results
Traveller rating
519
480
244
132
134
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
519
480
244
132
134
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnoble housepenyu restaurantkingfisher restaurantborneo wingsunset barmonitor lizardsolives restaurantmain buildingshuttle busprivate beachchinese restaurantan ocean view roomthe south china seakids clubseafoodthe club loungemalaysia
Filter
Updating list...
837 - 842 of 1,509 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2010

My family and I stayed at the Nexus resort in April 2010
We stay in a 2 bed pool villa - It was beautiful, modern furniture, plasma tv's, plunge pool, 2 well equipped bathrooms, kitchen area all kept in immaculate condition.
The gardens were constantly being looked after and the bar/restaurant staff attentive.
The hotel was a very pleasant 20 minute stroll down a stretch of stunning white beach or you can call a car to drive you, which arrived within 10 minutes and takes 5 minutes to drive.
The hotel has good sports facilities and a good choice of bar's and restaurants.
It was never a problem getting sun loungers either on the beach, in the gardens or by the pool.
The Borneo Spa was a total pleasure, good choice of treatments - try the massage recommended by Tony Blair !!!!
There is also a beautiful golf course and driving range.
Truly a 5 star in every way
I highly recommend this hotel, especially the Villas

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

It was my first time to go KK in July this year and we stayed at the new villa located close to the hotel in a few mins drive. the villa actually is quite nicely renovated and located nicely along the beach. in the main hotel it actually looks a bit old and it was very slow check in and we had been waiting for quite long there. only 2 of the staff there and alot of guests were waiting for help. at first the check in staff didnt know that we booked the villa and kept saying we had no booking there. We were quite surprised until a friend got the copy of the booking out and the lady at the check in counter told us to wait for a shuttle bus to get to the villa to check in. however no one noticed us when the bus would be there and we just kept on waiting until we made a complaint and she again asked for us. When arriving the villa, it was also another half year for check in. after that it was ok for the stay. one nite we tried to call for room service but i had been asked to call other numbers cos they said there were other numbers for villa guests to call for room service. so I had been calling different numbers to ask for room service and kept repeating where i was at and what i wanted and it was at least 15 mins for the calling and explanation until i was very angry. after i showed my angry and at last there was a staff really helping me to direct my call for the room service order. it was quite ridiculas. there was also a water leakage problem at the sink in the kitchen but the staff there came to fix it and cleaned it quite fast this time. I don't think i would go back to this hotel because the service of its staff. It's really not up to standard. they have to improve it otherwise guests won't go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinappleBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We had good expectations about this resort & as we only live an hours flight away were hoping that it would become a regular escape - how wrong!

Initial impressions were good -Noel on reception was very helpful but from there it all went down hill!
We upgraded to an Ocean View room but all you could see was the lake and brief sightings of the sea thorugh the overgrown trees.
We spent most of the first day out & when returning to put our child to bed the bath was filthy & stained, the plug didn't work & the pin to change the flow from shower to tap was missing! There was also an overwhelming smell of damp/mould in the room! The first call to reception was made & what a waste of time - she didn't understand what i was trying to say! I didn't want maintenace in as our son had just fallen asleep & so asked her to contact the manager - this wasn't done! By early the next morning the smell was still horrendous & we didn't want to spend any more time in the room - the sheets felt damp and we didn't want our son exposed to this any more. A trip to reception and the manager came with 2 staff members & you could see the look ontheir faces as they entered the room - looking at each other for reaction. Although the Duty Managers - Petronella - manner was good the information she was giving us didn't add up! Apparently housekeeping always check the room before a guets entered! We know housekeeping were in the room after we checked in as they moved beds & put a babycot up - they just chose to ignore it & the bath would have been seen if they had bothered to clean it - although a complimentary taxi was offered to take us back to KK this did not compensate for the awful stay we had! We left after 1 night as it was intended to be a weekend break. It was only on returning home & finding all our luggage (unworn clothed kept in the case) stinking that we realised the full extent of the odour!
The Breakfast was basic & not a great selection! We were kept waiting in the lobby for 40 mins for a taxi as it wasn't ordered & having paid the hotels rate only to watch the concierge pay the taxi & pocket the change - their rates are extremly steep!
Having stayed at the Rasa Ria and the fact that these hotels are supposed to be of equal ratings - there is no contest! Spend the extra & stay at the Rasa Ria - the Nexus is not a good experience and certainly doesn't match up to the "some say it's heaven" advertising slogan they use! It's tired, not maintained & the only thing that makes this hotel attractive is the lovelyt beach it sits on!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 7224Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

The resort suggests that you are in Heaven or very close to it - the claim is not too far from truth. Excellent private beach, lovely villas and lush greenery all around. One feels close to nature - with the rich flora and fauna. facilities are very well maintained and staff courteous. On the flip side, there is practically nothing for vegetarians and most Rooms are a long walk from the main Block. The resort is quite a distance from the city and the least they can do is to provide complimentary shuttle services.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
Thank whirlwindexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

I saw a few negative reviews for here and wondered whether to change my booking but so glad I didn't! The Nexus is out in the sticks so it depends what you are looking for. We had done alot of travelling around so our intent was to stay here and relax and it was ideal. We ate at the beachside restaurant- great! The Indian- Butter Chicken particularly good! And did the buffet one night too! Bit of a mixup on room when we arrived- booked through Expedia, but resolved well in our favour and enjoyed an amazing suite for our stay which was amazing and unexpected treat! Staff great- overall an amazing experience! Did Batik painting with the kids and all enjoyed this and was reasonable priced.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaisyChain12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews