We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrific service and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Ranked #11 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Exceptionally courteous and helpful staff. Very well presented grounds.
Fabulous beach - perfect for morning or evening running or just walking - with rainforest backdrop. There were a lot of jelly fish in the sea once you moved out from paddling depth.
Noting other reports perhaps we may have just been lucky that we did not encounter any biting insect problems; or maybe we had better repellent.
We had some very good meals and a couple of disappointments with some of the food but this was not a major issue.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveLondon0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

756 - 762 of 1,404 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2010

I am not one to often complain. We're here on our honeymoon. We stayed here for 2 nights before a jungle trip over to Sandakan area and back, and had no complaints. In fact, I thought it was the best resort I'd ever stayed in. We were travelling with 2 othersfor part of our trip - one of which was very ill after eating the food here - they had to postpone their trip.

We got back here for our 2nd stint - a 5 night stay and we were really looking forward to the luxury. We got checked in and they took us to a room with 2 single beds and no air con. Anyone on a honeymoon would agree that's not acceptable. I made a phone call to reception and had some language barriers, but explained that we wanted a room with at least a double bed. She said she couldn't promise anything and that she would check and hung up. No promise of when we'd hear back, so we were reluctant to even go to the toilet to mess up this room. After half an hour I rang again, with the same response. After an hour and 10 minutes I rang again and the lady said there was no record of my request. I added that the air con wasn't working and this didn't seem to change anything.

I asked my husband to go to reception and deal with this, after 2 hours had gone by and our honeymoon time was getting sucked down the toilet. Magically, then, we were moved to a new room with a king size bed and working air con. Not sure if it was because I only phoned or because I am a woman. The new room was one of the furthest from the main building.

Since we are here for 5 nights, I have time to notice things. Taking a look around the shower, it is revolting and mould is all through the grouting and on the ceiling, and appears to be painted over and re-growing. After discovering this I have also noted it in the room itself. That's not healthy.

The food has been a pretty serious let-down after we'd been looking forward to the Malaysian food for 8 months. The food here is generally tasteless, luke-warm and you just don't know if you'll have diahorrea following your meal. You can go to a more expensive option, such as Olives or Noble House but the price is quite inflated, esp.considering how cheap Borneo is outside the resort.

I had a massage on the beach and it seemed to me that the conversation revolved around money. This lady told me she only got commission and had 5 children, all at school. At the end of the massage (which was actually good) she drew up some convoluted maths about what the normal prices were & that she'd given me a free foot massage (yeah right, I am sure that's part of the full body massage) and then commented on my engagement ring and said it must have been expensive. Hmmm wanting a hefty tip, are we? This tainted my experience.

They have a shuttle bus to & from Kota Kinabalu (as it's out of town by about 1/2 hr) which they charge for! The last shuttle back is at 7pm. Not great if you want to check out the famous night markets. I suspect it's because they want to trap you here for dinner! Food in town, accroding to the guide books, is very cheap.

The resort shop is a bit expensive but you don't really have any options.

I have no idea how much we paid for this place, as we booked thru a travel agent, but I think the Shangri-La (not far from here, but out of KK) sounds like a much better place to stay.

The beach and the grounds are really beautiful though. I've given it a bad wrap but it's not ALL bad. For maybe a night or 2, it's fine.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H0neym00ner007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

We have been staying at the NEXUS beach resort for the past 11 years and we would never ever in our wildest dreams have thought that it could be possible that we would say and write the following!
During the past 5 years the service and the “total Nexus package” showed signs of bad management. Chefs came and went just about at the speed of lightning. Repairs and general upkeep of the resort was either done very, very sparingly or not at all. The clientele became a sort where any sensible innkeeper would put a question mark behind! Food and service went down but never to the extend that guests meeting each other in the swimming pool would actually discuss it! Food and cleanliness was always up to an acceptable standard. Calling housekeeping or the front desk one was met courteously. Never with…yessss what do you want me to do about it…and then having to wait indefinitely! Food: shrimps so tough that a knife could not cut them, meat so tough that after cooking for 5 hours it still was as tough as shoe soles! Old bread for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A breakfast buffet so empty that one would think things were on severe rations! No cheese or meat, yoghurt out of a bowl, a bowl everybody sneezes and coughs into! Staff who actually could not care. We have never ever in all our tracvels seen such an empty badly organized breakfast buffet! The sad thing is that in the 5 other restaurants on the NEXUS 5***** deluxe campus food is even worse then in the main Penyu restaurant! The 5*****deluxe rooms in the Ocean wing were recently refurbished but to such an extend that one would feel very badly cheated. Standing actually in a refurbished room is worse then looking at it from an internet - read Trip advisor - picture. Balcony door did not close/open properly due to badly laid plastic make-believe parquet! Old smelly sheer curtains, beds where you would think you had a bout of vertigo, horrible old pillows and what once were fluffy duvets were now mainly empty duvet covers. The latest HD TV incl. a DVD player, yet the TV did not work and DVD’s couldn’t be bought anywhere other then after a 55 minute trip into town! The bathroom had filthy grouting, a leaking toilet flush, that is if you could flush the toilet!!!! And a lovely long bath but where the water kept running out of the tap and a plug which let all the water flush out again! For 2 persons staying in a room you would only get 1 shampoo, 1 shower gel and 1 soap and not for love or money would the chambermaid part with a second! Towels were threadbare. As for the pool, an unhealthy ring of frothy filthy bobbed up and down the swimming pool and as if that was not enough - and pardon me for putting it so crudely - poo was bobbing up and down in the Jacuzzi which did not function either! This in itself is very serious as stagnant water in itself is a s serious health hazard. Stagnant water and floating poo is asking for closure and immediately. We reported it to the “towel shed” and it took 45 minutes for a towel young man to take a plastic red/white striped rope and cordoned it off. We had to slam a fist on the front desk and demand to speak to the duty manager! The next day, after we and many other guests had decided that enough was enough and cut their 5*****deluxe stay short, we inquired what was actually done too the Jacuzzi and we were told that it was “disinfected with the usual swimming pool disinfectant”. Nobody took any notice of our demands to empty the Jacuzzi and give it a good scrub! We not only feel very very sad we feel that we have been conned out of a lot of money for something which is the worst health risk ever. NEXUS 5*****deluxe trades on the pristine empty beach and forgets to tell that swimming in the South China Sea is as dangerous as swimming in their own pool or Jacuzzi! The sea is full of jelly fish and also deadly box jelly fish! Walking on the beach is another extremely unpleasant event because of the sand flies and the midgets. If you live after a NEXUS 5***** swim in the South China Sea you’ll look like the plague hit you, welts which not only drive you to distraction from itching but they can also get infected! So overall, would we recommend NEXUS 5***** deluxe, of which once upon a time people would indeed say…this is heaven…. The answer is a loud no, not even my worst enemy would we grant this experience! Go to the Beverly Hotel, it might not have a posh swimming pool but it is clean and the price of RM169 feels a lot better then the RM400++ of this horror on the beach!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank overseaswriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

My family and I stayed at the Nexus resort in April 2010
We stay in a 2 bed pool villa - It was beautiful, modern furniture, plasma tv's, plunge pool, 2 well equipped bathrooms, kitchen area all kept in immaculate condition.
The gardens were constantly being looked after and the bar/restaurant staff attentive.
The hotel was a very pleasant 20 minute stroll down a stretch of stunning white beach or you can call a car to drive you, which arrived within 10 minutes and takes 5 minutes to drive.
The hotel has good sports facilities and a good choice of bar's and restaurants.
It was never a problem getting sun loungers either on the beach, in the gardens or by the pool.
The Borneo Spa was a total pleasure, good choice of treatments - try the massage recommended by Tony Blair !!!!
There is also a beautiful golf course and driving range.
Truly a 5 star in every way
I highly recommend this hotel, especially the Villas

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

It was my first time to go KK in July this year and we stayed at the new villa located close to the hotel in a few mins drive. the villa actually is quite nicely renovated and located nicely along the beach. in the main hotel it actually looks a bit old and it was very slow check in and we had been waiting for quite long there. only 2 of the staff there and alot of guests were waiting for help. at first the check in staff didnt know that we booked the villa and kept saying we had no booking there. We were quite surprised until a friend got the copy of the booking out and the lady at the check in counter told us to wait for a shuttle bus to get to the villa to check in. however no one noticed us when the bus would be there and we just kept on waiting until we made a complaint and she again asked for us. When arriving the villa, it was also another half year for check in. after that it was ok for the stay. one nite we tried to call for room service but i had been asked to call other numbers cos they said there were other numbers for villa guests to call for room service. so I had been calling different numbers to ask for room service and kept repeating where i was at and what i wanted and it was at least 15 mins for the calling and explanation until i was very angry. after i showed my angry and at last there was a staff really helping me to direct my call for the room service order. it was quite ridiculas. there was also a water leakage problem at the sink in the kitchen but the staff there came to fix it and cleaned it quite fast this time. I don't think i would go back to this hotel because the service of its staff. It's really not up to standard. they have to improve it otherwise guests won't go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinappleBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We had good expectations about this resort & as we only live an hours flight away were hoping that it would become a regular escape - how wrong!

Initial impressions were good -Noel on reception was very helpful but from there it all went down hill!
We upgraded to an Ocean View room but all you could see was the lake and brief sightings of the sea thorugh the overgrown trees.
We spent most of the first day out & when returning to put our child to bed the bath was filthy & stained, the plug didn't work & the pin to change the flow from shower to tap was missing! There was also an overwhelming smell of damp/mould in the room! The first call to reception was made & what a waste of time - she didn't understand what i was trying to say! I didn't want maintenace in as our son had just fallen asleep & so asked her to contact the manager - this wasn't done! By early the next morning the smell was still horrendous & we didn't want to spend any more time in the room - the sheets felt damp and we didn't want our son exposed to this any more. A trip to reception and the manager came with 2 staff members & you could see the look ontheir faces as they entered the room - looking at each other for reaction. Although the Duty Managers - Petronella - manner was good the information she was giving us didn't add up! Apparently housekeeping always check the room before a guets entered! We know housekeeping were in the room after we checked in as they moved beds & put a babycot up - they just chose to ignore it & the bath would have been seen if they had bothered to clean it - although a complimentary taxi was offered to take us back to KK this did not compensate for the awful stay we had! We left after 1 night as it was intended to be a weekend break. It was only on returning home & finding all our luggage (unworn clothed kept in the case) stinking that we realised the full extent of the odour!
The Breakfast was basic & not a great selection! We were kept waiting in the lobby for 40 mins for a taxi as it wasn't ordered & having paid the hotels rate only to watch the concierge pay the taxi & pocket the change - their rates are extremly steep!
Having stayed at the Rasa Ria and the fact that these hotels are supposed to be of equal ratings - there is no contest! Spend the extra & stay at the Rasa Ria - the Nexus is not a good experience and certainly doesn't match up to the "some say it's heaven" advertising slogan they use! It's tired, not maintained & the only thing that makes this hotel attractive is the lovelyt beach it sits on!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 7224Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

The resort suggests that you are in Heaven or very close to it - the claim is not too far from truth. Excellent private beach, lovely villas and lush greenery all around. One feels close to nature - with the rich flora and fauna. facilities are very well maintained and staff courteous. On the flip side, there is practically nothing for vegetarians and most Rooms are a long walk from the main Block. The resort is quite a distance from the city and the least they can do is to provide complimentary shuttle services.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
Thank whirlwindexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
10.7 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
9.6 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,186 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
281 reviews
3.8 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
9.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai

Address: Nexus Resort Karambunai 100 Jalan Sepangar Bay, Kota Kinabalu 88993, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £73 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nexus Resort Karambunai is set within 3,335 acres of unique & unspoiled beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nexus Resort And Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Hotel Karambunai
Nexus Resort Sabah
Nexus Resort Karambunai
Nexus Sabah Hotel
Nexus Karambunai Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing