We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scary but fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Canopy Walk

Canopy Walk
Book In Advance
More Info
US$84.40*
and up
Kinabalu Park Canopy Walkway and Poring Hot Springs Full-Day Tour from Kota...
Ranked #22 of 77 Tours in Kota Kinabalu
Attraction details
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Scary but fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

The canopy walk is a must to try - it is made up of a narrow piece of wood and hang with net. When you walk across you can feel the swinging feeling for every step you take. There are 3 part to the canopy walk and will surely give you the adrenaline rush. I love the feeling of being as tall as the trees.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Racjoehy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    22
    9
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dwight, Canada
Level Contributor
255 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

If you are touring through Kinabalu National Park make sure you stop at the Poring Canopy walkway. I have walked across several canopy walkways in the world but this was the scariest but the most exciting. You pay an initial entrance fee, then you pay again if you want to walk on the canopy or swim in the Hot Springs. If you want to take pictures while you walk the canopy then you have to pay again.There seems to be a lot of unnecessary fees. Walking across the canopy is truly an experience. You walk on a narrow piece of wood and the bridge sways as you walk. Only 6 people are allowed on the bridge at 1 time. I would say you would be safer with only 2 people crossing. You stop at a platform between to 2 trees to enjoy the views. The scenery is beautiful and you really feel like you are at the top of the canopy. The walk up to get to the canopy is quite steep in some places and it was hot and humid. Bring some water. You might need it. Experience the canopy walk. It is worth it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Retired_teacher_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Steep, uneven, rubble path. High steps, unstable canopy x 5”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

I couldn't find the specifics I was looking for on here, prior to going. I aim to make this as informative as possible for anyone unsure whether to go.

You need trainers or walking boots for this one. I tried flat shoes but they were wrecked by the end of this walk!

It often rains so take a lightweight waterproof. It's still very hot and humid, a coat would be too heavy and hot.
Take water, insect repellant, a camera and sun glasses.
Our guide stopped for us to take pictures of the mountain and to visit the craft market. Try the fresh pineapple from the local plantation, which was so juicy and sweet. The craft market there is very basic and a Contains a lot of repetitive tacky stuff. If you do want a t shirt ot anything, Be prepared to barter. Start at half the asking price.
There are toilets there but they charge you and there is no toilet paper, the floor is wet and they stink. If you don't need it, I would say, hang on until the museum stop over. They are still not great but much better than the market ones. The museum is small and done in about half hour.
Next stop is the hot springs. Apparently some are hot and some are cool. There are little roofs over to give shade but our guide said these are man made and he couldn't guarantee the hygiene of them. We refrained. I did put my finger in the natural spring at the top. It's fenced off from bathers and would be too hot anyway. Too hot to leave your hand in.

Next was the trek up to reach the canopy, which is actually 5 canopies and you have to do them all in order to get down!
The walk up is on what would be considered an unmade path, in uk. Think mud, with a few sack loads of rubble thrown into it and you will get a pretty good idea. Then there are many, many steps. Ranging from shallow to very high steps. These high ones were almost up to my knees. Again these are uneven and roots of trees are tripping factors on the actual steps themselves. So for many, you have to place your foot on the step between roots. There is only a basic, rickety handrail part of the way.
The climb up probably took us about 30 minutes. With one resting place - with seat, which was over half way up.
When you reach the top, there is a small seat. Then comes the 5 canopy walks through the trees.
I am fine with heights. I was expecting to be above the tree canopy. But you are still in the trees, and so the view is not great. The canopy consists of a single width plank of wood and supporting ropes. There is rope mesh on each side and a single rope hand rail. The planks are not fixed to the intermittent small standing areas. They are free hanging/ swinging as much as the rope allows. Which is quite a lot. When someone steps in behind you, even at 15 feet away, you feel the canopy go down with the extra weight! No matter how gingerly you walk, when others are in front and behind the plank not only goes up and down in a bounce but also tilts from being horizontal to 30 degrees or so. Some people were totally undaunted by this but it terrified me. I just think its best you go armed with the facts.
The ropes holding the planks to trees are not plentiful. On more than one canopy, if it snapped, you would not be saved by the next rope as they are too far apart. In my opinion, I believe you would hit the ground or at best suffer great injury from the trees on your long fall down!

For me - the walk up was tough but just doable. I'm 53 and don't do any regular sport. I have no medical conditions.
My husband found it tough and he is 8 years younger and plays squash 3 times a week. He was not troubled by the canopy walk at all. So I guess it depends whether you look at the safety of things or whether you are more a 'fly by the seat of your pants' type!

The walk down is another path similar to the one going up. Easier but hard on some people's knees.

I hope this is helpful and informative for you to make a decision.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank KandSSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuantan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Adrenaline Rush”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

We went to Canopy Walkaway in Ranau Hot Spring before starting our journey of climbing Kinabalu Mt. What else i can say, it is the Highest Canopy Walk in Malaysia and definitely will thrill you and adrenaline rush while you're crossing in between tree tops... from the top, you'll be amazed with wonderful scenery and how beautiful the tropical forest itself. By the way, you've to pay MYR 4 at the counter before start your canopy walk. Enjoy!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Raihana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wow, a walk across the treetops”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

What an adrenaline rush for those of us who have a fear of heights!! Great experience walking across the very narrow monkey bridges across the treetops.
Note" Take inspect repellant,change of clothes in case it pours down, kagoul or rain protection, wear some sturdy shoes. Be prepared for a lot of steps to climb throughout the forest before getting to the platform. Not good for anyone with arthritic joints, unstable hips/knees/heart or respiratory conditions.
Quite challenging, but something to remember!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank GinaNamini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canopy Walk also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Canopy Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing