We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fancy menu but lousy food quality”
Review of Mr Ho's Fine Foods

Mr Ho's Fine Foods
Ranked #355 of 578 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Cuisines: Malaysian
Restaurant details
hong kong
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fancy menu but lousy food quality”
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Based in the review, I decided to give it a go here. The interior looks fine. Menu selection looks fancy. On average it costs RM30-40 for each dish. Compared with established hotel, it is on par in terms of price.

But the food is way below standard. Pasta tasted salty and spicy served with chinese roasted pork. Pork chop tasted cheap, side dishes such as mashed potatoes tastes very oily.

For the price, it is not worth of the money at all

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank travel_man_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    12
    3
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
KK
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent Job and Keep It Up”
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

I have eaten many times at Mr Ho's and even had my birthday dinner party over there. Their food especially pork steak is excellent. Wagyu beef is also excellent.
Wine selection are few and pricey. Service can be lacking upstairs as the staff can go hiding behind the bar counter. This is understandable becoz it is not easy to retain good workers in Sabah so the experienced waiters and waitresses do not stay long.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kingdavid88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Liked the sausages”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Were there twice, good food, especially the German-style sausages and the sauerkraut.
Also have good German beer.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I love the salad the most!!!”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Had a birthday BBQ party for my boss 2 days ago at Mr. Ho's restaurant. Just unhappy with the unskillful staff but happy with the food especially their salad!
ordered too many good food but I only love their salad the most as it's really really fresh and god taste!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivi_An1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
“Superb Roast pork at its highest quality”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

This restaurant boasts of its quality from the food till the mannerism of the waiters. Sausagees are home made and specially checked by the chef before the dish is served. I like it always. I recommend it highly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ghost667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mr Ho's Fine Foods also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Mr Ho's Fine Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing