We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't eat in this restaurant if you are hungry”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Emperor's Delight

Emperor's Delight
Ranked #116 of 561 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Don't eat in this restaurant if you are hungry”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Yes.... we had to wait for more than an hour to get our food served. The food was mediocre.. The standard had dropped so much if compared to few years ago when they were newly opened. Dont bother coming to torture yourself in this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank SleekVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    20
    15
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth my money”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

One of my friend have to wait for her fired la mien for almost an hour while most of us have finish our meal. When we complain, one of the waitresses said they have to wait for more order of the Fried La Mien to cook. Does it make sense? What if there is no Fried La Mien ordered during that time? The food is so-so...not the kind of money i would pay for. So, no thank you, i won't be recommending anyone to go and i will never step into this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JustynLCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“not a bit of emperor's feel”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

visited this restaurant few years ago when their chefs are flown in from china. you can see them making the 'la mian' from scratch. the taste was superb. was expecting the same quality on my recent visit and its so disappointing the 'la mian' is not spongy and the chinese chef are nowhere to be seen. only few malay girls inside the kitchen. I bet the 'la mian' are ready made ones. air conditioner so so only. still sweating inside. food portion is ok. I think its the only restaurant selling 'la mian' in town. for those havent been to this restaurant they may pop in and try the 'la mian'.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BMU2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Princesa, Philippines
Level Contributor
143 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“A Fine Spread.....”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

A Fine Spread....of Ratings.

Very interesting that the five reviews previous to this are evenly spread between "Excellent" and "Terrible", and most by high grade contributors. It shows how subjective these reviews can be.

I fall between "NeilandSuzie" and "Frank8789" on our experience having visited twice (in four days).

We were drawn back for the second visit by the delicious Salted Roast Duck, it was so good that everything else became secondary.

Also chose different versions of fried rice which was served in large portions but was either bland or over-flavoured but not the happy medium. We noticed that the cook was wearing an "Ajinomoto" apron - perhaps he couldn't get the seasoning correct?

Service, and surroundings we found fine, both visits were in the evening.

Regarding the beer (Tsingtao), perhaps thay served it because it is relatively cheap? Being used to San Miquel (Philippines) I tend to go for Tsingtao by choice. Subjective again.

Will we go back on our next visit? Yes, for the Duck!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vetus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Value for money but not truely Authentic.”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My wife and I both enjoyed the meals we had at this restaurant.

Only 2 criticisms is the for some reason in all Malaysian restaurants when you order an entree and it always comes out either last or half way through the meal.

And only other complaint is that they only sell 1 type of beer being a chinese beer that is not that good,more variety would help immensely

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NeilandSuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Emperor's Delight also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Emperor's Delight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing