We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gusto Food & Wine

Gusto Food & Wine
Ranked #13 of 555 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, View, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We walked past and were taken by the smell of the food coming from the kitchen.....amazing! Asked for a table but were told it might be a long wait for food to come out. Em took the chance and while we did indeed have to wait for our food it was well worth it.

Kitchen staff and wait staff were all extremely friendly.

All in all, great dinner experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    57
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good pizza, nice owner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Just arrived in Borneo. Found this little place at the waterfront and were keen for a pizza.

Ordered pellegrino lemonade and pizza's. The gusto was the best but the other was good as well.

Afterwards chris the owner joined us for a chat. Nice chap. Will come again.

Helpful?
Thank bertjanvanessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Order the steak and you will be in heaven!!! The taste was glorious and pizza was great too. Small restaurant on the harbour front, service was ok but hey your on holiday. Great house red wine and reasonable prices. The owners work hard and the result is obviously a couple who love food and take time to present a great meal. We went the second time in a week and they gave husband a great birthday dessert with his name on.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What a great little find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

First night had steak ...was Devine! Chanced it a second night and still great, cannot fault this place on the sea front. They even helped us celebrate husbands birthday too. House red wine was really good but those steaks are worth writing home about ! Good service and great prices...hope to go back again before we go home.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Annettew56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cloquet, Minnesota
Level Contributor
125 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Food was great - service was very poor at best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

This is a tough one to actually make a recommendation either way. From the milkshake, salad and steak I ordered the food was very good. No issues at all, but the service was truly bad. It seamed to be steady as far as customers, but certainly was not busy, but everything took a VERY LONG TIME to receive. Maybe the wait staff were having an off night, but I couldn't honestly say I would return. For me the service is equally important as the food. I sat at a table overlooking the South China Sea, pretty view, but it was very sad to see the amount of trash that was floating in the water, and certainly not a reflection on this restaurant, but sad too see. They have free wifi, but for what every reason the password I was give written down was not correct as said before service was so bad, couldn't get anyone to come back and address it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gusto Food & Wine also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Gusto Food & Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing