We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Need to sort wifi!”
Review of Oceania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oceania Hotel
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Stayed in superior room with clients. Staff great. 15 mins walk to downtown. Breakfast satisfactory. Rooms clean and really good. Missing out on top marks due to poor wifi...was down more often than up.

Recommended - Great Value

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank furrycoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

Stayed 5 nights and was pleased with the hotel. Every thing is new, staff helpful and try hard to please. Only grizzle was wi-fi not that great in room and access had to be renewed daily. There is a free guest computer in lobby. Not that far from city 20-30 min walk is doable. Free shuttle available at various times and taxis are near if u not into walking Catch 22 restaurant served up nice breakfast and staff very attentive. Had evening dinner (seafood restaurant) and was an excellent presented meal. Both are good value for money.

Room Tip: room we were given had connecting room (locked door between them) and noise next door could be a pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kesub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

oceania is a just open hotel. (2 months). room is clean and spacious .
no carpet and no frills.
walking distance from city center can be a problem if you dont like to walk.
perfect option if you already explore all city.
breakfest is very good
restaurant is the best

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joao b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The hotel is located in a loop road around a cluster of Government offices and banks. Parking can be a problem for those arriving at and around the working hours from 9am to 5 pm due to the fact the parking lots around this 4 story shop lot cum hotel are public parking . From my experience, there were not allocated and designated parking lot for hotel guest.
Theme of the hotel is "the Ocean " ,thus, you will find poster of corals or sea animals on bedroom wall and lobby of hotel.
Breakfast was good with a small array of tasty local food. Surprisingly, they had prepared a sauté mixed seafood for your breakfast. A little effort to remove the vain of the prawns before cooking could bring additional merits to the dish.
Overall, breakfast was good, especially the freshly squeezed orange juice.

The rooms however are just so so. Nothing to shout about. Amenities for the rooms were just the bare minimal.
Service especially at the reception and the restaurant could be improved. Especially when you need a refill of coffee.

Room Tip: If possible do not choose room number 307. Window was facing another building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ishaq A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

booked this hotel during the festive season at Kota Kinabalu. A nice and modern hotel, we stay there only for one night, and managed to get a good sleep. by the way, it is just a basic hotel if you want to find a place to sleep, there is nothing much to do at the hotel. The hotel is quite isolated from other places.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazmiey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Booked this hotel with big worrisome at first due to the low price but everything was unexpected starting from the warm service that we had received from the front desk and everyone from everywhere in the hotel even the management's team. As we walked to the lift area up to our room my hubby was whispering that "you sure only this much that we were charged for this hotel", I laugh and say ya! Never in our experience in Malaysia that a 3-star hotel can be at such impeccable features and service to expect! What a lovely hotel. The restaurant is amazing too with great food presentation and taste yet reasonably priced. Would definitely return again, the atmosphere and beautiful river park really make it a special experience.

Room Tip: corner unit with river park view is highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilprincess1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Hotel is new and has a lot of modern glass used. Yet it doesn't give a feeling of staying in a corporate office building. Sleeping comfort is not compromised. Truly an amazing hotel-staying experience for a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David_Mcld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.8 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
#20 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
542 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#14 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sabah Oriental Hotel
Sabah Oriental Hotel
#46 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
309 reviews
1.3 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#34 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceania Hotel

Address: Lot 60-64, Sadong Jaya, Sabah 5 Jalan Ikan Juara, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £27 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceania Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oceania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing