We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oceania Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sky Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sabah Oriental Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Impiana Mutiara Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Tang Dynasty Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Switz Paradise Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Deleeton(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
43
91
53
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
91
53
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttleminute walk to the city centreshuttle serviceparking couponnice clean roomsdeluxe roomstayed for nightsstar hotelhotel locatedquick checkclean hotelown transportother hotelsclose to the airporttaxi farelittle thingslovely hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed two nights here, and the experience was mixed. But on the whole, considering the fact it is a budget hotel, I guess it was OK.

The positives: The room was reasonably spacious and comfortable. It was also clean and the hotel looks relatively new, so things work well in general. Location is about 3 minutes’ drive to the city centre during the less busy times. Service is alright—pretty clinical, nothing fantastic. Breakfast is adequate.

The negatives: Slightly dodgy neighbourhood. Parking can be a pain, especially on weekdays—the hotel does not have its own parking, and guests have to compete for the public parking spaces, and pay for parking. Thanks to the frustrating traffic in this city, the three minutes drive to the city centre can easily turn into 30 minutes during the busy periods. This is made worse by the fact that this neighbourhood is only accessible by two side roads which can get extremely congested. Also, there were quite a few guests from China when we were there, so it got pretty noisy at times, and we also had to be sure we went for breakfast early to avoid eating food that is contaminated by unhygienic handling (literally “handling”!).

On the whole, for folks on a budget, this is a good enough place to sleep and shower in. Just get your expectations right.

Room Tip: Request to be on a floor without the people from China.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MelvinLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

I will choose this hotel again when i travel to kinabalu. The room very clean, the staff was very helpful. I can do early checked in for free. Although they not have a free shuttle to airport. The room is standard. The breakfast only a few dishes. Vut there are so many foods aka kopi tiam around the hotel that we can reach only a few steps. To suriah mall we need 5 to 10 min driving.they have free shuttle to reach malls. Only 3 min driving to reach jesselton...so many seafood we can found around jesselton at night.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetfairy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This hotel is new, the lobby and rooms are clean, the facility are very new. But the floor of the room is dirty, and we were woke up in the morning 5AM, because of the next room's door have the sound like alarm. For continue 35 mins, call the hotel to solve the problem, don't know why. That's really a disaster! And also the location is not good , far away from the downtown, although the hotel have the shuttle bus, but you need book for the bus as there are only 8 seats, and they don't allow us to bring the luggage to the bus. Overall, although it's a new holt with a good price, I will not stay here next time.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed just one night at the Oceania Hotel, which we chose as it is quite near to the airport and we had an early flight the following day. It's quite a sleek modern hotel with a large room (we had a Deluxe room) and a great shower.

There is nothing we can fault with the hotel itself: it was fine for just the one night. However it is not in the nicest part of KK: the canal is polluted, there is hardly anyone around (perhaps it is more of a business area?) and it is not just a quick walk to the centre. Although it was a Saturday night, we really struggled to find somewhere for dinner: nearly everywhere (and there weren't that many restaurants to begin with) was closed so that we ended up eating in a casino around the corner, which was ok but not what we had set out to find.

The hotel does offer a free shuttle bus service into the city centre so we would definitely have used this if we were staying longer for better dinner choices and a nicer atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Number23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is good for a pitstop in your holiday. It is near the airport and you could arrange a pick-up at the airport (35 RM). There is a fine breakfast. The rooms are clean with a modern bathroom. In the room we had tea and coffee facilities (very handy if you have instand noodles with you with a late check in). The hotel has good wifi.
If you want to explore the city this hotel is not in the centre. But I believe the hotel has a shuttle bus to bring you to the centre. Otherwise a taxi (teksi) is not expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Mel3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews