We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fried rice I have ever had!”
Review of Yamagoya Ramen - CLOSED

Yamagoya Ramen
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
1 review
“Best fried rice I have ever had!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Had a fantastic meal at Yamagoya Ramen in Kota Kinabalu. It was ridiculously cheap and food came extremely fast! I did not have Ramen, but I had their fried rice, which was amazing, with a chicken dish.
There weren't many people in the restaurant besides us, which made it a nice quiet evening, but the place deserves to be full everyday!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oliver M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Giving authentic Japanese ramen joint a bad name.”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Tried a few times before giving a review is just the way I roll. First when it has just opened, I tried the signature ramen, it was pretty good, I was joyous, but the second visit changed my opinion when I ordered the one with the black garlic oil, it tasted a bit artificial, meaning that the broth was not freshly made, and it was like they used some kind of pre made seasoning to make the broth.
Last time I went, I ordered some side dishes, and the tonkatsu I ordered where extremely greasy, chewy and tasted funny, far far far far far...from the one I eaten in Tokyo, not even close to some I tried in KL...disappointing, because I really love ramen, and this one needs a lot of work...

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank XeonFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice ambient”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Service was quite fast, maybe because there were only 2 tables occupied during my visit.
Food quality was so-so, the Mukashi Ramen was a bit salty and quite expensive for the quality and portion.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rusticwanderess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“RACIST !!! TERRIBLE SERVICE .”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We went on the 25th.January.2014 at around 7.30pm night 3 person . Due to all the bigger table is occupied most of them by 2 person sitting on 4 person table by the way, we are asked to settle with a 2 person table , hence we need to drag and extra chair. Out of the 2 table available , we wanted to sit slightly in the shop but instead we are force by the waiter to sit under the chilly air curtain near the entrance . We insisted to sit inside but the waiter keeps giving all sorts of excuses . After sitting down at the terrible spot with 3 person sitting on a 2 person table , in less than a minute 3 white person came in and they are allowed to sit in the table we originally wanted to sit in with the same orientation . This obviously shows the racial discrimination of the shop . Unless you are white , DO NOT GO HERE , they only idolize white people !

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelYves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Shocked at other reviews although..”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Service, food, price was excellent in comparison to other places we'd dined. We dined there twice.

I'm shocked at other not-so-good reviews however we did only have one bowl of ramen. The fried rice was excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RochCorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yamagoya Ramen also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing