We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Jesselton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent value hotel”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The Jesselton hotel was by far our favourite hotel in Kota Kinabalu. The rooms were comfortable and quiet and the hotel was located in the centre of town, within easy walk of restaurants, shops and the night markets. Service was friendly and prompt, and best of all they had free wi-fi. The hotel had a lovely atmosphere, it is a boutique hotel with a colonial heritage decor. The only drawback was no pool, and there was a slight smell of cigarette smoke in the room although the aircon soon got rid of that, and we found that in every hotel we stayed at in KK. We stayed at other more expensive hotels in KK but the Jesselton was by far the best value for money, and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scarlett345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    271
    76
    13
    10
See reviews for
70
228
57
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver,B.c.
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We loved staying at The Jesselton. The rooms are large and comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. Lots of dining options in the area and easy to walk to.

Room Tip: We stayed 3 different times in 3 different rooms. I did not find there was a bad room. All were quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debg9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

As I visited KK for the second time I choose another hotel. The first time I stayed in Gaya Center. I prefer the Jesselton as it has character. As I had to leave early the arranged a pre breakfast for me. As I came down at 6.30 am the hot fried eggs were on the table. The orange juice was freshly squeezed and a great coffee. Within ten minutes I could take the taxi (ordered by the hotel) who just waited for me to finish breakfast. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Far more service than I expected in this price category. The room was clean and spacious as was the bathroom. If you go to KK I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DiederickPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

As a group of 7, we stayed here twice during our visit to Borneo. We enjoyed the old world ambiance of the hotel. The breakfasts were good. Rooms were clean, of decent size, and reasonably priced. The location is good - the Sunday market is just outside the door - and you can walk to any place in old KK. Service was good and the staff friendly; we left bags here when we went out into the jungle and they took good care of them.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westsidewoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

The Jesselton was a charming hotel with old-world ambiance in a great loc in KK. Bar area with piano was very cosy and the Italian-themed restaurant as well. Didn't eat dinner there, but the cooked-to-order breakfast was good.

Rooms were modern and clean, with effective, quiet, air con and good bathroom.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NovaOrbis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Booked this place because of all the positive reviews on Tripadvisor. This was the first time ever where we felt so disappointed that we checked out early even with a penalty on one night's stay. The rooms are so old, and dingy. It was depressing. This is the first hotel that I've ever stayed in where the hallways are nicer than the rooms. Hotel is very well located, in the heart of downtown KK, but there are better choices for this price. The rooms need refurbishing.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sndra88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Great hotel - stayed two nights.

Friendly staff, nice decor all around- we found it very good value if you are looking for a few days of comfort after backpacking around the island. Very close to the pier and to the middle of town for the shops/ restaurants etc

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelranger123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
663 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
445 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jesselton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jesselton Hotel

Property: The Jesselton Hotel
Address: 69 Gaya Street, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jesselton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Jesselton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesselton Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing