We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok - not 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Jesselton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ok - not 4 star”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed at the Jessleton after reading all the great reviews on trip advisor. It was ok - the room was clean and spacious. However, the staff, whilst friendly, were not very helpful. There was also no bar fridge in our room - just a missing space in the cupboard - and we had to get the staff to move one in, which seemed a little strange! The lights also operated differently and it took us ages to work out how to turn the lights on.

We also suspect that $50 may have gone missing from our room. Of course, we should have used the safe so this is our own fault, but please be cautious,

Overall ok, but definitely not 4 star.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mjc2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    268
    75
    13
    10
See reviews for
70
224
56
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

Nice clean Hotel in the center. Shopping mall, 7 eleven and ATM right around the corner.
Check the restaurant bella (in the hotel lobby) wich has a great menu with local and some interessting international creations. Great food and drinks which are nicely presented.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fraktal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

The Jesselton had some great reviews on here so we chanced it early this month as our 'base' in KK. The Lonely Planet describe this as 'Top end' and certainly by Malaysia standards this is. Mock Colonial in all its glory, the Jesselton was a welcome home for the three separate occasions we were there. Clean rooms and bathrooms (if a little dated), friendly and helpful staff and great location in KK make this a perfect place to stay. If they included breakfast too, that would be even better!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katefrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I have been to Kota Kinabalu, East Malaysia, quite a few times. I have always stayed at the beachfront 5-star hotels, with excellent facilities and sea view. So, this time, at the recommendation of an old friend, who had stayed there many years ago, I decided to try out The Jesselton, to quote my expatriate friend, "a hotel with character".
My travel agent was a bit apprehensive in making the booking for this different hotel as she had always booked guests into the 5-star ones. I had to insist, stating that if I do not like it, it would be my own choice.
The Jesselton is a small hotel, tracing its origins to the colonial days, 1960s, when Kota Kinabalu was called "Jesselton". Well, it was not quite that special, as compared to the Oriental in Bangkok, the Strand in Rangoon, the Manila, the Peninsula in Hong Kong, nor the Raffles in Singapore and such likes. However, it does have its own character, as befitting a smaller town's hotel. I was therefore not disappointed. The room was nice, a good size, and totally refurbished. There was a small bar downstairs and on Sunday, there was a "fair" just on the road downstairs. I like the interesting scene. Good convenient location indeed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalidr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highett, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Great Hotel in Great Location. Rooms were very clean, with beautiful large comfortable beds. Staff were always smiling, friendly and helpful. I honestly cant fault this hotel, I would highly recommend staying here to anyone!

Room Tip: Ask for room on Gaya street, otherwise you will end up with a view of the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJM0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed just one night at the hotel.It is very close to the port , the coffee shops and the best shopping centre of the city. Breakfast takes more time as you order from a menu and it was not even good. Go to nearby places for better and quicker morning meal. Except for the doormen we didn't find the staff helpful either.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bendor119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We started our honeymoon in this hotel for two nights. I would reccommend this hotel as a good base to KK. The staff were very attentive and friendly. The rooms as the other reviews suggested were big and clean. The location is ideal for you to explore the city everything you want is in walking distance and they will help to arrange visits to attractions or give suggestions of places to see. We had an early flight and they make us a simple but lovely takeaway breakfast of bread, jam and fruit to eat at the airport, which made the morning less of a rush. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanniReuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#8 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jesselton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jesselton Hotel

Property: The Jesselton Hotel
Address: 69 Gaya Street, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jesselton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Jesselton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesselton Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing