We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel in the Heart of KK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Jesselton Hotel
Ranked #12 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel in the Heart of KK”
Reviewed 19 October 2012 via mobile

This is a convenient boutique hotel. It is very clean, well equipt with free wifi in the room. The restaurant in the lobby area is exceptional. The chef has a fantastic menu that spans local cuisine and Italian influence. The beverage selection is both diverse and well priced. The staff are always helpful, this hotel comes highly recommended.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Nyema R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    274
    77
    14
    10
See reviews for
73
230
57
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We had this hotel booked for us on a package trip to North Borneo, after a not so good experience in Kuching, we have been very satisfied with htis hotel. Very convinient in the City with shopping malls, waterfront and the Night market very close. The rooms are spacious and equipped with everything. For those who need an intrenet connection, the WLAN is free. The hotel staff is friendly and very helpfull.
The atmosphere is very good. Looks a bit colonial. The bar is quiet and nice. All over this hotel has something. Also closed to the airport, about 20 minutes by taxi and the price with 30 Ringit ( baout 7 Euro or 6 Pounds ) is very low. The hotel could also organise pick up service or service to the airport which we had
Some might not been satisfied with the breakfast. It is served in the Cafe attached to the hotel and it is ala carte. Not a lot of choice, but we had a noodle soup, which was very good So for a start to a day.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laird43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We stayed there for a week, and honestly dont think it could get any better. Clean rooms, with new TV's, good AC, friendly staff, prime location, right on the Sunday street market, close to numerous local restaurants....all this at a very competitive price. Well done.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claude R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I was there for a beach holiday with my friend, and we were pleasantly surprised that a three-star hotel had such a big room (Deluxe Twin Room). We had all we needed, despite some hiccups on the wifi, which was due to the service provider it seemed.

We were very impressed when we found extra clothes hangers on the second night. Apparently the housekeeper noticed that we had lots of swimwear hanging all around, and the four default hangers were simply insufficient. That's really heartwarming, as we simply had too many clothes for drying! The beds we had were very comfortable, and we had two soft couches in our room too.

The Bella Restaurant at the hotel served very good pizza and pasta at half price before 6 or 7 pm (got to check again with the restaurant). The pasta was al dente to perfection, and I believe it tasted even better than some I have had in Italy. Our dive instructor swears by it, and we have also tried Little Italy around the corner, which was a far cry though cheaper. There is live music on certain nights, and Mr Aji the elderly bartender is always so friendly, you have to get a cocktail from him!

Situated on Gaya Street, its location makes sure that you will never go hungry or get bored! Sunday market is just at Jesselton's doorstep. The famous Bak Kuk Teh is opposite, and so is the cooling ZenQ dessert. Walk a little down, and you would see convenience stores, supermarkets, spas, mega malls, tourist centre, coffee shops with delicious local fare... What a treat. My friend and I decided that if we were to visit Kota Kinabalu again, we would stay at Jesselton again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

First night we were upgraded to The Suite which was lovely, very spacious. The next stay was a standard room which was nicely appointed, clean, wi-fi, staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was good and freshly made. Centrally situated so easy walking distance around town. We ate in the restaurant several times and meals were good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie99_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater Beach, FL
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Full disclosure - we were upgraded to the suite when we arrived, so I had to ask the staff to view a standard room to make this review. Overall, the hotel is nicely renovated, good staff service, well appointed rooms and a good restaurant off the lobby.. I found nothing to fault. It is also right downtown, which is a plus in my book. Good WiFi in room

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alstonville, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I booked this place over the www and I arrived early from a long flight, they check us in and gave us our room.
The room was pleasent, clean, functional and the Wi Fi worked even in our room, for me to Skype loved ones.
It is the location of this hotel to its surrounds in Kota Kinabalu which is its gem.
It is close to all and sundry that is in Kota Kinabalu, 5 minute walk to the shopping malls, 10 minute walk to the Jesselton Jetty for island skipping.
Then on Sundays, there is the market that springs up right infront of th front door, and spreads for 3 blocks.
Then there is the bar and food court, the old barman makes the best Singapore Slings outside Singapore...really...he is a legend.
The cuban cook, nice bloke and his cooking is great...plus he comes out to check and talk to the customers.
There have been other reports of rats in the airconditioning, I did'nt see or hear of them, so I can not comment...
There are banks all around the hotel, so getting money out of the wall is no problem.
The staff are helpfull and courtious.
If you want to try the local food, no problem, in every direction outside the front door, there is the local establishments.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pandkgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,444 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#13 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#9 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jesselton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jesselton Hotel

Property: The Jesselton Hotel
Address: 69 Gaya Street, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jesselton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Jesselton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesselton Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing