We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Jesselton Hotel
Ranked #12 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I finished my tour here and extended to see the Sunday markets. Walked out the door and there they were. Room was great with all the good things like fridge and soaps etc. Staff very helpful in booking taxi to Shangra La Resort to see orangutans. Felt safe and stored luggage and taxi to airport all went well.

Room Tip: Third floor was good and I was at the back but front would be similar.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muffetoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
There are newer reviews for The Jesselton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

259 - 265 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed here only very briefly before going on to Kinabalu Park but enjoyed a comfortable night's sleep in this pleasantly old-fashioned (and modestly priced) but plush hotel. We particularly enjoyed the built-in bidet feature in the toilet and the plaid sarongs hanging in the closet (along with the conventional terrycloth robes). Modern features included the flatscreen television (though we didn't use it) and the wifi (ditto). We had a very good nasi lemak in the Mountbatten Lounge the next morning for only 6 ringgit each while looking out on the Sunday Market outside on Gaya Street.

By the way, with reference to an earlier comment/complaint, hot water is what everyone in Malaysia (and many other parts of Asia) drinks all the time--the ethnic Chinese, in particular, think drinking cold water is a bizarre and very unhealthful Western aberration that they will try to talk you out of for your own good. So you might have preferred cold water, and a hotel catering to many Western guests might be expected to know that, but it's a bit much to act as though no sane person would offer hot water for drinking, tropics or no! (I have not seen hot water offered for rinsing cutlery or fingers except in a teapot sitting on a stand/receptacle with drain holes, and this usually at an open-air stall or coffee shop.)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macaunau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

we stayed at the jesselton for seven days. it was at the quieter end of town and very convenient for the tourist info and the harbour, for trips to the islands.the hotel itself was fine , the rooms were excellent and cleaned daily. the staff were friendly and attentive. we tried the restaurant , the bella, but were not impressed. they got the order totally wrong , no apologies, and then had the nerve to charge 10% customer service. we never tried there again but went to el centro or chilli vanilla. the only problem with the harbour area was the smell they should spend some money of the sewage system as the smell put us off eating in that area. also watch out for thieves who will try to snatch your bags unless you are carefulj

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CONWAY177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I refer to the review by Allan-Deborah of Brisbane whereby they were presented with glasses of hot water. In all parts of Malaysia, high end restaurants and other coffee shop do regularly put a glass of hot water for customers to rinse their cutlery. This glass of water is in no way meant for drinking.

If you ask for a glass of water, all the establishments I have been to would usually offer a glass of cold water or water at room temperature. At no time would anyone proffer hot water unless specifically asked for.

Therefore I would safely presume that the glasses of hot water offered was for rinsing the cutlery, a common practice in all parts of Malaysia.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We had our only 'bad' meal experience in the Bella Italian Restaurant in the Jesselton Hotel . We sat down and were immediately brought glasses of hot water (in the tropics!). It took 5 minutes of consultation with 3-4 staff to get normal cold water and then they didn't understand why. It was the only place in Malaysia where we had language difficulties. Maybe the staff were trained in Northern Siberia where hot water is the norm?. The food was passable and thats about as good as I can get.

Avoid!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan-Deborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I went to Kota Kinabalu last year on a diving trip and stayed at the Jesselton hotel during my stay. The hotel is nice and clean, friendly staff and very well situated. The staff all speaks perfect English and are very helpful. I can highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Kota Kinabalu.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

Located along the famous Jalan Gaya where many amenities and restaurants are available. There's afamous bak kut teh shop right opposite. Overall concept of the hotel is the vintage colonial style. Rooms are nice and comfortable. Wifi is available as well. Staffs were very helpful and friendly. Your main concern is get a car park during office hours if you rent or own a car. There's a weekend market along Jalan Gaya as well. All in all a pleasant experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donovan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
692 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,472 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#14 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jesselton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jesselton Hotel

Address: 69 Gaya Street, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £38 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jesselton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Jesselton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesselton Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing