We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Jesselton Hotel
Ranked #11 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Once again stayed at the Jesselton. Staff very friendly and helpful which more than makes up for the slightly dilapidated bathrooms. Convenient for town. The restaurant next door is ok for breakfast. but there are plenty of other local restaurants to try too. Sri Malaka and the Thai place on the waterfront to name but 2. Jesselton happy to store bags too, whilst you are on an outing- such as climbing Mt Kinabalu.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side street and the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, General Manager at The Jesselton Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Graeme,

It is our pleasure to have you returned with us. On behalf of our team, we would like to thank you for your great support.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Warmest Regards,
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    273
    77
    14
    10
See reviews for
73
229
57
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

A hotel that offers a comfortable stay. We had a room with twin beds, very clean bathroom and a view of Gaya Street.

We had to wait almost and hour for other guests to check out of their rooms so that we could have some rest that we desperately needed. (Checkout time was 12pm, we only had out room at 1:30pm)

Staff was efficient and professional, but I wouldnt say they tried to be friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tabbybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, General Manager at The Jesselton Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Tabbybear,

Thank you for your feedback and the word used "Comfortable" to voice your contented stay at Jesselton Hotel gives us extra mileage to further enhance both our service and hotel features.

As our standard check in time is at 2.00pm, we would normally suggest our guests for a lunch break at Bella, our All Day Dining or a retreat at the nearest walking distance spa and massage centre (on guest personal account).

Look forward to have you and your partner return during your next trip to KK and feel free to let us know if we can be of service to you.


Warmest Regards,
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The Hotel Jesselton is located on a 2-way shady street within walking distance to inexpensive restaurants, a bakery a block away, supermarket and a shopping mall a short 3 block walk. Also, the Kota Kinabalu tourist office is within 2 blocks to pick up a free city map, brochures and helpful information. Check-in and check out was good. The reception staff are polite, very friendly and they speak good English. The Doormen and bell-hop are very courteous and helpful which is a big plus. Free in-room Wifi is another plus and clean rooms too. However, pillows are too hard. The hotel management should stock softer pillows to offer tired traveling tourists in need of a soft pillow. No small wash cloth provided to use for a shower. No small door knob sign indicating - please do not disturb or please clean room. 2 bottles of complimentary water are provided - a big plus. Wake up call was on time. Our room 204 faced the street and it can be noisy with motorbikes passing on the road. There's a 6% government tax on top of a 10% hotel service charge that hopefully the hotel management gives their room cleaning staff, reception, bell hop and doormen personnel a share of it. There's no free breakfast not even a welcome juice drink or hot fresh morning coffee and that's unusual for hotel's now-a-days. In the USA we call charging extra for breakfast = "nickel and diming" - another way to make more money from hotel quests.

Room Tip: If you are noise sensitive ask for a room that doesn't face the street and entrance to hotel. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veegee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, General Manager at The Jesselton Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Veegee,

Thanks for the informative comments and we are delighted to have a seasonal traveller like you that could share on their hotel-stay experience. In one of your suggestions for Pillow Choice indeed was a great idea and we shall study the possibility for array diverse of amenities to be imposed together in our upcoming refurbishment plan in this 3-star hotel set-up. It is definitely a challenge for us to achieve for 100% sound-proof room considering that we are in a low-rise set-up and located on the busiest street in KK, however rest assure that your comment will be taken note for better room assignment during your next visit at Jesselton Hotel. By then, hope we have our newly refurbished room ready for you to experience.


Warmest Regards,
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I stayed 5 days 4 night. Location was good. there were many restaurant and shop nearby. But all reception stiff were unkind. No smile no hospitality. I felt very uncomfortable when talked to them.
I don't want to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asdfghjkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, General Manager at The Jesselton Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for sharing your stay with us at Jesselton Hotel. It is great to know that our strategic location gives you the best choice in your hotel selection. I would like to apologise on our shortfall and this concerned me as we often conduct hospitality trainings from time to time in order to maintain our warm and courteous service standard. Your comment will definitely help us to improve further.

Look forward to have you back in the immediate future for us to serve you better in our warm and courteous service experience.


Warmest Regards,
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed at the Jesselton in August 2012 for 3 nights so we could explore Kota Kinabalu.
If you are looking for location over luxury then this is tha place for you.
The location is absolutely perfect - on the corner of Gaya Street - KK's "high street" where the market sets up every Sunday.
The public areas on the ground florr, reception & lounge/restaurant area are very well presented and clean however the rooms could most certainly do with a bit of a revamp!
We opted for a Superior Double (the lead in room type) which cost MYR500.00 approx £110.00 total for the 3 nights - Room Only.
The room was spacious and comfortable, but just looked a little run down and although the bed was huge and comfortable, the other furniture was a bit worn and tattered.
Maybe the Deluxe rooms are better on the eye but for the price we paid this was ideal and great value for a short stay.
We did not eat in the hotel as ventured out and about the whole time we were there - lots of choice!
The reception staff were extremely helpful & friendly and booked excursions for us through "THY Borneo Tours" very good value and well worth the money.
We were even able to store our luggage there for 3 days after we checked out to go on a Jungle Tour - this was completely free of charge.... EXCELLENT!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoguff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, General Manager at The Jesselton Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Zoguff,

At Jesselton Hotel, all guests are prioritised with our best hospitality. Your feedback plays a vital role in allowing us to meet and exceed the expectations of our guests and your suggestions have definitely help to contribute on our next refurbishment plan.

We look forward to welcome you back to Kota Kinabalu and hopefully with a new refurbished room to accommodate you.


Warmest Regards,
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

This was absolutely the most disgusting hotel I have ever stayed at. I felt that the employees found it funny to give us a room that looked like something from Psycho's Norman Bates home. Right when we walked in the room, there was a sense of paranormal activity. There was a layer of dust over everything, which showed that this room was not used by any guestfor over 6 months.

In less than a minute, we immediately asked for another room. THey gave us a smaller room. Someone's red jacket was in the closet, which means that none of their employees bothered to check the room properly after a guest stayed there.

The water that came out of the sink faucet was brown for the first 5 minutes. It looked like sewage water. The water was dark brown, not light brown. A thick layer of dust covered the night tables, again, another sign that nobody used this room for months.

We checked out and found a better hotel down the street which was even LESS EXPENSIVE than Jesselton. This better hotel was newly renovated and fantastic furniture and ambience.

Room Tip: THe best room is in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slimjims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, General Manager at The Jesselton Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear SlimJims,

Thank you for taking time sharing your feedback with us. We would like to apologise on your unfortunate experience. While the incident that you experienced is unusual and not the standard of our hotel, there is no excuse for the hotel to have allowed this to occur in the first place. I would appreciate if you could write us directly at reservation@jesseltonhotel.com and to provide us with your full name and check in date in order for us to investigate further as this is not excusable in our all-year-long full house situation.

Rest assure you will be "woved" with our impeccable service standard in your next stay which we are here to request for this opportunity.


Warmest Regards,
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We were thoroughly looking forward to staying here, having sense this would be a complete step back in time. To a certain extent it was, but we both felt that they could do a little more.

Although the bar area had some life during the day, it was appeared empty at night. It would have helped having someone play the grand piano which sits in the bar area, perhaps playing some old tunes. Though, I would have liked to have spoken to the barman who has been serving there for decades, I'm sure he has some old colonial stories.

There was supposed to be a London black taxi outside, but we never saw it throughout our duration.

Just a few little extra touches could make this a real gem.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumble_Swerve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, General Manager at The Jesselton Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Mumble_Swerve,

Thank you for loving the colonial touch at The Jesselton Hotel. I shall convey your suggestion to the management of the restaurant and I trust that they will be pleased to bring some live music back to the restaurant & lounge again!

You are absolutely right that we do have a London Cab in red but we normally park the London Cab at the carpark unless there is any special request from guests for transfer. Please do not hesitate to check with our reservation if the cab is available for airport transfer should you be visiting KK again.


Warmest Regards,
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,443 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#13 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#9 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jesselton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jesselton Hotel

Property: The Jesselton Hotel
Address: 69 Gaya Street, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jesselton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Jesselton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesselton Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing