We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great room and staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Jesselton Hotel
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2013

the jesselton hoetl is located in the central of the city so was very easy for us to get to places. the room was big and bright. my wife loved the hotel decoration style! the staff always greeted us with a big smile!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cseila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

258 - 264 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013

It took me just 20 mins by taxi from the KK International Airport to reach the Jesselton Hotel located ideally in the heart of the city surrounded by numerous shopping centres , banks and restaurants almost everything a traveller needed. The hotel was established in 1954 but it retained it's evergreen colonial elegance and originality through it's consistent restoration and renovation programmes over the years .
The staff were so friendly, hospitable and ever helpful with their excellent service. Foods served in the only Bella Restaurant met my expectation and I would recommend you to eat there. They served Western and local food. Just by it's side was the popular Old Town Cafe to provide you good coffee ,tea , bread and a variety of common local foods in case you got hungry any time of the day, a bonus for you.
The room and the rest room were clean, so were the bed, the sheets and the pillows with complete amenities inclusive of free WIFI . I was quite impressed, there were two safety bars for holding at the bath tub area which you seldom find in other hotels.There was a book containing the history of the hotel, places of interest to visit and the various contact numbers of the hotel. Perhaps another page on the Do's and the Dont's for a traveller in KK would be helpful too.
The people in Kota Kinabalu were mostly friendly people with smiles all around and quite conversant with the English language. The airport transfer would cost you Ringgit Malaysia 30 and generally, the ample number of taxi drivers are honest and helpful to tourists. I would recommend this hotel to you but you would be considered lucky if you could book a room on your first call as it was booked fully most of the time.
Cheers and hope you enjoy your stay here !

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Benrey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Jesselton Hotel , A very nice comfortable "old style" hotel, Jesselton the name, was the name of the City back in the Colonial days before being called Kota Kinabalu, and I reckon the later sounds much better ! The rooms have been refurbished and a of a nice size, location couldn't get any better, smack bang in the middle of town and waling distance to everything. The meals are very nice, large portions and good quality so excellent value. Very very friendly staff, prices around current hotel eating market rates. Most people would struggle to finish a 3 course setting.

For a short stay of say 3 - 4 nights, would be ideal at this cozy Hotel !!

Room Tip: Great place for golfers to stay !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuncanPGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Like to stay at Jesselton Hotel at the old street of KK downtown, the point is great convenient to reach every where by foot. The hotel is value for money for any kind of business travelers, solo travelers and families. Though it is a bit old but it has its character and taste, worth staying and pop in any cafe or restaurant on the street just outside your hotel entrance.

Room Tip: Since it is by the street, any room would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahsangje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

The Jesselton may be a faded beauty, the lift old and the housekeeping shabby, but somehow this place rises above that to be somewhere that is charming.

Being able to step outside on a Saturday and be immediately immersed in the markets is another bonus.

All in all, a nice place to stay at a great price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thatkiwiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed at the Jesselton at either end of our trip to Borneo. Staff at this small hotel were incredibly helpful.

Nice location on Gaya Street, close to Jesselton Point, lots of restaurants nearby, walking distance to the night market and so on.

Rooms a good size, but quite dated and in need of a refurb - fixtures and fittings looking a little worn. But clean and comfortable.

Two negatives:

1) on more than one occasion the shower spewed out brown water on first being turned on. This resolved itself when left to run for a few minutes.

2) Only once ate in the restaurant. Ordered the pancakes with fruit, illustrated on the menu as a big pile of fluffy pancakes served with fresh strawberries on top. When it arrived, it was two underwhelming pancakes with some synthetic, runny strawberry jam on top. Very disappointing, especially as it wasn't particularly cheap. We didn't eat there again.

Aside from that, though, a well-located, clean and safe hotel - good value. Would be a much better hotel if it had a refurb.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuntieMabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We spent four nights at The Jesselton. We really enjoyed our stay. All the staff very friendly. The room suited our needs. We would class the hotel as "shabby chic", the facilities could do with a little updating, but it was a very pleasant stay. Ideally located to Jesselton Point.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank GGAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, General Manager at The Jesselton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear GG,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to share with you our refurbishment plan is in the pipeline.

Our dedicated service team is looking forward to be of service to you again!


Warmest Regards,
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
747 reviews
0.2 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#9 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
854 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#14 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,533 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jesselton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jesselton Hotel

Address: 69 Gaya Street, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £41 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jesselton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Jesselton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesselton Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing