We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“central position to restaurants and bars and sunday market”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Jesselton Hotel
Ranked #9 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“central position to restaurants and bars and sunday market”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Often travel between Singapore and KK and have stayed at numerous hotels from on the waterfront to asia city so was totally delighted to experience the old world charm of the Jessleton hotel,from the fantastic bed linen well appointed room with push button controls for the lights and large LCD tv good coffee and tea making facilities and newspaper every morning delivered to your room.A stroll along Gaya street brings you to many coffee shops serving local Malay and chinese dishes all at reasonable prices,especially Kopi Kedi Kinabalu where Mr Kit Lee serves a wonderful Penang laska.Walking from the Jessleton hotel towards the end of Gaya Street you can try Alex's coffee shop and late night bar for fresh seafood and some of the cheapest beer in Kota Kinabalu or head back towards the Jessleton hotel and drop into the superb BBcafe and bar to listen to local singer Don Gray entertain the dinner patrons with songs from Cassablanca to Frank Sinatra.On Sunday mornings rise to the sounds of music and people as the famous Gaya Sunday market is happening right outside the hotel many stalls selling anything from antiques to tourist souveniers and many stalls selling local fruits and vegetables,sights,sounds,color and atmosphere Gaya Sunday market has it.

Room Tip: any room is suitable as the hotel has street views from all rooms and noise from outside is almost n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jamie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    265
    74
    13
    10
See reviews for
68
222
55
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Arrived after a very long flight from UK via KL. room was a double despite a twin bring requested but they agreed to change this for us. We asked whether they could prepare us a snack but they couldn't so we had to venture out late at night.

Good choice of breakfast options and cocktails were good in hotel too. Good location right in the heart of KK.

On our last day we had a very early start to sandakan so a breakfast was packaged up for us. It was just bread butter and jam.

Overall no issues with this hotel but it didn't wow me either.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LexieBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
161 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We only stayed here one night as we were passing through to go to a resort on an island close. The room was very small, but clean. This is the oldest hotel in the city, but it has a charming feel to it. Service was fairly good, but took a while to order us a cab. Overall, good for the price for a short stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txcornbread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

The Jesselton is a charming, reasonably priced boutique hotel in a good location close to restaurants, shops and markets - its only a short walk to the waterfront which is quite delightful, especially in the evenings.

The staff on the front desk were very efficient and helpful and spoke good English. Our check in and check out was quick and the lobby area, although small, was clean and well presented - they had used plenty of mirrors on the walls to give the impression of more space.

The room was clean and comfortable, it wasn’t huge but there was enough room to move about easily. There were the usual room amenities and the free in-room wifi worked well. The view from the window was of a large multi storey car park that was across the road; we weren’t troubled by any noise though, and had 2 good nights sleep.

The only downside was that the standard breakfast that was advertised could have been better - but there was an option of paying extra for other choices. We decided to go with the standard and then eat elsewhere.

Our stay was only for 2 nights but we enjoyed it and would stay again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ajpatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zambales
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

stayed in this hotel for 6 days for our dive adventure.
good location - walking distance to everywhere (malls, bars and waterfront restaurants)
room - small rooms but clean
staff - helpful - they arranged our transport to lok kawi wildlife which is a great experience

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airpigdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

This is a very nice small boutique/heritage hotel located on Gaya Street, the original central avenue of Kota Kinabalu. I have fond memories of this area going back 40 years. Though much has changed in this city and in the state of Sabah, the Jesselton Hotel has been able to maintain its ambience, location, and standards. Credit goes to the owners for doing their best to carry on a 60 year old tradition.

Rooms are reasonably priced, clean, and comfortable. Staff are friendly and helpful. One night, we ordered dinner via room service from the restaurant - food was good and delivery was prompt.

What I like most is the location of this hotel. Gaya Street has its Sunday market so hotel guests can just step out into the action. There are many excellent restaurants, cafes, and shops within a short walking distance. Wisma Merdeka and Suria shopping centers/malls are also a short walk away. The old General Post Office/now Sabah Tourism Board is a block away. The Kota Kinabalu waterfront/Jesselton Point, another historical site, is close by. The area, although sometimes full of traffic and hustle and bustle, is nonetheless safe and reasonably clean. If you desire to be in the city center for a few days before venturing out into the wilds of Malaysian Borneo, the Hotel Jesselton will be a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Syed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Rather than stay in another newish plastic hotel we chose the Jesselton Hotel in the centre of KK. What a delightful haven in the middle of traffic chaos. The Jesselton is a very small boutique hotel built in the 50s on a colonial style, but the room was large (1st floor corner) with a lovely shower room. When we arrived we found the air-conditioning was leaking but within minutes this was fixed and the large and very wet armchair was replaced with many apologies from everyone from the top down. The food was in the attached Italian restaurant and was very good although the breakfast was menu based as the hotel is too small for a buffet. That suited us. KK its self is not the greatest city in the world with all its history being destroyed in WWll and much redevelopment needed, particularly along the waterfront. However, it was a good jumping off place for Mount Kinabalu and the rest of Sabah.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony_g_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jesselton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jesselton Hotel

Property: The Jesselton Hotel
Address: 69 Gaya Street, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jesselton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Jesselton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesselton Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing