We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A respite from the jungle.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Jesselton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Melaka, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A respite from the jungle.”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

If I was arriving from a good Western city hotel, might have been disappointed in the standard and facilities. However, coming from 6 weeks travelling in Sabah and Sarawak, it was perfect! A comfortable bed! A/C! A bathroom! We stayed 7 nights. Loved the location, and loved KK. The service varied, depending who was on duty. Breakfast was fine on the local dishes, but a bit bleak on healthy options. We couldn't decide if front desk staff were unfriendly, or just shy! Still, the best option for " downtown" KK.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melinda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    272
    76
    14
    10
See reviews for
70
229
57
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We arrived at the hotel quite late at night after travelling for almost 24 hours. When we went to our room we found that we had been given a double room rather than a twin room (probably our travel agents fault rather than the hotels). The reception staff did kindly change our room although it took about 15 minutes and various phone calls.

We then asked the hotel if we were able to get some food but they advised they couldn't help as the kitchen was closed and also didn't really make any helpful suggestions as where we could eat. This meant we had to go out but the good location of the hotel meant we found a late night bar still serving food.

The room itself was spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was served in the cafe restaurant attached to the hotel and was adequate. The bar staff were friendly and had a nice selection of drinks.

The hotel is in walking distance of the waterfront and restaurants so very conveniently located.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smidge75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Often travel between Singapore and KK and have stayed at numerous hotels from on the waterfront to asia city so was totally delighted to experience the old world charm of the Jessleton hotel,from the fantastic bed linen well appointed room with push button controls for the lights and large LCD tv good coffee and tea making facilities and newspaper every morning delivered to your room.A stroll along Gaya street brings you to many coffee shops serving local Malay and chinese dishes all at reasonable prices,especially Kopi Kedi Kinabalu where Mr Kit Lee serves a wonderful Penang laska.Walking from the Jessleton hotel towards the end of Gaya Street you can try Alex's coffee shop and late night bar for fresh seafood and some of the cheapest beer in Kota Kinabalu or head back towards the Jessleton hotel and drop into the superb BBcafe and bar to listen to local singer Don Gray entertain the dinner patrons with songs from Cassablanca to Frank Sinatra.On Sunday mornings rise to the sounds of music and people as the famous Gaya Sunday market is happening right outside the hotel many stalls selling anything from antiques to tourist souveniers and many stalls selling local fruits and vegetables,sights,sounds,color and atmosphere Gaya Sunday market has it.

Room Tip: any room is suitable as the hotel has street views from all rooms and noise from outside is almost n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jamie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Arrived after a very long flight from UK via KL. room was a double despite a twin bring requested but they agreed to change this for us. We asked whether they could prepare us a snack but they couldn't so we had to venture out late at night.

Good choice of breakfast options and cocktails were good in hotel too. Good location right in the heart of KK.

On our last day we had a very early start to sandakan so a breakfast was packaged up for us. It was just bread butter and jam.

Overall no issues with this hotel but it didn't wow me either.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LexieBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We only stayed here one night as we were passing through to go to a resort on an island close. The room was very small, but clean. This is the oldest hotel in the city, but it has a charming feel to it. Service was fairly good, but took a while to order us a cab. Overall, good for the price for a short stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txcornbread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The Jesselton is a charming, reasonably priced boutique hotel in a good location close to restaurants, shops and markets - its only a short walk to the waterfront which is quite delightful, especially in the evenings.

The staff on the front desk were very efficient and helpful and spoke good English. Our check in and check out was quick and the lobby area, although small, was clean and well presented - they had used plenty of mirrors on the walls to give the impression of more space.

The room was clean and comfortable, it wasn’t huge but there was enough room to move about easily. There were the usual room amenities and the free in-room wifi worked well. The view from the window was of a large multi storey car park that was across the road; we weren’t troubled by any noise though, and had 2 good nights sleep.

The only downside was that the standard breakfast that was advertised could have been better - but there was an option of paying extra for other choices. We decided to go with the standard and then eat elsewhere.

Our stay was only for 2 nights but we enjoyed it and would stay again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ajpatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zambales
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

stayed in this hotel for 6 days for our dive adventure.
good location - walking distance to everywhere (malls, bars and waterfront restaurants)
room - small rooms but clean
staff - helpful - they arranged our transport to lok kawi wildlife which is a great experience

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airpigdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,417 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,075 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jesselton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jesselton Hotel

Property: The Jesselton Hotel
Address: 69 Gaya Street, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jesselton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Jesselton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesselton Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing