We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Jesselton Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$345
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$304
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Klagan Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$53
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horizon Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sixty3(Kota Kinabalu)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
US$55
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$49
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Grandis(Kota Kinabalu)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveller rating
166
289
83
14
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
289
83
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoldest hotelgaya streetold colonial styleboutique hotelsunday markettourist officewalking distancesmall hotelexcellent locationcomfortable roomskinabalu national parkthe ground floorshort staylocal foodair conditioningstrategic locationstayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
258 - 263 of 563 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2013

If I was arriving from a good Western city hotel, might have been disappointed in the standard and facilities. However, coming from 6 weeks travelling in Sabah and Sarawak, it was perfect! A comfortable bed! A/C! A bathroom! We stayed 7 nights. Loved the location, and loved KK. The service varied, depending who was on duty. Breakfast was fine on the local dishes, but a bit bleak on healthy options. We couldn't decide if front desk staff were unfriendly, or just shy! Still, the best option for " downtown" KK.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the larger rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melinda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We arrived at the hotel quite late at night after travelling for almost 24 hours. When we went to our room we found that we had been given a double room rather than a twin room (probably our travel agents fault rather than the hotels). The reception staff did kindly change our room although it took about 15 minutes and various phone calls.

We then asked the hotel if we were able to get some food but they advised they couldn't help as the kitchen was closed and also didn't really make any helpful suggestions as where we could eat. This meant we had to go out but the good location of the hotel meant we found a late night bar still serving food.

The room itself was spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was served in the cafe restaurant attached to the hotel and was adequate. The bar staff were friendly and had a nice selection of drinks.

The hotel is in walking distance of the waterfront and restaurants so very conveniently located.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smidge75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Often travel between Singapore and KK and have stayed at numerous hotels from on the waterfront to asia city so was totally delighted to experience the old world charm of the Jessleton hotel,from the fantastic bed linen well appointed room with push button controls for the lights and large LCD tv good coffee and tea making facilities and newspaper every morning delivered to your room.A stroll along Gaya street brings you to many coffee shops serving local Malay and chinese dishes all at reasonable prices,especially Kopi Kedi Kinabalu where Mr Kit Lee serves a wonderful Penang laska.Walking from the Jessleton hotel towards the end of Gaya Street you can try Alex's coffee shop and late night bar for fresh seafood and some of the cheapest beer in Kota Kinabalu or head back towards the Jessleton hotel and drop into the superb BBcafe and bar to listen to local singer Don Gray entertain the dinner patrons with songs from Cassablanca to Frank Sinatra.On Sunday mornings rise to the sounds of music and people as the famous Gaya Sunday market is happening right outside the hotel many stalls selling anything from antiques to tourist souveniers and many stalls selling local fruits and vegetables,sights,sounds,color and atmosphere Gaya Sunday market has it.

Room Tip: any room is suitable as the hotel has street views from all rooms and noise from outside is almost nil.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jamie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Arrived after a very long flight from UK via KL. room was a double despite a twin bring requested but they agreed to change this for us. We asked whether they could prepare us a snack but they couldn't so we had to venture out late at night.

Good choice of breakfast options and cocktails were good in hotel too. Good location right in the heart of KK.

On our last day we had a very early start to sandakan so a breakfast was packaged up for us. It was just bread butter and jam.

Overall no issues with this hotel but it didn't wow me either.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LexieBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We only stayed here one night as we were passing through to go to a resort on an island close. The room was very small, but clean. This is the oldest hotel in the city, but it has a charming feel to it. Service was fairly good, but took a while to order us a cab. Overall, good for the price for a short stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank txcornbread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews