We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“classic luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Jesselton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Luarca, Spain
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“classic luxury”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

It´s a 15 minute taxi drive from the airport. In 1954, it was the first hotel to open in Kota Kinabalu. It´s the only boutique hotel in the town & has a colonial style. With just 32 rooms it has a very personal feel, having very friendly staff. It has a very central position. The Sunday morning Gaya Street market goes along right in front of the hotel. We had the junior suite which was very comfortable with all the facilities we could want for a luxury stay. We had our evening meal at the Italian restaurant on its ground floor which was very enjoyable. Prices were very competitive.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosalind N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    270
    75
    13
    10
See reviews for
70
227
56
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karratha, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I didn't stay here, just had a meal. This is the oldest pub in KK, built by the English in the Fiftys and is in good condition from what I could see, lots of polished wood, etc. The staff are friendly and attentive, and the meal was excellent. I had steak and beers, dessert and coffee for under 50 Aussie dollars, so not bad value for a splurge after a couple of nights in the jungle. They serve all kinds of cocktails and have a varied menu, and are right in the middle of the city. One of the bartenders has been there over 30 years and is a bit of an icon, apparently he is the Master cocktail maker. It was fairly busy the night i was there, but the meal came very quickly and the drinks service was also good. If I come back again I would like to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VintageWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Having a business trip and stay in this hotel for 3 nights. The front desk would even remember my name and greeting with me when I come back from work.
The hotel and room was a bit old style but with good size and clean. But the bed was a bit soft.
The hotel was located at a happening location. There was variety and famous restaurants nearby no matter for breakfast, tea break, lunch, dinner or supper. There was pubs nearby too.
The breakfast provided by this hotel was quite nice. But actually there was some other restaurants nearby this hotel could provided better local food.
Overall the service was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at end of the pathway to prevent wake up by people movement
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnybatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

We really liked this very charming hotel, we stayed for 5 nights in a really nice room, very happy with everything, reception staff were nice especially Nora who was so helpful and Thankyou for finding us a room on our return from Sandakan. Good location for Jesselton Point and getting boats to the islands. We only took breakfast twice but it was very good, the bar was nice for a relaxing drink in the evening.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

If I was arriving from a good Western city hotel, might have been disappointed in the standard and facilities. However, coming from 6 weeks travelling in Sabah and Sarawak, it was perfect! A comfortable bed! A/C! A bathroom! We stayed 7 nights. Loved the location, and loved KK. The service varied, depending who was on duty. Breakfast was fine on the local dishes, but a bit bleak on healthy options. We couldn't decide if front desk staff were unfriendly, or just shy! Still, the best option for " downtown" KK.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melinda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We arrived at the hotel quite late at night after travelling for almost 24 hours. When we went to our room we found that we had been given a double room rather than a twin room (probably our travel agents fault rather than the hotels). The reception staff did kindly change our room although it took about 15 minutes and various phone calls.

We then asked the hotel if we were able to get some food but they advised they couldn't help as the kitchen was closed and also didn't really make any helpful suggestions as where we could eat. This meant we had to go out but the good location of the hotel meant we found a late night bar still serving food.

The room itself was spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was served in the cafe restaurant attached to the hotel and was adequate. The bar staff were friendly and had a nice selection of drinks.

The hotel is in walking distance of the waterfront and restaurants so very conveniently located.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smidge75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Often travel between Singapore and KK and have stayed at numerous hotels from on the waterfront to asia city so was totally delighted to experience the old world charm of the Jessleton hotel,from the fantastic bed linen well appointed room with push button controls for the lights and large LCD tv good coffee and tea making facilities and newspaper every morning delivered to your room.A stroll along Gaya street brings you to many coffee shops serving local Malay and chinese dishes all at reasonable prices,especially Kopi Kedi Kinabalu where Mr Kit Lee serves a wonderful Penang laska.Walking from the Jessleton hotel towards the end of Gaya Street you can try Alex's coffee shop and late night bar for fresh seafood and some of the cheapest beer in Kota Kinabalu or head back towards the Jessleton hotel and drop into the superb BBcafe and bar to listen to local singer Don Gray entertain the dinner patrons with songs from Cassablanca to Frank Sinatra.On Sunday mornings rise to the sounds of music and people as the famous Gaya Sunday market is happening right outside the hotel many stalls selling anything from antiques to tourist souveniers and many stalls selling local fruits and vegetables,sights,sounds,color and atmosphere Gaya Sunday market has it.

Room Tip: any room is suitable as the hotel has street views from all rooms and noise from outside is almost n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jamie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,036 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
435 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jesselton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jesselton Hotel

Property: The Jesselton Hotel
Address: 69 Gaya Street, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jesselton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Jesselton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesselton Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing