We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best location exploring KK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Jesselton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Porto, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“best location exploring KK”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Last year we had 2 stays at the Jesselton. We chose it because it is small & looked to be in the best location for exploring KK. It was so good that we returned after our tour of Sandankan.
The staff were friendly.
The room ( deluxe) was large with a big window making it bright & pleasant. The beds were comfortable, A/C good & there was no shortage of hot water. The only criticism we could make, & it is not a complaint, was a bit of maintenance necessary & the carpets need cleaning.
So it is not 5 star but has everything we needed & would not hesitate to go back. It is in the best location because walking too far in the humidity is not very enjoyable, & there are many restaurants & shopping centres close by.

Room Tip: room on the left side have more silence
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank messup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    271
    76
    13
    10
See reviews for
70
228
57
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
420 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We recently had 2 stays of 4 nights each at the Jesselton.
We chose it because it is small & looked to be in the best location for exploring KK.
It was so good that we returned after our tour of Sabah.
The staff were friendly & helpful. The room ( deluxe) was large with a big window making it bright & pleasant. The beds were comfortable, A/C good & there was no shortage of hot water.
The only criticism we could make, & it is not a complaint, was a bit of maintenance is nescessary & the carpets need cleaning.
So it is not 5 star but has everything we needed & would not hesitate to go back.
It is in the best location because walking too far in the humidity is not very enjoyable, & there are many restaurants & shopping centres close by.
Kudos restaurant, at the front of the hotel is excellent but it is a shame that you cannot book meals back to the hotel & pay 1 bill when we sometimes ate there 3 times a day.
We need to give a big thank you to our guide ( Mary Ann C D Chew ) who showed us parts of Kota Kinabalu, its surrounds & Sabah in general on a 6 day tour that we could never have discovered for ourselves. She made our trip.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking Gaya St which had an interesting outlook & very little noise from eith...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaeng Khoi, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

A fine restored Art Deco style hotel in a quite but convenient area of KK. The room was a touch on the small side by modern hotel standards but this is not a modern hotel, it is as close as KK has to a Colonial Hotel and I loved it.
It exudes style and the room was quite clean, tastefully decorated and more than adequate. The Reception, Bar and Coffee Shop were all similar in style and well staffed with great service!

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Raaraab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Jesselton is not as swanky as the le Meridian or Hyatt located on the outskirts of town, but why would you want to stay in your hotel room all day? Kota Kinabalu is a great little town to walk around with nice eateries and really laid back people and The Jesselton is a wonderful base to use in your exploratio0n. It is located right in the middle of the city within easy walking distance of the sea and many many restaurants. I found the staff to be very friendly. The rooms, while slightly dated, are certainly clean and large. Slow Wi-Fi is kind of a downer, but again...you should be outside exploring, not checking your email.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

excellent staff performance. centrally located at gaya street. you can go to most places in walking distance and access to great food across the street.
the value is good and we enjoyed our stay there

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Air conditioning, crisp cotton sheets on comfortable beds and friendly staff. The restaurant is actually run by different people but the food is delicious and the staff courteous and attentive. We loved it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sburchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel has a great location - easy to walk to anywhere that you may want to go around the town. We stayed in the front of the building so had a very large window with a nice view of the street. The hotel was surprisingly quiet - no traffic/street noise at all. Aircon worked very well, bed was comfortable and it was clean. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemima P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
663 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
445 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jesselton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jesselton Hotel

Property: The Jesselton Hotel
Address: 69 Gaya Street, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jesselton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Jesselton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesselton Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing