We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Jesselton Hotel
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Jessleton Hotel is one of the best places to stay in Kota Kinabulu. The beds are comfy, the air conditioning works well, the staff are friendly and it is superbly located within walking distance to everything.This is still a hotel where you recieve personal attention.

Room Tip: We have stayed in several rooms (at least 4) on various trips and they were all fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnCheffy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

We booked this hotel for 3 nights at home. A week before staying here, we stayed at the Best Western hotel in KK incl. breakfast and the Best western hotel was more modern and cheaper than the Jesselton hotel.
Although overpriced, the service ad the room was good. A shame the breakfast was not included. The location of the hotel is very good. It is nearby the Suria Sabah mall and Jesselton harbour.
In the morning you receive an English paper. The clean room has a tv, AC and tea and coffee facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mel3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel appears older than the name Kota Kinabalu. All of the decorations are old and musty. Several electrical outlets did not work. The bed and pillows were not comfortable. Definitely not worth it for the money.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pinqhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

As an expat in Brunei, I booked two rooms for my visiting friend and I. The Jesselton is central to everything.. a short walk to the harbour, markets on a Sunday at your dorr- Which is great to escape the heat between shopping :-) The desk staff are wonderful. Phone calls for taxis and to reserve a place at the Jazz festival were all free of charge. As the hotel is "boutique 'the front desk recognize all guests . My friend, due to an ankle operation found the bathtub [shower head over the bath] slightly slippery, but just placed the bath mat on the tub floor .All amenities are replenished daily. The restaurant has delicious coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice and the PORRIDGE with cranberries and apricots is a must have for breakfast . Nothing is a problem for the staff. Although in the centre of town there was no traffic noise. Some people may criticize lack of pool or gym, but on our four night stay we only returned to refresh or relax before the next adventure. A supermarket down the road for fresh food, also sells extensive wines and beers.. Overall I will be recommending this to people........ It is not a resort, but when a resort is over a 30 minute drive and 45 RM taxi fare to town... The Jesselton is the place to experience the local restaurants and see the locals in action !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doctorsassistant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Last year we had 2 stays at the Jesselton. We chose it because it is small & looked to be in the best location for exploring KK. It was so good that we returned after our tour of Sandankan.
The staff were friendly.
The room ( deluxe) was large with a big window making it bright & pleasant. The beds were comfortable, A/C good & there was no shortage of hot water. The only criticism we could make, & it is not a complaint, was a bit of maintenance necessary & the carpets need cleaning.
So it is not 5 star but has everything we needed & would not hesitate to go back. It is in the best location because walking too far in the humidity is not very enjoyable, & there are many restaurants & shopping centres close by.

Room Tip: room on the left side have more silence
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank messup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We recently had 2 stays of 4 nights each at the Jesselton.
We chose it because it is small & looked to be in the best location for exploring KK.
It was so good that we returned after our tour of Sabah.
The staff were friendly & helpful. The room ( deluxe) was large with a big window making it bright & pleasant. The beds were comfortable, A/C good & there was no shortage of hot water.
The only criticism we could make, & it is not a complaint, was a bit of maintenance is nescessary & the carpets need cleaning.
So it is not 5 star but has everything we needed & would not hesitate to go back.
It is in the best location because walking too far in the humidity is not very enjoyable, & there are many restaurants & shopping centres close by.
Kudos restaurant, at the front of the hotel is excellent but it is a shame that you cannot book meals back to the hotel & pay 1 bill when we sometimes ate there 3 times a day.
We need to give a big thank you to our guide ( Mary Ann C D Chew ) who showed us parts of Kota Kinabalu, its surrounds & Sabah in general on a 6 day tour that we could never have discovered for ourselves. She made our trip.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking Gaya St which had an interesting outlook & very little noise from eith...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

A fine restored Art Deco style hotel in a quite but convenient area of KK. The room was a touch on the small side by modern hotel standards but this is not a modern hotel, it is as close as KK has to a Colonial Hotel and I loved it.
It exudes style and the room was quite clean, tastefully decorated and more than adequate. The Reception, Bar and Coffee Shop were all similar in style and well staffed with great service!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Raaraab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
757 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#14 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jesselton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jesselton Hotel

Address: 69 Gaya Street, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £41 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jesselton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Jesselton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesselton Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing