We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old but cheap and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Jesselton Hotel
Ranked #11 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Mandurah,WA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“old but cheap and comfortable”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed a total of 4 nights in three tranches while flitting to other parts of Borneo. We had two rooms (one for our sons). The hotel are gradually refurbishing the rooms and our sons had a new room each time we checked in while my wife and I had the old ones (though they did upgrade us to The Suite for one night).
The rooms are large, comfortable beds, good wifi and cable TV, pleasantly furnished and with attractive bathrooms. The refurbished rooms have good carpets and new paint etc. One odd thing we found was that while there was a doorman on duty (sometimes two), there were no porters to take bags to and from rooms. We had to squeeze into the single tiny lift with bags. Not sure what would happen if the lift failed, though there are only three floors. The hotel restaurant is Kudos which is also open to the public. The hotel breakfast allowed for a choice of the a la carte breakfast menu plus juice and coffee/tea. I had the smoked salmon scrambled eggs each morning, which were delicious topped with a little fish roe.
We also ate at the restaurant one night and the food was excellent. Two diners had different fish and they were a little overdone, which was the only criticism. This seems to be normal in many asian restaurants to avoid any food poisoning (a previous trip to Club Med in Malaysia gave me 14 weeks of intense gut problems after a meal of sashimi, so I can accept a little overcooking at times).
Overall the staff were very pleasant and helpful, the rooms were clean, the location is good with easy access to many restaurants, shops and the waterfront. Given the price/quality of other places we stayed in Borneo, I was surprised to see how little The Jesselton cost when I checked on the web (our private tour just had one bill for everything).

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Metceni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    273
    77
    14
    10
See reviews for
73
229
57
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Anglia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights and on the whole thought it was great. It felt very nostalgic which I liked. The maids uniforms were great. Our room was very big and comfortable. Loved the big bathroom. The lift carpet needs replacing and one of the receptionists wasn't that informative but felt very happy staying here. The restaurant next door is top quality. Not many other good places to eat nearby, so went to the Harbour most nights. Had some laundry done as well all very satisfactory. Its not a modern hotel like Klagan but if you like vintage give this a try.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freckled_Face
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Situated in the centre of the city kk.. nice rooms with good cable tv including CNN and Movie channels. Nice.breakfast Served in old world surroundings.. Great staff assisting at all times. Close to waterfront and good shopping.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glenn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zamboanga City, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Jesselton Hotel is one historic but well-maintained hotel. The location is great, to and from the airport took only half an hour. Some of the famous tourist spots, shopping malls and well- known local food restaurants are just within the vicinity. The hotel staff are all courteous and helpful. We are grateful to Ms. Nora for being sincere and very accommodating to us. Our room is very spacious, clean, comfortable and well-ventilated. Wi-fi is good enough. We would highly recommend to friends and acquaintances should they come and visit Kota Kinabalu.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed for three nights in July. The hotel is well situated. The rooms were clean and spacious, though could do with a little revamp and a freshen up. This did not deter us from our stay and were comfortable. Found the staff helpful and friendly. Breakfast was okay and was included in our room rate. It would be nice if they opened up the front area for more sitting/service area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbughasbitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed at the Jesselton hotel for two nights en route and back from the rainforest and found it ok, the hotel is a bit dated generally and the staff reasonably friendly. It is a fairly central location to explore Kota Kinabula although we were not that impressed with it as a destination. We did not eat in the hotel due to flight times and the bar closed fairly early and so only have the rooms to comment on. They were generally clean but in need of an update and probably expected a bit more for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking room as our room smelt and we had to change.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeChurchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Jessleton Hotel is one of the best places to stay in Kota Kinabulu. The beds are comfy, the air conditioning works well, the staff are friendly and it is superbly located within walking distance to everything.This is still a hotel where you recieve personal attention.

Room Tip: We have stayed in several rooms (at least 4) on various trips and they were all fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCheffy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,443 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#13 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#9 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jesselton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jesselton Hotel

Property: The Jesselton Hotel
Address: 69 Gaya Street, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jesselton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Jesselton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesselton Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing