We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cozy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Jesselton Hotel
Ranked #9 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very cozy!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

The outside of the hotel looks very colonial styled and the lobby is small. The rooms were well refurbished and the windows are big and beautiful. I like the beds as their new and comfortable. Price level is high on holidays.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    265
    74
    13
    10
See reviews for
68
222
55
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Köping, Västmanlands Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
286 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel has a feeling of the old days, the colonial era, The building breathes old times. It might be need for some renovation, but the feeling inside and outside creates an indulgence for the lightly worn interior. If you like something different from new hotels, this is it. The location is perfect, walking distance to the Jesselton Jetty, where all the boats to the islands leave, also walking distance to large malls, restaurants and the harbor street food. Remember to try that.
Access by taxi from the airport is affordable. Nice staff, and a very good restaurant in-house with excellent western food. Also a lot of Chinese restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Get a reservation in good time before your arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Princesa, Philippines
Level Contributor
143 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Jesselton Hotel, and the pre-arrival communications with Ms Nora were both efficient and friendly.
We stayed in a deluxe room which was spacious, with a large bathroom, and lots of storage space such as wardrobe and lots of large drawers. It was nice to find that the bathroom amenities (soap,shampoo,etc) whilst not luxury branded, were certainly not cheap rubbish, but pleasantly fragranced own brand.
Our room was a bit "worn", but I was able to view one of the refurbished rooms which was much nicer. I imagine the refurbishment programme must be approaching completion soon.
All staff, including Ms Nora mentioned earlier, were friendly and helpful and we will certainly be staying there again.
Location is excellent with coffee shops, restaurants, and malls being very close. The excellent Tong Hing Supermarket is a short walk away, just in front of HSBC which has ATM's within it's building.
For anyone a little security-concious, there is a small police post on the pavement/sidewalk just across from the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vetus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

very helpfull staff (good advice) perfect location (close to the Jessel port to take a boot to the Islands)
De restaurant just on your rightis great for a quick Malaysian meal. Breakfast on your left is very good as well.
The room very clean, nice !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 228Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed 3 nights here and found it very cozy and friendly. Staff were excellent and couldn't have been more helpful. Rooms are well furnished and comfortable. Bed was very comfortable with nice fluffy pillows.
Bathroom was a bit small and not very private but this was a small issue. Breakfast offerings were all ala carte and a bit limited but good quality food.
Location is excellent and within walking distance of pretty much everything in KK.
Highly recommended overall

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giles202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah,WA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed a total of 4 nights in three tranches while flitting to other parts of Borneo. We had two rooms (one for our sons). The hotel are gradually refurbishing the rooms and our sons had a new room each time we checked in while my wife and I had the old ones (though they did upgrade us to The Suite for one night).
The rooms are large, comfortable beds, good wifi and cable TV, pleasantly furnished and with attractive bathrooms. The refurbished rooms have good carpets and new paint etc. One odd thing we found was that while there was a doorman on duty (sometimes two), there were no porters to take bags to and from rooms. We had to squeeze into the single tiny lift with bags. Not sure what would happen if the lift failed, though there are only three floors. The hotel restaurant is Kudos which is also open to the public. The hotel breakfast allowed for a choice of the a la carte breakfast menu plus juice and coffee/tea. I had the smoked salmon scrambled eggs each morning, which were delicious topped with a little fish roe.
We also ate at the restaurant one night and the food was excellent. Two diners had different fish and they were a little overdone, which was the only criticism. This seems to be normal in many asian restaurants to avoid any food poisoning (a previous trip to Club Med in Malaysia gave me 14 weeks of intense gut problems after a meal of sashimi, so I can accept a little overcooking at times).
Overall the staff were very pleasant and helpful, the rooms were clean, the location is good with easy access to many restaurants, shops and the waterfront. Given the price/quality of other places we stayed in Borneo, I was surprised to see how little The Jesselton cost when I checked on the web (our private tour just had one bill for everything).

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Metceni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights and on the whole thought it was great. It felt very nostalgic which I liked. The maids uniforms were great. Our room was very big and comfortable. Loved the big bathroom. The lift carpet needs replacing and one of the receptionists wasn't that informative but felt very happy staying here. The restaurant next door is top quality. Not many other good places to eat nearby, so went to the Harbour most nights. Had some laundry done as well all very satisfactory. Its not a modern hotel like Klagan but if you like vintage give this a try.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freckled_Face
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,159 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jesselton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jesselton Hotel

Property: The Jesselton Hotel
Address: 69 Gaya Street, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jesselton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Jesselton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesselton Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing