We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Likas Square Apartment Hotel
Ranked #24 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Rooms are large and clean enough, much better than what the hallways look like. Location isn't the best, not much around in the area except for two or three restaurants. At least there's lots of cold beer in the lobby fridge!
The shuttle to downtown doesn't really exist (only goes like once a day), you need to take taxis.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boothash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2011

This hotel is not in the middle of KK, it is quite a hassle to get to town if you don't have your own transportation.

We reached the hotel at 4pm and was told that the room wasn't ready. When pressed for a time when it would be ready, we were greeted with an answer "we cannot tell you for certain". Having been on a 7 hour road trip and getting no answer didn't fly well with me. After another couple of minutes asking the front desk to give us a confirmation of what time it will be ready, he finally called housekeeping and gave them a 2 and a half hour deadline.

The hotel finally called at a bit past 6pm. Hotels normally have a check out time of 12pm and a check in time of 2pm to allow 2 hours for housekeeping to clean the rooms. By calling me at 6 plus in the evening, in my mind, the hotel had more than 6 hours to clean the room and I was stuck outside because of their incompetency.

The room was alright. Fitting for a large group because it had a hall, a double bed, four single beds and three rooms. It had a stove with no utensils, coffee and tea with no teaspoons, and 6 towels. The sofa was comfortable, the TV lacked the variety of channels and it also had a 6 seater dining table. Not bad for RM330.

The second day, housekeeping did not come up at all. We had to call for a change of towels, we had to call again for more tea/coffee/sugar/creamer sachets. The bathrooms weren't cleaned and the beds weren't made.

The last straw came on the day we checked out. We checked out at 7am and went around KK. At about 9.20am, one member of our group realized that she had left her cardigan in the hotel. I called the hotel to confirm if there were any cardigans, told them to call me back asap as if there were, we would drive back to the hotel. No calls came, we drove back anyway.

The affected member went up to the front desk, explained and then waited for them to call housekeeping. Housekeeping called back 5 minutes later and said there was nothing found. The member insisted she remembered leaving it and demanded to be brought up to the room and the front desk reluctantly obliged.

When she got to the room, she saw her cardigan lying on the bed/sofa (I cannot remember which one). She also noticed that nothing of the room was cleaned as of yet. No wonder we had to wait so long to check in when housekeeping wasn't even bothered to clean up after people have left.

For the price, the condo was quite a money saver. However, to endure this kind of service again, I would gladly pay more and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Do not stay here if you are on a tight schedule, they might screw it up for you. Rooms on the 3rd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jasmyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LikasSquareAptHotel, General Manager at Likas Square Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

First of all, I would like to thank you for highlighting this matter to us. I must also apologize for the delay in getting back to you.

We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with our service during your last stay with us. Please be assured that we take such feedback very seriously and will ensure the necessary action is taken to avoid any future occurrence.

Please accept our apologies for the lack of service and courtesy shown in this instance. We agree with you that efficient service is essential especially for our valued guests like you.

I would like to invite you to contact me directly at razali@likassquare.com.my in order for me to gather some further detail. I want to let you know that we have every intention of assisting our guests and resolving all issues brought to our attention because our guests' interest is our utmost priority.

Once again, we thank you for giving us the opportunity to do better. We are looking forward to your continued support.

Wish you a pleasant day ahead.


Yours sincerely,
Razali Ali
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Afforable place to stay. Quite old and Not much shops around. Poor internet Wifi strength in our room but its free. Location is good a bit quiet place.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryanofbrunei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Despite an excellent room rate and spacious well-built rooms, it was such a horrible experience!
We had checked in late in the evening and asked for towels (only three in the apartment - despite telling the staff repeatedly that there is 6 of us, thought it would be obvious since there is 4 single beds and a double bed in the three roomed apartment!!) - this became a regular occurrance - whenever we returned from our outings in the evening, we would have to call housekeeping to ask for extra towels and on more than one occasion we would have to call asking them to clean our rooms!!
Before we left the rooms in the morning we would call housekeeping and ask them to clean our rooms - lo and behold when we get back in the evening, the rooms are still not cleaned - seriously the bathrooms needs scrubbing!!
The final straw was when we got back on the last evening on our stay to find the in-room fridge to be wide open (everything in the fridge was warm!) PLUS some of our children's chocolates was opened, half eaten and placed on top of the fridge!! When we called to complained to reception, the receptionist simply said she didn't know anything, and added there is no manager plus housekeeping was closed!
The next day upon check out, I complained to the staff - they simply told me to fill in a form!!!
So to sum it up - AVOID THIS PLACE!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank han111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LikasSquareAptHotel, General Manager at Likas Square Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

First of all I would like to thank you for your feedback. My apologies for not getting back to you sooner.

We truly regret to have caused inconvenience during your last stay with us. We agree with you that the usual high standard of our services were not met in this instance. Please accept our sincere apology for the lapse in service delivery. I want to assure you that we take such feedback very seriously and will ensure the necessary action is taken to avoid any future occurrence.

I would like to invite you to contact me directly at razali@likassquare.com.my in order for me to gather some further detail. I want to let you know that we have every intention of assisting our guests and resolving all issues brought to our attention because our guests' interest is our utmost priority.

Once again, we thank you for giving us the opportunity to do better. We are looking forward to your continued support.

Wish you a pleasant day ahead.

Yours sincerely,
Razali Ali
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We had a great time staying at Likas Square Condotel. We had a rented car so travelling within KK was not a problem at all. The hotel does provide shuttle service to KK town at specific intervals so should not be a problem to others without own transport. Just check with the reception and book your seats an be flexible with your plan.
Unit has full condo facilities and you can cook if you wish. just call the housekeeping and they will supply you with the necessary utensils. Units are furnished tastefully and very modern. Housekeeping is very friendly and cooperative. Front desk is helpful and late check out can be arranged upon request subject to room availability.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

First impression is not very good. The security of the hotel is not good. Everyone can simply get into the floor. No toilet at the lobby, we need to going to the share toilet at the shop lot beside the condo. Corridor side is very dirty and insecure. There is kitchen in the suite but without any cooking facilities. 3 bed rooms suite only with 2 sitting sofa at the living rooms which can only sit by max 4 person. The window at the living rooms is broken, it is too dangerous...! The floor with a lots of dust. Didn't clean/check the room before guest check in? The water from the shower head is too small..although there is free shuttle to the city, but the other public transport is not convenient at this area. There is only some small stall at the next door, the shopping complex is no longer with any supermarket. It is hardly to get nice food at this area, forgot about the supper since the cafe/restaurant near by will be close just after your dinner. will not visit for next, Wont recommend for long stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank y3e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We had 7 members of a family staying in an apartment unit. The place was clean and well laid out. Free shuttle bus was provided to CBD. Food stores and restaurants are available and traveling to CBD not necessary. Wetland Bird Sactuary is just a walking distance. We drove an MPV and parking is free. This accomodation is well woth the money adn is recommended for family sized travelers.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burnerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,201 reviews
2.0 mi away
Borneo Vista Suites Hotel
Borneo Vista Suites Hotel
#39 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
37 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#63 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
369 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
714 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#40 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Likas Square Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Likas Square Apartment Hotel

Address: 1 Jalan Istiadat, Kota Kinabalu 88400, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#9 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £20 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Likas Square Apartment Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Likas Square Apartment Hotel offers spacious 3 bedroom suites with modern furnishings in Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysian Borneo. Linked to a shopping complex, it is just 15 minutes from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, 3 minutes from 1 Borneo Hypermall, Jesselton Point and Likas Sports Complex and Golf Driving Range, walking distance to the Sabah Trade Centre and offers free scheduled shuttle service to Kota Kinabalu City Centre just 5 minutes away.Elegantly furnished with the scenic Likas Bay, Mount Kinabalu and quaint city of Kota Kinabalu as its backdrop and ample space ranging from 1352 square feet onward, it features a living room, dining room and kitchenette, all with individually controlled air-conditioning, a television, telephone, modern bathroom facilities, refrigerator as well as coffee and tea making facilities, WIFI and parking.In house guests can utilize the outdoor swimming pool while enjoying the views of Mount Kinabalu, or workout in the fitness center while children play at the playground. The hotel also has an all day dining Café and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Likas Square Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Likas Square Condotel Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing