We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading and Poor Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Likas Square Apartment Hotel
Ranked #25 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Misleading and Poor Service”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Can you imagine a kitchen without spoons? They shouldn't have quoted a kitchen which is absolutely useless without utensils! When I booked the rooms, there was no mention of add-ons, and I understand that they just recently changed that in their website! No wifi in rooms, air-conditioner which short-circuited upon use, and they ran out of toilet paper! Main door which need a strong push to close it and taps which are loosely attached to the sink. The only consolation is the location which is near to likas stadium which we had to go to.

Room Tip: No, no unless you need to go to likas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kseng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LikasSquareAptHotel, Manager at Likas Square Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Kseng ,

Thank you for your helpful feedback. We are sorry to learn about your stay experience with us and would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience endured during your stay. We have well taken note on your comments and our management team have been addressing these issues for our continuous improvement. To assist us in our further, please email us at info@likassquare.com.my with your stay details and any further concerns regarding your stay in order to look into them immediately. Thank you and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    51
    46
    17
    6
See reviews for
72
7
3
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed here as a group of 6 adults and one baby. The 3 bedroom apartment was nice and had been refurbished. The service however was almost non existent! Each time we asked for food we were told the chefs were too busy! We wanted to order room service from the menu in our room but was told they don't offer room service. They didn't know why the menu was in the room! There are no cutlery (including spoons! )or cooking utensils in the "full kitchen"! On day 5 we discovered we had to pay for them per day! We won't stay there again on our next trip. The staff need to understand what service is if they want people to stay there. Building is in desperate need of repair.

Room Tip: The 3 bedroom apartment is good but make sure you check the room first. They tried to give us a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 800Shaz03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LikasSquareAptHotel, Manager at Likas Square Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Shaz ,

Thank you for your helpful feedback. We are sorry to learn about your stay experience with us and would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience endured during your stay. We have well taken note on your comments and our management team have been addressing these issues for our continuous improvement. To assist us in our further, please email us at info@likassquare.com.my with your stay details and any further concerns regarding your stay in order to look into them immediately. Thank you and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson
Level Contributor
150 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

An older property, this condotel needs a makeover. The staff were are very friendly and helpful but the building itself is getting so old. The windows leak when it rains, every noise can be heard on the floors above and below you, and there isn't so much as a spoon in the rooms. Having a kitchen is only useful if you can use it. No Wifi in the rooms, and not within walking distance of KK.so you will need a car. The fitness facility is being renovated so no work out options either. On the plus side , comfortable bed, clean towels each day and plenty of hot water, and within walking distance of the Lakeside jogging track, which is lit in the evenings and safe.
The restaurant in the hotel serves the same boring items day in and day out.. they need a new chef with some adventure. Luckily there is a mall with a grocery and a few restaurants next door.
Great place if you need to be near the Likas Complex or are on a budget.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjw1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I booked the hotel through air asia go and we got a Senator Suite. Very comfortable. Staff at the lobby counter are friendly. Will recommend to others. The downside is that maybe they can provide at least spoon in the room. Overall view, my family and I enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afifah Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed in the three bed apartments at the start and end of our trip to Borneo.

They were comfortable, spacious, plenty of hot water (one night we switched the hotwater off by mistake because it looks like a light switch). The location is ok - it is too far to walk into the city centre so you will need a taxi or car. But it is very quite and there is plenty of free parking.

There is a supermarket downstairs which was expensive but well stocked. There are also a couple of restaurants downstairs - we ate at the Korean one and the food was quite good.

Bear in mind that the apartments does not have an equipped kitchen. You get cups and glasses but nothing else - no plates, cutlery or pots. If you want these you need to book them in advance.

Really liked our stay here - we had a room with a superb view on both nights. Staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. Really cannot complain.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKpolobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawau
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I am currently going to stay at this hotel for about two months. As I mentioned in my review title ~ the building is really getting old. This is because ~ as for the room that I am staying now could be flooded with water from the rain. I dont know what happen but it seems that each time where there was the rain ~ the house suddenly got wet on the floor. And you can see how the rain got into the house from the window pane. Ughhh ~ I told the front desk about this situation but they're just simply ask the housekeeping to clean all the watery. Oh boy, this is not what I want you to do. Overall ~ the house is very clean. Its really suitable for a group of family to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamsone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This is my second stay with this apartment hotel. I booked this hotel through agoda.com but there were some problems during check-in as my booking was not registered in the hotel system. However, the staff quickly upgraded my friends and I into a deluxe room. (I wonder if they would kick us out if there were no rooms left to be upgraded to?)

Before we got too excited, we found out that the deluxe room was actually quite run down. It was advertised that we would get six beds.. but instead we got 4 beds, and 2 mattresses on the floor! One of the rooms had cracking floor boards. When we requested for a change of room, the staff declined our request.

The air conditioning was working, but it looked like it was about to go kaput as it cooled up the room very, very slowly. Other than that, all other facilities and services were up to par.

Would recommend my friends and family who are travelling in big groups to stay in this apartment hotel as the price is affordable if evened out per individual.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tabbybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
2.0 mi away
Borneo Vista Suites Hotel
Borneo Vista Suites Hotel
#36 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
33 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,173 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#43 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Avangio Hotel Kota Kinabalu Managed by Accor
Avangio Hotel Kota Kinabalu Mana...
#21 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
75 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
#18 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
430 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Likas Square Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Likas Square Apartment Hotel

Property: Likas Square Apartment Hotel
Address: 1 Jalan Istiadat, Kota Kinabalu 88400, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Likas Square Apartment Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Likas Square Apartment Hotel offers spacious 3 bedroom suites with modern furnishings in Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysian Borneo. Linked to a shopping complex, it is just 15 minutes from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, 3 minutes from 1 Borneo Hypermall, Jesselton Point and Likas Sports Complex and Golf Driving Range, walking distance to the Sabah Trade Centre and offers free scheduled shuttle service to Kota Kinabalu City Centre just 5 minutes away.Elegantly furnished with the scenic Likas Bay, Mount Kinabalu and quaint city of Kota Kinabalu as its backdrop and ample space ranging from 1352 square feet onward, it features a living room, dining room and kitchenette, all with individually controlled air-conditioning, a television, telephone, modern bathroom facilities, refrigerator as well as coffee and tea making facilities, WIFI and parking.In house guests can utilize the outdoor swimming pool while enjoying the views of Mount Kinabalu, or workout in the fitness center while children play at the playground. The hotel also has an all day dining Café and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Likas Square Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Likas Square Condotel Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing