We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sabah Oriental Hotel
Ranked #39 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Barcelona
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Spacious and clean rooms”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed at the Sabah Oriental twice while touring Sabah. We were pleased both times. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel rooms were clean and tidy we had an incredible view as we were staying at one of the higher floors. There was a powerful shower and bathtub which I was very happy about. The hotel breakfast was delicious. The location was walking distance to the shopping mall and the seaside. We walked to the ferry dock but I recommend a taxi as it took longer than expected.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    140
    95
    24
    18
See reviews for
54
82
30
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sanaa, Yemen
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

First of all if you look at their room rates you won't complain, they have old furnished rooms on the pool and river side but very clean, their breakfast buffet is limited if you are not fan of Asian food like me. If you planning to rent a car this hotel is have the best location it's about 5min driving from everywhere, airport, beaches, city center. Friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go there if you looking for a cheap and clean accommodation and also if you think to rent a car whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed at SOH for a week since mixing business and leisure. Apart from the swimming pool, which is a total disaster, the Hotel is old, yes, but anyway clean. Rooms are pretty comfortable, old furniture, old bathtub, old toilet. One morning we woke up and noticed we had a water leak in our room. The Hotel management immediately moved us out and eventually put us up in a suite: I wouldn't call it a suite normally but apparently in this Hotel they call it like that.

In any case, a nice staying.

PS: we forgot to pay 20 something ringit at the bar (around 7 USD) and they call us 3 times in the afternoon + when back they even came up to the room to collect the money... funny pals.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Innovation Sola... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

The standard room is quiet big and comfortable. Buffet breakfast is included and delicious. However, room lighting is insufficient. Some lamps not functioning. For location, near town but surrounding do not have any attractive place or foods to try. it is surrounded by building. Overall is good and worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annte21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

It is in dire need of refurbishing. The bathrooms are old with the shower in a bath which is not safe for older travellers. No shops or restaurants nearby. Has a small vinyl lined pool but only 3 lounges and no mattresses for the lounges. Some of the slats were broken and the other chairs were just metal - not comfy. No shade either. Towels are only available from the gym which is not near the pool. Ordered room service but could not book it to the room, so lucky we had money on us. The shop only sells potato crisps, one type of sweet biscuit, a few ice creams and condoms with no one in attendance. You need to take the item to the bar. bar staff very unhelpful and surly. We wanted to buy water but can't buy that there. No money changing at reception either. Breakfast was good. They have a free shuttle into town 3 times per day. It is a cheap hotel, staff not overly friendly but if you aren't overly fussy, this is an okay hotel. It is hard to get a hotel in KK that has a pool in this price range. They need to provide better service to the customer. It has a nice lounge area with a nice band which was nice! So good and bad here. You get what you pay for of course and we don't like to pay too much for accommodation.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevators. Bit noisy ther.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phantomrose101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Positive;
1. Good location if you are travelling by car.
2. Perfect for moslem guests as sarong n praying mat are provided in the room.
3. Iron & iron board also provided in the room.
4. Room quite spacious.
5. Breakfast has variety of choices.
6. Swimming pool.


Negative;
1. Room carpet looks dirty and old
2. No family room

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aisyadaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenom, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

Its kinda 2nd time I stay at this hotel..nothing much to talk bout..its got a pretty good room cause I stay myself in superior room..I read lot review bout the hotel..got to agree bout some of it but what really is u needto experience urself dont u..^^ what I really love bout some place is it food so I guess this place kinda good enough for it star and rate hehe..the view kinda funny though cause got some construction going on infront of hotel so u can guess the way to the hotel is kinda suck huhuhu..bout the worker here its kinda nice already..its just up to us anyway how we intrect with them..wnt people smile..the we start with smile ourself..so cheerup and stay here..its kinda refreshing sometime..

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank akue1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#36 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Borneo Vista Suites Hotel
Borneo Vista Suites Hotel
#38 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
#18 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#13 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
321 reviews
0.4 mi away
TH Hotel Kota Kinabalu
TH Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#31 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
77 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#15 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabah Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabah Oriental Hotel

Property: Sabah Oriental Hotel
Address: Lorong Kemajuan, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia (Formerly Beverly Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sabah Oriental Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are designed with your comfort in mind. At Sabah Oriental Hotel you’ll discover that attention to details is our hallmark to ensure your stay in Sabah Oriental Hotel is a perfect one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sabah Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing