We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palatial Cuisine and Superb Service with Dim Sum at Weekends”
Review of Shang Palace

Shang Palace
Ranked #36 of 740 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Restaurant details
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Shang Palace is the flagship Chinese style restaurant at the Shangri-La Tanjung Aru Resort with its own style and substance. If you are visiting or staying at the hotel on Saturday and Sunday lunchtimes there is a feast of Dim Sum and an extensive buffet. Weekdays the Shang Palace is open for lunch and dinner with excellent service headed by an elderly Chinese woman who all the younger staff call "aunty" which is a modern token of respect in South East Asia. The comprehensive menu doesn't disappoint but it is wise to book a table as there is understandably a lot of demand.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank J71johnnym
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 37 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2016

We had a lovely evening meal here in July .Good service and the food was lovely and fresh .We had arrived a bit late in the evening but were not rushed to finish dinner even although we were last i the restaurant

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mary_whitelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Good Food and service, Food tasty and large portion size, staff went the extra mile to meet al your needs. would recommend a visit.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Rwillcardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 May 2016

It was one of the most horrible dinners at Asia all in all
We had shripms which i believe were not fresk so we had a a atomach ache for the next few days. Not to mention the price was horrendois- not worry it at all. The food there is Belgów expectations and overpriced

Date of visit: May 2016
2  Thank agnieszka588
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 May 2016

We went to the restaurant for lunch. A dress code was implemented even though within the hotel and that it was a lunchtime. Choice of food was good and a varied selection of dim sum, with an explanation of each one. Food and service was very good. Slightly expensive but as expected in a Shangri la hotel.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank gezb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Shang Palace also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Shang Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.