We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #10 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3
Nights, nothing special, breakfast was pretty average and bed was very hard but starting to think all beds in Borneo are. For the price its a good choice, easy walking distance to most attractions around town. Friendly staff.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Warren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamtelKotaKinabalu, General Manager at Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Kopivosian!

Thank you for your review and we were sorry to hear that our bed did not meet with your expectation. We will take note of this as our guests' comfort is our utmost priority.

We hope you will come back to visit us and stay with us again.

Kotohuadan.

Warm regards,
EVON FOO, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    244
    90
    16
    8
See reviews for
64
189
60
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

A new hotel with clean rooms and very comfy beds.Front desk staff very helpful.Breakfast was included and very good variety of foods.
This hotel is right near the local markets and 15 min walk to the major shopping malls.Lots of Resturants around as well.
Only thing missing was a swimming pool.
I would definitely return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: A basic room was small but fine for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welltravelled019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamtelKotaKinabalu, General Manager at Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Kopivosian!

We thank you for your feedback and were glad to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us. It certainly was our pleasure to have served you.

We would love to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Kotohuadan.

Warm regards,
EVON FOO, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My wife and I spent here a night at the end of February, and we found the hotel perfect for our purposes. Our flight landed late so it was already past midnight when (after a 15-minute 30 MYR taxi ride) we arrived at the entrance. The receptionist was all smiles, had our keys and check-in forms on the counter waiting for us. The check-in formalities took approximately two minutes.
Our room on the 11th floor was modern and clean, equipped with a king bed, 42" TV, quiet air-conditioner. The bathroom had a shower (no tub), with all the usual amenities (shampoo, razor, shoer cap, etc.). Internet connection was included in the price, and the service was quick enough to make a FaceTime call. There were the usual international cable channels (together with Chinese, Malay and Hindi stations), although I didn't watch any program, just scrolled through the channels. In general, it had the quality of a European or North American business hotel where you would pay US$ 200-300 a night; here it was $80.
Breakfast was a bit disappointing, although only in comparison with the unexpectedly high quality of the room. But this is the reason why I rate the place four-star, instead of five. They had the usual Asian and European breakfast buffet, but no fresh egg station, only scrambled eggs in a big bowl. Coffee was bad, but this applies to the entire state of Sabah.
In conclusion, it is a convenient place for and overnight stop, fully functional, relaxing and professional. Sabah has many great beachfront hotels for "holiday", but if you need a place for a quick stop-over with late arrival and early departures, don't look any further. This hotel won't disappoint.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LVarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamtelkotakinabalu, General Manager at Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Kopivosian!

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Kota Kinabalu and we are glad to know that it was a pleasant stay for you. We also thank you for your constructive comments which we take very seriously as our guests' comfort and enjoyment while staying at our hotel is our main priority.

We thank you once again and would love to welcome you back to our hotel should you travel this way again in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,
EVON FOO, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed the few days we stayed here.
The room was a window room facing out from the back of the building.
Was clean, modern and everything worked well.
Located a 5 min walk too the waterfront markets, 2 mins to our favourite seafood restaurants, the bus station was out front currently as the new station is getting built/renovated.
Staff were helpful with enquiries about transport, laundry, locations of attractions.
Breakfast was decent including a small range of things to suit most cultures and tastes.

One important feature to us was how quiet the room was. Quite often hotels in Se Asia are poorly sound insulated however we had no worried whatsoever with ours.

Thanks guys

Would stay again

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank tim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamtelkotakinabalu, General Manager at Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Kopivosian!

Thank you for staying with us and we were very glad to know that you had enjoyed your stay and were happy with our service. We would love to welcome you back and please do let us know if we could be of any further assistance.

Warm regards,
EVON FOO, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a few nights in February 2014.

Modern and clean hotel. Our room had plush carpet, a very comfortable bed and a nice bathroom. Spacious enough for a couple.

Located outside a bus terminal with easy walking distance to the waterfront, markets and various malls.

I enjoyed staying here,would do so again and recommend the Dreamtel to others.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamtelkotakinabalu, General Manager at Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Kopivosian!

Thank you for letting us know that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate it very much that you are recommending our hotel to friends and we look forward to welcoming you back and also your friends to stay with us in the Land Below the Wind!

Kotohuadan.

Warm regards.
EVON FOO, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Had a good stay here, just overnight, but I was pleased. Seems new, and it was clean and comfortable. Breakfast buffet pretty decent, they had a proper coffee machine so the morning caffeine hit was a little nicer tasting than the usual. Good mix of Asian food and western stuff (even cereal, though it's more the kind kids enjoy). Wifi throughout, seemed to work well.

This place is popular with visitors from the PRC so there was a generally slightly higher level of hubbub than some western visitors might be used to - didn't bother me after 8 years living in China. The demographic is guided by the price so it's generally middle class families. Those seeking the world's quietest hotel might want to take note. But it absolutely did not affect my sleep. Just a general level of activity around!

It is very nicely located, easy walk to the main malls, restaurants and the waterfront area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Great location near night market and lots of restaurants and can walk to shopping centres, room is small however new and clean walls are thin so hope u have quite numbers. Staff are ok but when asking for help for places and complaints they don't really know how to assist you. We eat at the restaurant but I asked for 2 things on there menu but the didn't have them both which was a let done so we didn't go back. Breakfast was ok basic buffet

Room Tip: Stayed on 7th floor not much to see really
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casey8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
671 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#13 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.3 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#15 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
456 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu

Property: Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Address: 5 Jalan Padang, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into Dreamtel and be captivated by the friendly charm of our service associates. Situated in the historical part of Kota Kinabalu, the hotel is just within walking distance to Padang Merdeka, the Atkinson Clock Tower and the Malaysia Monument. The hotel is also minutes away from the central district of food, shopping, nightlife, business and everything downtown Kota Kinabalu has to offer. With 160 guestrooms, we have a wide selection of room types in our hotel to suit varying guest requirements including Twin, Double and Triple. Whether you are travelling for business or on holidays with friends and family, we have just the room for you. Dreamtel Cafe is a 120-seat restaurant that combines international flavours as well as local cuisine. From formal board meetings to casual corporate affairs and special events, Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu has the appropriate venue for all your event needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing