We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strategic location, value for money, comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #10 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Strategic location, value for money, comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and didn't regret staying here. The hotel is located 5 minutes walk from Gaya Street, and further 10-15 minutes walk to the promenade and Jesselton boat terminal. Shops are conveniently located close to the hotel too. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. We had to leave at 6.30am to catch a flight to Sandakan and when informed the reception the night before, they offered to have our breakfast packed the next morning. Taxis are easily available too outside the hotel to drive to the airport. It's certainly value for money for a 3-star hotel in the city centre.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamtelKotaKinabalu, General Manager at Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Kathleen,

Kopivosian from Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for letting us know your positive feedback. We were very happy to know that you had enjoyed your stay and we hope you will come back to visit us again soon.

Kotohuadan.

Warm regards,
EVON FOO
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    222
    83
    15
    8
See reviews for
57
170
54
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights instead of 2 because we kept extending our booking. The rooms were immaculate, the service was great and the breakfasts were hearty with a good mix of Asian/Western cuisine on offer. We did a few day trips from this hotel and the receptionist was very helpful in letting us use the phones to organise our days. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough - it's an absolute bargain !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aussie_danni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamtelKotaKinabalu, General Manager at Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Kopivosian from Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu!

We were delighted to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us and our team was encouraged by your positive feedback. We hope you will come back and visit us again if you are ever making a trip to KK in the future.

Kotohuadan.

Warm regards,
EVON FOO
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
276 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed in a room on the 10th floor where we had really nice views. It was high enough and there were no street noises.

There was no private parking available but we could park our rental car at the public bays nearby. The hotel reception helped us pay our daily parking (RM3.20) per day.

The hotel's location is superb, within walking distance to Jesselton Pier and the various seafood restaurants.

We enjoyed the daily breakfast at the hotel and the spread was sufficient. The crowds in the morning can be really noisy and some guests may hijack your table if you leave it unattended. The restaurant staff were really good to assist in this area and contain those unruly guests.

Our only problem was the air conditioning in the room which was not cold enough. Other than this, the room was clean, bed was comfortable and shower was powerful.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LL721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamtelKotaKinabalu, General Manager at Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Kopivosian from Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu!

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback and we were glad to know that overall you had enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will come back and stay with us again soon.

Kotohuadan.

Warm regards,
EVON FOO
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I found this hotel perfectly acceptable as a solo female traveller - especially for the price you're paying! I found it to be well located about 10-15 mins walk from the water front. I stayed a total of 4 nights in two different rooms - both were clean and in working order (admittedly when travelling my room is just a bed and bathroom though). The breakfast provided included everything I could want (I especially appreciated the egg station), so I'm not sure what any previous poor comments regarding breakfast relate to. If you have to check out early, they were more than happy to put together a breakfast box - simple, but it did the job. I didn't have any problems with the wifi in my room nor in the common areas. It is very close to the mosque though, so the morning and evening call to prayer is quite loud. As long as you're prepared for that, I think you'll be fine.
I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank i_am_julesaswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamtelKotaKinabalu, General Manager at Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Kopivosian from Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu!

Thank you very much for taking the time to let know your feedback. We were very happy to now that you had enjoyed your stay with us and especially our breakfast spread (and the egg station!), thank you for your encouragement!

We would love to welcome you back if you ever head this way again.

Kotohuadan.

Warm regards,
EVON FOO
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waitomo Caves, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We visited Kota Kinabalu for a stay at one of the resorts, but had a couple of days before we started, and wanted to stay somewhere a bit cheaper. The Dreamtel was absolutely perfect for this.

Our room was clean and nice (although the aircon could have been more efficient!), the service was great, even with a late arrival from our flight, the location was perfect, the breakfast had a great variety. We really could not have asked for more for the price we paid.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamtelKotaKinabalu, General Manager at Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Kopivosian from Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and it was good to know that you had enjoyed your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know your feedback both for encouragement and improvement.

We would love to welcome you back if you are making a trip to KK again soon.

Kotohuadan.

Warm regards,
EVON FOO
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I like this hotel. It feels new. Rooms were clean, though a bit small. The breakfast is okay. The location is not bad. It’s a few streets down from the main action, but didn’t feel safe. And if you are not going to spend any time in the room, this is a great place for a cheaper rate then some of the other places. I stayed at the Klagan hotel (one of the higher ranked budget hotels) a few other days and was not as good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick_ALT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamtelKotaKinabalu, General Manager at Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Kopivosian from Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu!

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to let us know that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will come back and stay with us if you ever visit KK again.

Kotohuadan.

Warm regards,
EVON FOO
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Nice hotel close to the city of Kota Kinabalu. Walking distant to everything in town including buses, restaurants and markets. Good personal service. Nice view over the town (from 8th floor).
The WiFi works fine! Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PerA189894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamtelKotaKinabalu, General Manager at Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Kopivosian from Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu!

Thank you for staying with us and it was our pleasure to have served you. We hope you will come back some day to visit us again.

Kotohuadan.

Warm regards,
EVON FOO
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,999 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#12 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu

Property: Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Address: 5 Jalan Padang, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into Dreamtel and be captivated by the friendly charm of our service associates. Situated in the historical part of Kota Kinabalu, the hotel is just within walking distance to Padang Merdeka, the Atkinson Clock Tower and the Malaysia Monument. The hotel is also minutes away from the central district of food, shopping, nightlife, business and everything downtown Kota Kinabalu has to offer. With 160 guestrooms, we have a wide selection of room types in our hotel to suit varying guest requirements including Twin, Double and Triple. Whether you are travelling for business or on holidays with friends and family, we have just the room for you. Dreamtel Cafe is a 120-seat restaurant that combines international flavours as well as local cuisine. From formal board meetings to casual corporate affairs and special events, Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu has the appropriate venue for all your event needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing