We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For one night in the center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #10 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“For one night in the center”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed one night, had no breakfast but sleeping was ok. It is basic and there is everything you need for one night. Wifi was not working in the room but in the lobby. We could hear the noise from outside because the hotel is at a main road. Staff was very friendly and it was clean everywhere. I can not complain about anything. We appreciated the close distance to the city and shopping malls.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zumsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    244
    90
    15
    8
See reviews for
64
187
60
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed originally 4 nights and then returned for another night after visiting Sandakan. The first 4 nights we stayed in a double room on the eighth floor (807) looking out on the oval. It was relatively quiet, though the rooms soundproofing wasn't fantastic. The bed wasn't that big, and we are both short and our feet were hanging out the end.

The room was small and basic, but okay for the price. The breakfast was the same each day, with not a lot of choice for the western palate. They had an egg station, which was nice to have something that was fresh and hot. The day of checkout we had to leave before breakfast to catch our flight to Sandakan and they provided a food package for us to take with us, which you need to arrange the night before.

With regard to cleaning the room, we had to ask for the room to be vaccumed after 3 days, and there were a few days we weren't left any toiletries, but when I asked housekeeping they were quick to supply them.

When we returned for the one night after Sandakan we stayed in an interior room, which was fine for a short stay.

Most of the staff are friendly and helpful, especially the lady who welcomes you for breakfast, and the man who was at the reception in the evening.

The wifi service is very ordinary, it constantly dropped out for hours.

The bus from the airport finishes at the hotel, which is really handy, as it is only MYR5. Also, the vans that go to Mt Kota KInabalu and beyond leave outside the hotel for MYR 20. This makes the hotel's location very handy, and it is only a 15 minute walk to Jesselton Point ferry terminal for the islands.

The hotel will store your luggage if you are going somewhere and coming back. Handy if you are going to the mountain for a few days and coming back.

Room Tip: Make sure that you are on the opposite side of the hotel to the mosque up the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolynthb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We had 4 nights here and had a great stay. The hotel is very basic, but has a clean and modern interior and excellent location. Very close to the Jesselton Point ferry to get to the outlying islands and Gaya street Sunday and night markets - all within walking distance. Lots of food options around. Room service was a bit average but did the job when we didn't want to leave the room. Rooms were air conditioned, good wifi, fast lifts, comfortable beds. No gym or other facilities but that's reflected in the price. The room wasn't huge but it wasn't cramped or uncomfortable for a couple. We had a lovely view of the sea and the hotel was very helpful assisting us with taxis and local recommendations. Breakfast was pretty basic but the stay overall was great value for the price. If you're looking for a romantic getaway or something fancy, perhaps not the best place. But if you just want a clean, comfortable place to stay at an excellent price leaving more spare cash for adventures, definitely recommend it. Much nicer than a hostel and much nicer than you would expect for its reasonable pricing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view as the views of the water and islands are lovely and makes a differen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The hotel is a valued hotel. We stayed there for 4 nights. The room is clean and tidy. Though not spacious but enough for use. Our rom located at 11th floor and facing the sea. We have a good view of city, outlying islands, sea and even sunset. Check in counter a bit busy and need to wait a short time. Overall services are good and caring. Location also good for traveling to other places.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahhoty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Good:
Location, breakfast & very helpful bell boys
Bad:
We booked 4 triple rooms and asked for an additional room card, as only one was given. They gave it to us. But when my sister, another room asked, they said, we need to pay for it. How could this be, as throughout our experience, none of the hotel has ever asked.
They didn't allow us to join table during breakfast, but allowed for other guest. why so?
The bed was hard in my room, but other rooms were better.

Room Tip: ask for higher floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeBe88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzhou, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We just stayed one night as transition. We stayed in Room 1110, I think floor 11 is the highest floor. We could overlook the city and sea in this room. The room isn't big, but enough. People are friendly, check-in and check-out are quick. Good breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose higher floor as possible, good view there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Didi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Hotel is good value for money - room is small but clean and functional. For the money paid I was happy with the service received and was ideal for a 1 night stay. I had an early morning flight the next day and the reception made me up a packed breakfast which was much appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
670 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#13 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.3 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#15 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu

Property: Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Address: 5 Jalan Padang, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into Dreamtel and be captivated by the friendly charm of our service associates. Situated in the historical part of Kota Kinabalu, the hotel is just within walking distance to Padang Merdeka, the Atkinson Clock Tower and the Malaysia Monument. The hotel is also minutes away from the central district of food, shopping, nightlife, business and everything downtown Kota Kinabalu has to offer. With 160 guestrooms, we have a wide selection of room types in our hotel to suit varying guest requirements including Twin, Double and Triple. Whether you are travelling for business or on holidays with friends and family, we have just the room for you. Dreamtel Cafe is a 120-seat restaurant that combines international flavours as well as local cuisine. From formal board meetings to casual corporate affairs and special events, Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu has the appropriate venue for all your event needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing