We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but service could be better”
Review of Hotel Grandis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grandis
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed for one night on a business trip. The location is a plus, as it is next to a new shopping Mall, with Starbucks and many other eateries. But the checking in was painfully slow - with only one staff handling so many hotel guests. The room was large for the price, good shower facilities and even a bath tub. The toiletries were adequate. Most importantly for business travellers, the Wifi worked well. However the breakfast was very basic and service was slow- I have to ask for a cup of coffee twice. The staff was inattentive and did not respond quickly to the clearing of tables after the customers have left. There was no swimming pool in the hotel. Overall the good location is the stronger selling point.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank Lawrence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Grandis, General Manager at Hotel Grandis, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry and disappointed that we had failed in our service. This is a great reminder and lesson to us all. We will continue to train and improve. I hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

375 - 381 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Great hotel and perfect location right beside jesselton wharf, handing for island hopping. Room was spacious and today, staff were friendly, especially Colin. If you have a car you just park at the suria sabah mall, extremely cheap prices to park overnight. Unfortunately gym and pool were under construction. Overall we were happy with the room and the lovely ocean view

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlotteNZ101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Grandis, General Manager at Hotel Grandis, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for the great review. Our staff are motivated to do more for our guests by your encouragement. We are working hard to get the swimming pool and the roof top bar ready in a couple of weeks. I hope you will be returning to our city soon and enjoy the spectacular view of the city and the Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park from our roof top.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

It's new and nice and in a good location if your into malls, they don't have parking so have to leave your car on the street, not advisable, or in the mall parking. The staff was cheerful and helpful, but since it's about the same price as the Hyatt your probably better off there since they have more amenities and parking. The food is about the same quality, so your better off finding something in the mall.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paradisicalmostly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Grandis, General Manager at Hotel Grandis, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for the review. While the car park in the mall does not belong to the hotel, we still advise our guest to park there because it is in the same building and further more we are able to assist with cheaper daily parking rate. Do enquire at the reception desk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is close to business hotel. Room is new and good receiption. But swimming pool was underconstruction. Big shopping mall is just 10sec. Walking distance. Starbucks, sushi restaurant and many newly opened store is all very near. Around 5 min. Walking distance from Jesselton point. I chose to stay 1 night for air flight wait and i may choose again if i come again. But breakfast is not include so someone looking upto morning might less interest cause many similiar hotel provide bteakfast.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Min Joo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Grandis, General Manager at Hotel Grandis, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for the review. Grandis is certainly in the centre of all major activities in the city. But most of all we want to make you our center of attention. We will continue to improve and provide the expected service that you desire. Please note that breakfast is provided but and we leave it as an option. Swimming pool is in progress and in just a few short weeks, it will be ready.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Very nice hotel, next door to Jesselton Point and a great value. During our visit to Sabah, we ended up staying here on 3 different occasions.
Being a new hotel, there were a couple of glitches that were handled in good order by the staff.
They have a pretty good breakfast buffet and our room(s) had a wonderful view. The roof bar and pool were still under construction, but will be a huge draw when completed.

Definitely will be staying here on our next visit to KK.

Room Tip: The "Bay View" room avoids the evening sun and offers a nice view to the north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisandHolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Grandis, General Manager at Hotel Grandis, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for the review. We pride ourselves in our great product and services. We apologize for the short coming but rest assure we are not accepting excuses for being new or inexperienced. We are all keen to learn and improve so that our guests will get what they deserve and expected from us. We hope that all facilities will be ready in a few weeks time. Thank you for your encouragement and motivation. Hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel ... the newness of the facility, the ambience of the room, the décor was tasteful. I was supposed to get a room with king-sized bed but it was not ready when I checked in. I opted for whatever was available and got a nice room with twin beds instead. It was on a high floor and had a very nice sea view! I had a couple of very restful sleep ... good way to recover from the trek up Mt Kinabalu! The bathroom was not quite luxurious but was generously equipped with a bath (with shower option) and another standard shower-cum overhead "natural rain" shower as well, giving a nice experience of showering during a tropical rainfall Aside from the sheer sense of relaxation & comfort in the room, the wifi worked perfectly throughout the premises.

The location was great - the hotel was immediately adjacent to the Suria Sabah mall, a nice new mall which I have reviewed separately. Convenient for some quick shopping or getting a quick bite. In fact, being at the "head" of Jalan Tun Fuad Stephen, it was easy to get to Wisma Merdeka, the Harbour Walk, Central Market and the Jalan Gaya eateries & other accommodation options there.

Given half a chance, I would certainly want a return visit to this hotel and check out the in-house restaurant, piano lounge & the uncompleted poolside bar.

Room Tip: Request a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philipysho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Grandis, General Manager at Hotel Grandis, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for the great review. We are motivated and strive to offer our best. Hope to welcome you back to this beautiful city of Kota Kinabalu in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Was told that this is a fairly new hotel and it sure looks it. The hotel is conveniently located next to the Jesselton Point ferry station and linked to a shopping mall so it was easy to look for food and stuffs is really easy if you don't have a car to get around. The room interior is tastefully designed and the bathroom design is spacious and well thought of. If you're lucky you could get a room with the view of the sea. If you're not so lucky, like myself, you get a room overlooking a construction site of a new waterfront property. If I had to nitpick, perhaps the water pressure was a little low and a few more tv channels wouldn't hurt. Also, the pillow was a little soft. But that really is nitpicking. Overall, a recommended hotel to stay in KK.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank attw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Grandis, General Manager at Hotel Grandis, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for the review. We are happy that you are satisfied with your stay. Please note that we have Bay view rooms as well as Sea view rooms which are priced slightly higher. As the number of Sea view rooms are limited, we advise you to book early. We have taken note of the water pressure issue and will look into it. We do provide two types of pillow (soft and hard) in each room. However, foam pillow is on request basis. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,482 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
699 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
259 reviews
9.0 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grandis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grandis

Address: Suria Sabah Shopping Mall 1, Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £23 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grandis 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after Ascidieria Grandis (Eria Grandis), an endemic orchid found on Mount Kinabalu. The latest hotel to grace Kota Kinabalu's sublime landscape sits in the heart of the city, a mere 15 minutes' drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, and right next to the hippest mall in town. Our ideal location makes us the perfect retreat for those wishing to explore the area's eclectic shopping, dining, and tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grandis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing