We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Can't wait for the swimming pool to open!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Grandis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Grandis
Ranked #8 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Can't wait for the swimming pool to open!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Brand new hotel, staff were helping and friendly.
The location is great, right next to the suria sabah shopping mall, only 3 mins walk to the Jesselton point

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alaina1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Grandis, General Manager at Hotel Grandis, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Alaina,
Thank you for your review and we are happy that you can share with the rest. I am also happy to say that we have opened our Sky Blu bar and the swimming pool. Hope to welcome you back to Kota Kinabalu Soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    195
    46
    19
    11
See reviews for
131
143
29
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Langkawi, Malaysia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Very new hotel, with excellent sea view and the best sunset ever. Rooms are spacious with all the facilities you will ever need. Service is great and the hotel is located conveniently in middle of town with lots of local favorite eateries (great food in KK!). Best thing about the hotel is, walking distance to Jesselton's Point, the jetty to tourism islands of Kota Kinabalu, Sapi, Manukan, Mamutik, Gaya etc. It is also next to Suria Sabah, one of the best shopping complexes around KK.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LipSengYap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Very nice & comfirtable room, centrally located near port, sunday gaya market and restaurants. Next to shopping mall. Breakfast is acceptable have sufficient choices of food. But front desk staffs still very new and fresh from college. Hardware wise is excellent nice room, comfortable bed.. software side need improvement due to inexperience staffing..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bkikilala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Grandis, General Manager at Hotel Grandis, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Wsleong,
Thank you for writing review for us. We are very proud of our products and pleased to be able to offer to our guests. Indeed we are giving opportunity to many school leavers and will continue to train and improve our service standard. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed in a deluxe seaview room, corner unit whereby one side is overseeing the sea and the other side jesselton point, the view is simply captivating! Unfortunately there is a new condo construction on-going, so in the future the view of jesselton point may be blocked.
The room is very spacious, bathroom is also very spacious, very comfortable bed for good night sleep. The location is very convenient, walking distance to the eatery and shopping malls downtown. I would highly recommend this hotel, it's really value for money!

Room Tip: High floor corner unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuey1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Grandis, General Manager at Hotel Grandis, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Chuey1119, Thank you for writing the review for us. There are not many city hotels here that can boast such a wonderful view from the bedroom and we are so happy you were able to enjoy it. We share your opinion that we are indeed value for money. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed over for 2 nights on our way to and back from another island. The location of hotel is great, it is beside the mall and is very central. The rooms are very spacious and thoughtfully furnished. But more importantly, service was very good, we were given a complimentary upgrade to a deluxe sea view room during the first night (the hotel was overbooked) and on our last night, one the staff helpfully gave us a lift to a popular seafood restaurant. Overall, a very good business hotel with great professional and friendly staff. Will come back :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephaniePYY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Grandis, General Manager at Hotel Grandis, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear StephaniePYY,
Thank you for your review. We know we have a great product and that it must also come with great service. Thank you for your encouragement which really motivate all our staff to serve our guests even better. Hope to welcome you back to Kota Kinabalu soon and enjoy the city's fresh seafood and friendly hotel service from Grandis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
137 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night on a business trip. The location is a plus, as it is next to a new shopping Mall, with Starbucks and many other eateries. But the checking in was painfully slow - with only one staff handling so many hotel guests. The room was large for the price, good shower facilities and even a bath tub. The toiletries were adequate. Most importantly for business travellers, the Wifi worked well. However the breakfast was very basic and service was slow- I have to ask for a cup of coffee twice. The staff was inattentive and did not respond quickly to the clearing of tables after the customers have left. There was no swimming pool in the hotel. Overall the good location is the stronger selling point.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Lawrence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Grandis, General Manager at Hotel Grandis, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry and disappointed that we had failed in our service. This is a great reminder and lesson to us all. We will continue to train and improve. I hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Great hotel and perfect location right beside jesselton wharf, handing for island hopping. Room was spacious and today, staff were friendly, especially Colin. If you have a car you just park at the suria sabah mall, extremely cheap prices to park overnight. Unfortunately gym and pool were under construction. Overall we were happy with the room and the lovely ocean view

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlotteNZ101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Grandis, General Manager at Hotel Grandis, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for the great review. Our staff are motivated to do more for our guests by your encouragement. We are working hard to get the swimming pool and the roof top bar ready in a couple of weeks. I hope you will be returning to our city soon and enjoy the spectacular view of the city and the Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park from our roof top.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grandis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grandis

Property: Hotel Grandis
Address: Suria Sabah Shopping Mall 1, Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grandis 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after Ascidieria Grandis (Eria Grandis), an endemic orchid found on Mount Kinabalu. The latest hotel to grace Kota Kinabalu's sublime landscape sits in the heart of the city, a mere 15 minutes' drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, and right next to the hippest mall in town. Our ideal location makes us the perfect retreat for those wishing to explore the area's eclectic shopping, dining, and tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel Grandis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing