We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #3 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel and service”
Reviewed 28 March 2011

It was our first holiday with our 5 months old baby and we were a bit worried about that. Le Meridien has helped a lot and made our stay as comfortable as possible, early check-in, late check-out, baby cot, etc. All these came so helpful when you have a baby. We were also upgraded to a seaview deluxe room which we enjoyed so much. Nice breakfast too, mixed with western, Malay and Chinese. The pool is great too. Of course the service was excellent. The location is so good as well. Love it.
The internet is not free but you can bring your laptop to the lobby for free wireless.
We have walked in to the Hyatt but we still prefer Le Meridien.
The only thing think it would have been better is if the room has night light as it can be so much easier to leave a night light on when you have a baby. You don't need to hurry to find a light switch when the baby cries in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onlyfinchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Hello there thank you so much for sharing your experience. As a father of 3 I know all about the little things that make the difference when travelling with young children. I am glad we passed the test with one little one, I look forward to the challenge of welcoming you back the day you will have a couple of more that will be the real test. Your good comments and suggestion have been shared with all of us this morning, thank you very much
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    932
    842
    218
    71
    30
See reviews for
409
781
121
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth W A
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Just returned from a week at KK, stayed at Le Meridien...easily persuaded by Mark to upgrade to the Royal Club...brilliant ! Superb view and room...Spotless...Staff extremely helpful & attentive especially for us 1st timers . Thank you Maxwell, Ade and crew in the Club...we were treated like royalty !..Did have a problem with the pillow selection. Food was excellent... Very central location...lots of help from concierge if reqd..... We will return for more of the same !

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonandElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Hello Elaine hello Don
thanks a lot for your great feed-back which I have just shared with everyone in the team as a motivation to continue providing signature service. Let me know when you next visit would be lovely to meet up for a cup of tea.
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

It looks like and feels like 4.5-5 stars hotel but disappointed with check in - the FIRST impression of hotel service. We booked and paid for an extra night so that we can check in early for a sleep ( on a midnight flight and I am a terrible sleeper onboard) before we meet up with friends (some from overseas as well - as we were having a mini-reunion). Two /three days before our arrival I emailed Reservation to confirm our intend ,didnt want them to think it was a "no show" and give our 5 nights booking away if we dont show on the 1st day,
We received a reply advising that our room (Royal Club room) had been blocked for our early-check in. Unfortunately that wasnt the case as we were told at check in that our room is not available and if its okay they put us in a delux room until the room we paid for became available - which should have been at 3pm the day before we actually arrived. It was disappointing that I had to insist that they give us the room we already paid for. Which they did - so why was it a problem initially?
On checkout , our request for late check out at 230pm was declined as they said that they have a big group checking in - at the same time?? We were told that we can have it until 2pm and would not give us the extra 30mins even though we explained that friends from Canada insisted on buying us lunch at 1230 and just incase we run alittle late. The answer given was "impossible" so we checked out at about 11am and left baggage in hotel. Would have been nice if they attempt in redeeming themselves for 'rocky' start ie check in. We would have been very willing to forgive and forget ,after all everyone make mistakes. :-) :-)
The staff in the Club lounge was generally pleasant - althought we only use the lounge briefly for internet access and breakfast twice (as our rates also include breakfast in the main restaurant) ,one afternoon tea and a drink or two. Our checkin infor slips advised that ONE GUEST is allowed per room and when we enquired if we can bring a guest for breakfast, we were told 'NO' they insisted that my husband is my 'guest' and vice versa so accordingly we are not allowed to bring ANY more guests unless we pay for all consumables or either my husband or I are not present and therefore the guest will takes one of our places. I pointed out to them that the room is booked under two persons' name - my husband and I. We are both paying guests but they disagreed on that. Confusion! On principle we didnt stay for breakfast not that we cant afford to pay for our guest - which would only be MYR40 approx AUD14!!!
Others commended it being in a good location - true for the shops and markets but it is the unpleasant side of town as the drains in the area smell really foul. Something should be done about it . A shame.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gonefishingPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 28 March 2011
Hello thank you so much for bringing this up. I must admit your review gave me the perfect homework for the day. I have now reviewed the entire chronology of events and have a better understanding.

First of all on the room paid the night before hence expected to be ready upon your early morning arrival. Indeed that was a mistake and we were not prepared as we should have been by the time you came to the hotel. Under such circumstances I would like to refund you the charged night prior to your arrival as it is regrettable we have failed to provide what was promised.
I have also taken the opportunity to review the way we communicate club lounge benefits and I can now reassure you all will be clearer for the guests. Thank you for helping us with that.
Please contact me via the same email you have used to communicate prior to your arrival so that we can discuss the refund.
Looking forward to communicating with you soon.
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

The rooms were nice, but the breakfast was disappointing, even though selection was huge. The coffee, in particular, was the worst I've had in years.

Also, there is no WiFi in the rooms and wired internet costs about $12/day. When I pay $150/night, I would like to have free internet...

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicothed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 26 March 2011
Hello reviewer. Thank you for sharing your overall impression after staying with us. I am disappointed that the coffee served during breakfast was not up to your expectation. Illy is the brand we serve as part of Le Meridien standards and the usual feed-back we get is very positive. I will make sure we look into the preparation process to identify what could be the reason for your comments.
The good news is that wifi will be available in guest rooms starting mid April that will be a new facility for the convenience of our guests.
Give us another chance in the future whenever your travel plans bring you back to Kota Kinabalu and I will personally make sure your overall impression on our services and facilities will be a different one.
Thank you again
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2011

 Had an amazing two night stay at Le Meridian. 

First of all, location, location, location. The hotel is right opposite the wet market and the Philippines Market. These two places is a must see for first time visitors to Sabah. The hotel is also close to shops and restaurants.

I stayed in a sea view deluxe room on the 10th floor, so the view is absolutely amazing. The room itself is super big (more space than I need, really), with comfy beds, nice bathrobe and slippers, LCD tv and a DVD player. The toiletries provided are nice and the bathroom itself is huge with marble wall and floors. There is a bathtub with a shower head and a walk in shower. 

The buffet breakfast is good, with loads of dishes, buns, fruits and drinks to choose from. I like the fact that they serve you coffee or tea at your table so u don't have to get up for that. They also come to your table from time to time to offer their newer additions to the buffet menu and they also refill your juices, another thing u don't have to get up from your seat for. 

But the best thing about Le Meridian is the impeccable services provided. The people at the counter are polite and they try to meet all your needs. The housekeeping was nice, I ended up with a nice goody bag of toiletries. The concierge was also so helpful with my flight booking and even checked me in online. I gave him my flight info in the morning and at the end of the day he was at my door with the boarding pass. Brilliant. 

I have stayed in a few other hotels in Kota Kinabalu and this is my favourite by far. 

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 24 March 2011
Hello Suzz wow what a review I think I can go on holiday knowing the team is doing such a great job. I am so pleased to see that you noticed the little things which we have introduced. Indeed I find it important to provide fruit juice service at the table instead of asking guests to stand up and keep getting new glasses which often are microscopic in hotels....
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, let me know when you next visit so that we can chat and see if there is anything else we could do to make your stay even more pleasant.
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Stayed at the Le-Meridien KK deluxe room from 18th-21st March 2011. The staffs are friendly and very very helpful. The room is clean and if you don't like the smell of cigarettes, request for a non-smoking room because the smoking floor have an aweful smell. The rooms are fine. Large and very comfy bed. in room amenities is awesome! Had a seaview room on level 6. The view offered is really breathtaking because you will have a sunset view from the comfort of your room.

I really enjoyed my stay and i am starting to miss the hotel and KK itself. :(

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptAzfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 22 March 2011
Good day Captain. Delighted you have had a great time with us and to know you miss us already. Dont worry we will be here still next time you plan to visit KK and will be determined to give you an even more pleasant experience.
Be well,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tocumwal
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Stayed for 5 nights and loved it. The staff were excellent. Breakfast was the best I've had anywhere. The pool and gym were also great, especially the pool. Thought it was a nice touch to be invited for drinks with the staff, which apparently is done every week. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueTocumwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 22 March 2011
Hello Sue thank you very much for your lovely feed-back. Happy to know you enjoyed the breakfast, it will motivate the team even further to know you describe it as the best you ever had.
Indeed the weekly "Conversations Inspired" with all of our in house guests is something which we enjoy very much and will continue.
Travel safe.
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,443 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
671 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Property: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu is a contemporary 5 star hotel, strategically located at the heart and city center of downtown Kota Kinabalu across the fresh and handicraft markets and Kota Kinabalu waterfront. Overlooking the sea, Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu features newly renovated rooms, leisure outdoor pool and sundeck with sunset pool side bar. Convenient within easy walking distance of other local attractions like Gaya Street in less than 10 minutes walk, retail and entertainment facilities in less than 20 minutes walk like Centrepoint, Suria and Imago Shopping Malls. Enjoy access to local art gallery, golf courses and other island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing