We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Nearby Hotels
US$397
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$344
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$303
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horizon Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Klagan Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$53
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sixty3(Kota Kinabalu)
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
US$52
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Grandis(Kota Kinabalu)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,345)
Filter reviews
2,345 results
Traveller rating
1,114
900
229
72
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,114
900
229
72
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnight marketspg memberthe club loungesea viewseafoodthe general managerfish marketlocal markettour deskcentral locationwet marketthe south china seaan upgradebreakfast spreaddvd playerwater frontspacious room
Filter
Updating list...
1,679 - 1,684 of 2,345 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2011

We have just returned home from the most wonderful holiday in Kota Kinabalu. We stayed at the Le Meridien for 8 nights and are so pleased that we selected this hotel instead of a resort which most travel agents recommended to us. The staff at the Le Meridien are the friendliest we have come across at any hotel we have stayed at. They are so helpful and happy to make your stay a pleasant one. The food there is delicious (breakfasts second to none) and the Flames restaurant has the best steak that we have tasted in a very long time!
You must get a sea view room as the view over the South China Sea is beautiful and the activity in the harbour is well worth watching. The hotel is central to all the major facilities and within easy walking distance to all the markets (make sure you visit the Sunday Market). We will definitely be staying at the Le Meridien again. Thank you most sincerely to all the management and staff for making our stay there so memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nivik59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2011

Really appreciate your review. Thank you for going against the flow by not following your travel agent recommendation to stay in a resort and instead chose our city resort. Most of the guests I talk to agree that staying with us make their experience in Kota Kinabalu so much more rich and interesting as they are connected with all features the destination offers. One guest from Perth told me this morning that they spent one of the afternoon in a resort to just relax and sunbath and that was a good complement to their time here. Thank you for sharing and I am sure your advices will help many more visitors to chose the best hotel for their needs.
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

My wife, myseld and another couple stayed at the Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, 9-17 May 2011. What a wonderful experience. The Hotel, accommodation was excellent. The staff that we dealt with, talked to, were friendly, helpful, pleasant and had a genuine customer focus. The Club Lounge and staff were tremendous and really looked after us. Would we go back to the Le Meridien, YES

Hank, Perth WA

Room Tip: Book a Club Room you will not regret it.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanktank4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2011

Thank you for your concise but meaningful review. Feed-backs like yours recognizing the efforts and customer focus by our team are the best motivation for us to continue looking after our valuable Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu guests. I am sure you will be back let me know so that we can meet.
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

If it's not for my aunt's "travel in style" motto, I wouldn't have even, for a split second thought of spending 3 nights in style in Le Meridien.
The main attraction for me is its perfect location. Almost every tourist attraction center is within walking distance from this hotel - Philippine Market (a.k.a Handicraft Market), Port View Restaurant (also the best port for sunset viewing), Night Market (great seafood!), shopping center (you can get some best spa package here. walk around and survey).
We stayed in a deluxe room with awesome sunset view and very spacious.Staffs were friendly and very helpful.
I was a bit worried reading from previous reviews regarding some negative comments, but fortunately we didn't experience any of it, or anything bad at all.
We had a buffet breakfast only on the second day and the food spread was beyond words. Too many choices, too little space in our tummies. I will definitely come back here for out next trip in September.
Couldn't ask for a better experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fathia-Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2011

Travel in style...we like that ! Thank you to you and your aunty for making the decision to stay with us and good to know we did not disappoint you. Location, service, view, signature breafkast...thank you for recognizing those aspects as some of the reasons why travellers like to stay with us. Looking forward to your return one day.
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

The hotel locates in the very center of the city. People could easily walk to famous night markets and seafood restaurant center. But hotel needs to pay more attention to details, especial in-room cleanness. However, hotel has a nice front office team. Reception and concierge were effective. Le Meridien KK is a nice hotel to have a rest after climbing mountain and scuba diving in Sabah.

Room Tip: Book with hotel official website.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulPang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2011

Thank you for your feed-back I see that overall you had a good time. I am however disappointed to read that room cleanliness was not up to standard and I am adressing that with our team to determine what caused the shortfall. I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Tripadvisor reviews were a major contribution to my wife and I deciding to stay here for 10 nights. We were extremely pleased with the service we received from time of check in to room 625 sea facing deluxe room to check out. We have stayed in numerous hotels around the world and we rate the service we received at this hotel the best of them all. The room was big, comfortable and well serviced. Circle restaurant for all meals had a wide spread catering for various tastes and The Lounge served a really nice high tea. Conveniently located across the road is a good shopping centre, waterfront restaurants, night markets and laundry mat. We would not hesitate a city stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ash10PerthAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2011

Very happy to read your review and how you rate us when compared to lots of other hotels you have visited around the world. That is definitely the best compliment.
Thank you for taking the time to recommend us.
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews