We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service, great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #6 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful service, great location.”
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Stayed 5 nights as part of an itinery arranged by our travel consultant. When we arrived we were offered an upgrade to a 'Club' room on the top floor, including breakfast buffet in the Club dining room on the top floor, free Internet and happy hour cocktails from 5 to 7 on the house. Our room was a little noisy and when we asked to move rooms we were given a suite room at no extra cost. Service levels were first class. Breakfast buffet was very good but a little limited in range. We didn't eat lunch or dinner so I can't rate. Would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schemmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 5 June 2011
Thank you for providing a review. Apologies for the inconvenience with the room/noise I am happy that our team was able to provide you with a satisfactory solution. Looking forward to your next visit when I hope we will be able to get that extra mark making it 5 out of 5 !
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    821
    217
    71
    30
See reviews for
392
763
116
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
München
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We stayed in the Le Meridien for four nights in the beginning of may during a trip to Borneo and a Mount Kinabalu climbing. The hotel is very good located for nice views (market, coast, islands), shopping and boat trips from the Jetty.
All facilities are in a good condition. According the platinum status at starwood we get a very nice upgrade to a suite which was very comfortable.
The staff was very friendly, espacially in the lounge.
We had breakfast and dinner in the restaurant and were very satisfied with the quality of the food.

Finally we were happy to check in again after the Mount Kinabalu climb for two more nights and to enjoy the facilities of the hotel.

We will definetely stay in the Le Meridien during our next visit to Kota Kinabalu.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torsten81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 4 June 2011
It is nice to read the review of a valuable SPG Platinum guest and I am happy to know you enjoy the benefits our great loyalty program offers.
Congratulations on making it to the top of mount Kinabalu I am happy our team helped you to recover from the effort and provided you with a relaxing stay
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

From the moment we stepped into the Le Meridien we felt at home. The staff were very friendly and helpful. As it was my birthday they upgraded us to a suite which was a really nice gesture and made me feel very special. The suite had a formal lounge with a second toilet, a bedroom and ensuite bathroom. The suite was spotless.

Complimentry water was supplied which was great.

The location of hotel is really good for exploring KK. It is right next door to a large shopping centre and across the road from the night markets. We also walked to the large new Suria shopping centre about 15 mins away.

The pool was adequate for our needs as we aren’t the type to spend all day lying in the sun. The pool attendant was very efficient. When we sat down he brought us some fresh fruit and a glass of water which was topped up regularly. The view from the pool over the night markets is really nice. There is a viewing type area above the gym that is accessed from the pool.

The gym was fully equipped with everything you needed and had lovely views over the night markets.

We ate at the main buffet restaurant but ordered A la carte, it was very nice and staff friendly and efficient.

We left early in the morning and the hotel we nice enough to prepare a breakfast box for us to take with us.

Overall a great experience. Well done Le Meridien.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobsieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 4 June 2011
Thank you for the great review. Delighted to know you have enjoyed the overall experience and noticed the little extras we provide our guests to ensure they like to stay with us and return.
Looking forward to your next visit
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2011

We have just returned home from the most wonderful holiday in Kota Kinabalu. We stayed at the Le Meridien for 8 nights and are so pleased that we selected this hotel instead of a resort which most travel agents recommended to us. The staff at the Le Meridien are the friendliest we have come across at any hotel we have stayed at. They are so helpful and happy to make your stay a pleasant one. The food there is delicious (breakfasts second to none) and the Flames restaurant has the best steak that we have tasted in a very long time!
You must get a sea view room as the view over the South China Sea is beautiful and the activity in the harbour is well worth watching. The hotel is central to all the major facilities and within easy walking distance to all the markets (make sure you visit the Sunday Market). We will definitely be staying at the Le Meridien again. Thank you most sincerely to all the management and staff for making our stay there so memorable.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nivik59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 27 May 2011
Really appreciate your review. Thank you for going against the flow by not following your travel agent recommendation to stay in a resort and instead chose our city resort. Most of the guests I talk to agree that staying with us make their experience in Kota Kinabalu so much more rich and interesting as they are connected with all features the destination offers. One guest from Perth told me this morning that they spent one of the afternoon in a resort to just relax and sunbath and that was a good complement to their time here. Thank you for sharing and I am sure your advices will help many more visitors to chose the best hotel for their needs.
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

My wife, myseld and another couple stayed at the Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, 9-17 May 2011. What a wonderful experience. The Hotel, accommodation was excellent. The staff that we dealt with, talked to, were friendly, helpful, pleasant and had a genuine customer focus. The Club Lounge and staff were tremendous and really looked after us. Would we go back to the Le Meridien, YES

Hank, Perth WA

Room Tip: Book a Club Room you will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanktank4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 27 May 2011
Thank you for your concise but meaningful review. Feed-backs like yours recognizing the efforts and customer focus by our team are the best motivation for us to continue looking after our valuable Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu guests. I am sure you will be back let me know so that we can meet.
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Dickson, Malaysia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2011

If it's not for my aunt's "travel in style" motto, I wouldn't have even, for a split second thought of spending 3 nights in style in Le Meridien.
The main attraction for me is its perfect location. Almost every tourist attraction center is within walking distance from this hotel - Philippine Market (a.k.a Handicraft Market), Port View Restaurant (also the best port for sunset viewing), Night Market (great seafood!), shopping center (you can get some best spa package here. walk around and survey).
We stayed in a deluxe room with awesome sunset view and very spacious.Staffs were friendly and very helpful.
I was a bit worried reading from previous reviews regarding some negative comments, but fortunately we didn't experience any of it, or anything bad at all.
We had a buffet breakfast only on the second day and the food spread was beyond words. Too many choices, too little space in our tummies. I will definitely come back here for out next trip in September.
Couldn't ask for a better experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fathia-Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 27 May 2011
Travel in style...we like that ! Thank you to you and your aunty for making the decision to stay with us and good to know we did not disappoint you. Location, service, view, signature breafkast...thank you for recognizing those aspects as some of the reasons why travellers like to stay with us. Looking forward to your return one day.
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2011

The hotel locates in the very center of the city. People could easily walk to famous night markets and seafood restaurant center. But hotel needs to pay more attention to details, especial in-room cleanness. However, hotel has a nice front office team. Reception and concierge were effective. Le Meridien KK is a nice hotel to have a rest after climbing mountain and scuba diving in Sabah.

Room Tip: Book with hotel official website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulPang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Thank you for your feed-back I see that overall you had a good time. I am however disappointed to read that room cleanliness was not up to standard and I am adressing that with our team to determine what caused the shortfall. I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Property: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu is a contemporary 5 star hotel, strategically located at the heart and city center of downtown Kota Kinabalu across the fresh and handicraft markets and Kota Kinabalu waterfront. Overlooking the sea, Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu features newly renovated rooms, leisure outdoor pool and sundeck with sunset pool side bar. Convenient within easy walking distance of other local attractions like Gaya Street in less than 10 minutes walk, retail and entertainment facilities in less than 20 minutes walk like Centrepoint, Suria and Imago Shopping Malls. Enjoy access to local art gallery, golf courses and other island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing