We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
perth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We had a lovely stay at the Le meridien Hotel, could not have asked for a better place to stay, Lovely clean room overlooking the ocean, very attentive & helpful staff, could not ask for more. Food was excellent also, could not have asked for anything more.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philliPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Appreciate your concise review which touches on what we believe is important for our guest, like good service and good food.
Thank you for sharing.
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    890
    831
    217
    71
    30
See reviews for
397
770
117
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We were looking for a nice hotel for our last night in KK.. and found exactly what we needed. Deluxe rooms have spectacular view and the service is great. Breakfast is generous and varied. Pool is very enjoyable during the afternoon and the sunset. Flames restaurant has great service and quality meat (although many items unavailable when we went) Only negative point : sunset cocktails are cheap (dated selection of cocktails and cheap brands of alcohol).

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilikl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Well well appreciate your useful feed-back on the unavailable items and Flames that is definitely not up to standard and although the issue was quickly resolved I must admit it is not representative of our usual efficiency in ensuring all items on our menus are ready to be served. I have taken note as well on the cocktails will surely improve our offering.
I am glad that our deluxe room provided you with a relaxing environment where to rest and enjoy the beautiful views we offer at Le Meridien.
Thank you for taking the time to review.
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

For a 5 day trip to Kota Kinabalu, we had 4 nights to stay at Le Meridien. We were on a hike up Mt Kinabalu (see our review on Trip Advisor). So we stayed in Le Meridien for 1 night, then up the mountain for the next night, then returned to Le Meridien for 3 more nights. Why did we chose it? Because there was a fantastic offer (stay 3 pay 2) and it was a Starwood Preferred Guest hotel.

Location: The location is fantastic. Its right across the road from the Philipino markets, where you can get Nasi Lemak, Mi Goreng, and a variety of seafood and chicken wings. The strange thing is that there are really only 3 areas. 1 which serves Nasi, Mi and other staple carbohydrates, the next which serves only BBQ chicken wings, and the last area which is seafood. There is nothing else! But there are about 6 chicken wing stalls, 10 seafood stalls, and they all serve IDENTICAL fare. Nasi and Mi are very cheap, about 3-4RM a plate. The seafood is notoriously expensive here. We paid up to 35RM per prawn. The hotel has a Saturday night seafood buffet for 88RM per person which looked fantastic, but we didn’t go.
It is also situated next door to a shopping centre, but I wouldn’t go shopping in KK unless you absolutely need to. There is nothing to buy in terms of fashion, electronics etc that you can’t buy in Australia or anywhere else, for that matter. The closest cinema is 500m away, or less, and it is adequate (Cathay Cineplex). We ended up going a touch further, to Suriah Sabah (5 minutes by cab, North along the coast) where we saw a movie. Seats etc were comfy but the shopping centre was nothing special.

We went to the South Sea Sanctuary massage day spa (a review of which will follow from my girlfriend soon) and that was only 2 minutes by hotel shuttle.
The hotel is about 15 minutes to Tanjung Aru which is where you go to get access to another market stall style food area. That costs RM20 to get to (about A$6.50)

Room: The first night we stayed in room 914. On the door there was a sign stating that it was a room for a SPG member. We didn’t really notice anything unusual or out of the ordinary with this room. The following 3 nights after the climb, we stayed in room 933 – this was a slightly upgraded room, not an SPG member room, and had a view of the bay. It was bigger than 914. The bed is comfy enough, no complaints. It was a full king, rather than 2 singles put together which is good, and everything was clean. Service was good, and they were quite good about tidying things up. There is ample space for your bags, a nice armchair and desk to do your paperwork/writing etc.

There is wifi and Ethernet internet. It costs A$11 (35RM) per day for usage, and is not really that high speed. Its average speed. But its fine if you need it (which we did).

The bathrobes are tiny. They didn’t fit me (5 foot 11, 82kg) at all. My girlfriend thought that they were even on the small side for her, for a robe. She’s 5 foot, and 45kg so I don’t know who they would fit!

The bathroom itself is a good size. There is a shower which leaked water all over the floor due to a poor bottom seal, but not a big deal. There is a bathtub (didn’t use) and they give you a good amenities kit, including a toothbrush, earbuds, etc etc. It was one of the best amenity kits I’d seen from a hotel.

Food:
We only tried the breakfast 1 morning and it was fantastic. It only cost 88RM for BOTH of us to have the buffet breakfast. They had everything. Chinese porridge, Western “bacon” (Not pork), Indian breakfast, custom omelettes, fruit shots, and lots of other cool things. I liked the make your own juice machine, and they had really nice danishes and even had a dessert bar for breakfast! The coffee is also a nice surprise – being quality Illy plunger-style rather than the usual average filter coffee you get in hotels. All in all, very impressed.

We had room service one night after our Mt Kinabalu climb, and it was ok. Nothing special at all, and the “ham” (substitute) is pretty ordinary. But you should just try to avoid it if you’re used to Australian Pork products. I would recommend not getting the burger – the club sandwich is better. As usual, its very expensive for what you get – but you expect that with room service.

Service:
The service is good. There is nothing out of the ordinary here. We had a very attentive concierge called Melvin. He was terrific, and always seemed to rush to come to help us at all times. Other than that, service was adequate. The girl in the small convenience shop (next to concierge) was very friendly, and eager to help. She made us feel welcome and seemed quite happy! Well done.

Advice:

- Find a deal on the SPG.com website. Sign up to be an SPG member and you will likely get an SPG room (Who knows what that gives you) but can give you access to things like pay 2, stay 3 etc.
- Tip the concierge early, and you will get good service for the rest of your trip.
- Don’t eat seafood at the Philipino markets.
- The shopping experience in KK is poor. Don’t both. The centres are large, but lifeless, and shopping attendants seem relatively bored with their jobs, and don’t really seem to want to help you. Save your time and money and shop in Singapore, HK or even Australia.


All in all, we were very happy with Le Meridien in Kota Kinabalu. It was more than adequate for our needs, and was very comfortable. Its strength is in value for money. Considering that Shangri-La in the city was offering only A$700 per night accommodation, and we got the entire stay for 3 nights for A$500 then we were more than impressed. It was clean, comfortable, and had no problems. For the available options in the area, it is 5/5. Compared to other hotels that I have stayed at recently and loved its 4/5 (compared to W Hong Kong, Naumi Singapore). Hotels I have stayed at recently: Naumi Singapore, Empire Resort Brunei, W Hong Kong, Paramount NYC, Hotel Suba International Mumbai.

Room Tip: As an SPG, we got pay 2, get 3 nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cwliew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
That was quite a review I must say and I am sure very useful to others. Thank you for highlighting the advantages of being a Starwood Preferred Guest as the SPG program has over the past several years won many awards as the best loyalty program.
I will be happy to meet you next time and discuss more on what the area has to offer for your next review.
Thank you again
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed here the night after summiting Mount Kinabalu and it was exactly what we needed. Comfortable bed, hot shower, good room service food, and best of all - a relaxing massage at the spa. Worth every ringgit!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karlito1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Congratulations on reaching the summit of Mount Kinabalu it is great to know you enjoyed the rest in the room as well as a visit to our Solace Spa.
Hope to have you back for another climb or a visit to Sabah and all the destination has to offer.
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We stayed at le Meredien in beginning of July 2011.

We fully enjoyed the stay and The Meredien is a true Meredien experience with high quality service and accomodation.

We can absolutely recommend this hotels.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thodin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience with others and happy as always to read a positive review
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

This hotel would have to be one of the nicest we have stayed in. We only paid for a standard room but chose to upgrade to a harbour view room when given the choice at check in. The extra cost was about $AUD16 a day. It was well worth it. The views were great. The rooms are very large and spacious. We arrived early in the morning and checked in immediately; they gave us a complimentary breakfast while our room was being prepared. The service from all the staff couldn't be faulted. The buffet breakfast catered to all tastes and was a good selection. The pool area is nice and relaxing and the bar sends water and fruit regardless of whether you order a drink. Every Wednesday evening guests are invited to cocktails and nibbles in the pool area hosted by the hotel managers. A PR exercise I know, but a nice touch. Returning from shopping the doormen welcome you back as if this was your home. Kota Kinabalu is still a growing tourist destination but this hotel made our trip just wonderful.

Room Tip: Pay the small extra charge and get a harbour view room. You wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank seahorsemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
I like your review a concise summary of what we are all about at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu. Thank you for noticingthe aspects which make us a good choice for holiday makers.
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Trying to ignore for a moment our $266 myr per night price tag for a suite room (yes, we got lucky) - this hotel is awesome.

Did I also mention our 266 cost included the club lounge (an intentional purchase that comes with your room booking)?

You would be mad not paying the extra few bucks for this. Free food and drinks (including beer and spirits). A 180 degree view from the 12th floor in leather chairs and luxury and no more than a room full of a dozen people. Breakfast was also included in the price with more selections than stalls at the local market!

I kid you not - all this for less than $100 a night (suite room was luck not standard).

You could realistically not spend a cracker on food or drinks each day. We had a big breakfast, ignored lunch, had beer & nibbles between 5 pm & 7 pm and then paid $3 myr across the road at the markets for a light dinner.

Service across the board was terrific.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Getgearatontrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Thank you for revealing the secret of the value for money our club level represent. And happy as well to know the service was good. Looking forward to having you back one day.
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,395 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
653 reviews
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,319 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Property: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu is a contemporary 5 star hotel, strategically located at the heart and city center of downtown Kota Kinabalu across the fresh and handicraft markets and Kota Kinabalu waterfront. Overlooking the sea, Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu features newly renovated rooms, leisure outdoor pool and sundeck with sunset pool side bar. Convenient within easy walking distance of other local attractions like Gaya Street in less than 10 minutes walk, retail and entertainment facilities in less than 20 minutes walk like Centrepoint, Suria and Imago Shopping Malls. Enjoy access to local art gallery, golf courses and other island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing