We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #6 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Burpengary
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best breakfast ever”
Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Le Meridian Kota Kinabalu before and after a Mount Kinabalu trip. The hotel was clean, the rooms were a good size with nice bathrooms. Had good views of the side street and beach from both rooms.

The breakfast was amazing. We thought our usual Bali hotel had the best in the world but the Le Meridian KK topped that. There was a range of western and Asian food as well as freshly cooked eggs, omelet, pancakes and french toast.

In addition staff called our room to check everything was ok. We added a rollout bed in one room for a friend and the staff provided plenty of extra towels etc. Often this is overlooked in other hotels. Would be pleased to stay again. Great location, great food and great staff.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie_bogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you Annie for your thumbs up on the breakast. We put a lot of efforts for continuous improvement and I am glad it is paying off.
I am glad you also noticed the good attention to details with the courtesy call after you arrived and the supply of towels.
Appreciate your encouraging review.
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    882
    822
    217
    71
    30
See reviews for
391
765
115
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Our first impression of the Le Meridien was when we got out of the car. There was this bad sewer dead fish smell...only to realize there was the Market across the street and where the fishing boats come in. We understood that it was no fault of theirs and it was nothing that should reflect on them. We were greeted very nicely...Check in was great...staff was very helpful. Rooms were very big and spacious, but.... the bathroom shower was full of black mold and mildew...even around the rim of the toilet and tub. I can understand a little...but it was pretty bad. I washed the bottom of the shower because it still had hair around the drain. The whole bathroom needed a good bleaching....very, very disappointing. Bathroom also had a smell coming from the drain like sewer and the pool area had the same smell. We also had a problem with the electrical outlet at the desk area in the room. We reported it to the front desk and the fixed it right away. Which was a plus side for them. We used some Sheraton points to upgrade to the Club lounge, Which we were glad we did...all of the staff were very nice and helpful and the sunset view from the lounge was amazing. The restaurant food downstairs was so so. The wait staff was good and attentive.
It was disappointing to us that the cleanliness of the bathroom took away from the positive side of our stay. Therefore I don't think we will be staying at the Le Meridien KK again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CnCsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thank you for bringing this up. Cleanliness of guest rooms and bathrooms is paramount for us and it is disappointing that this has happened to you despite the series of standards in have in place. After reading your review today we are re-emphasizing the issue with all our housekeeping attendants to explain how vital is for us to ensure we provide all of our guests with the most comfortable facilities.
I understand your experience has marred your impression on our hotel, however if you are reading this please get in contact with me through the general hotel email so that I can explain you how much we would love you to return allowing us to show you our true quality.
Kindest regards,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. The staff are all super helpful and friendly, and it's right opposite the markets and waterfront and all the restaurants. The hotel itself is pretty big although I would say the decor is now looking a bit dated. We ordered room service one night and it arrived within 30 min and was very nice. We found the food and drink in the hotel a bit expensive so went over to the waterfront restaurants each night - a lot cheaper and much more variety.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you Lucy for sharing your impressions we are happy you had a pleasant experience and took advantage of our privileged location offering so much variety.
Looking forward to welcoming you back one day.
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Our trip to Kota Kinabalu to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniverary was amazing. Le Meridien is a wonderful hotel. The staff are fantastic - helpful and treat you like one of the family - we were there for 7 nights. The breakfast is amazing, our tenth floor sea view room was huge, beautifully appointed and gave us lovely sunsets and night time views of the market below. The pool is great - beautifully maintained with a great bar and staff who provide you with iced water and fresh fruit. Everything about this hotel relects their caring attitude and friendly disposition. We would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel - in fact we have just returned but thought we would like at other Le Meridien hotels to see where we might venture for our 30th wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkEngland1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thank you Mark for your wonderful feed-back, the ideal motivation for us to continue provide the kind of service which we are renowned for.
We will be waiting for your return one day
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, W.Sussex, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Great hotel. We booked with expedia and got a great rate! The staff are really helpful and friendly. A special thanks to Mark, a really helpful guy on reception. Beautiful views from the room, Really clean, spacious room, well appointed.

Go for the upgrade to a club package on arrival. It's well worth the money. You get breakfast, afternoon tea and happy hour drinks ( as much as you can drink) with hot and cold delicious canopes, for 150 RM for 2 per day.

Take breakfast downstairs in the main restaurant - there is a much bigger selection available, very yummy.

The pool is lovely, although the jacuzzi is cold, rather than a hot tub!

Good location, near the malls, and a short cab ride away from the boats for island hopping.
Opposite the phillipino night Market, although we didn't really like the Market!

Room Tip: Sea view is a good choice, although being at the front of the hotel sea view rooms are noisier if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thank you for your full marks on your stay and for acknowledging the great service provided by Mark who indeed is a great asset to the team.
I promise you that if you come back we will organize some gallons of hot water to give you the experience you were looking for at the open air jacuzzi.
Regards,
alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We booked Le Meridien as a treat after camping in the rainforests. It ticked all the 5* boxes, and while it didn't blow us away in any single respect it was overall very relaxing. Service was great, quality of the rooms etc was good, and the location is very central and perfect for enjoying the night markets.

Value for money was good as the club room we booked was heavily discounted through an online booking service. The drinks offered in the lounge were a little limited, one type of wine per colour and basic spirits which weren't always available, but the food was delicious.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petite_pommie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Happy you liked your experience with us but of course concerned about the lack of generosity with regard to the wines and spirits at the club lounge. This has now been rectified and we are back where we should be. Thank you for your help in pointing that out.
Regards,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Excellent property, centrally located with very helpful staff and very good facilities.

It is everything you would expect from the brand, and I would struggle to find fault with anything.

I had a sea view room which was very large, creating an atmosphere which is at once both relaxing and welcoming. I wish I could have stayed longer but time sadly would not allow.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millergeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear Geoff, you kept it short and to the point and I will do the same.
Thank you!
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Property: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu is a contemporary 5 star hotel, strategically located at the heart and city center of downtown Kota Kinabalu across the fresh and handicraft markets and Kota Kinabalu waterfront. Overlooking the sea, Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu features newly renovated rooms, leisure outdoor pool and sundeck with sunset pool side bar. Convenient within easy walking distance of other local attractions like Gaya Street in less than 10 minutes walk, retail and entertainment facilities in less than 20 minutes walk like Centrepoint, Suria and Imago Shopping Malls. Enjoy access to local art gallery, golf courses and other island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing