We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #2 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Fantastic when comparing to other hotels in this area, however not as good as some of the Le Meridiens I have stayed at. Hotel is good for a 4 star rating. Rooms were nice and clean but not super modern. Service was first class and breakfast was unbelievably good! The cocktails are also worth a mention! mmm I think this is a safe option for Kota Kinabalu, and the hotel is well located.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vessi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Thank you for sharing your pleasant experience and your compliments on our service and breakfast. Our classic design will certainly be reviewed in the future when our guest rooms will be refurbished to give it a more contemporary Le Meridien feel.
It is great to know you will return and recommend us.
Regards,
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,380 - 1,386 of 2,204 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed on the club floor which is probably a wise move. The hotel is very central and comfortable. It has a nice pool but could do with a bit more shade areas as the sun is quite intense. Plenty of restaurants to choose from but also a city full of fine food to discover

Room Tip: Aim for a waterfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelsiePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Thank you Melsie and I cannot disagree with you the sea facing club and deluxe rooms are special.
Happy travels
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Good hotel, spacious room, helpful and polite service staff, but it needs some redecoration and/ or refurbishments, currently looking a little bit used and abused. Rating should be lower than displayed 5* and definitely, price the same.

Room Tip: Higher floors (11, 12) are on the Club category.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GIL28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Thank you for your review. I am certainly disappointed that we were only partially able to compensate your sentiments on the hotel decor with the good service and other pluses.
I still hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kindest regards,
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed at Le Meridian Kota Kinabalu before and after a Mount Kinabalu trip. The hotel was clean, the rooms were a good size with nice bathrooms. Had good views of the side street and beach from both rooms.

The breakfast was amazing. We thought our usual Bali hotel had the best in the world but the Le Meridian KK topped that. There was a range of western and Asian food as well as freshly cooked eggs, omelet, pancakes and french toast.

In addition staff called our room to check everything was ok. We added a rollout bed in one room for a friend and the staff provided plenty of extra towels etc. Often this is overlooked in other hotels. Would be pleased to stay again. Great location, great food and great staff.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Annie_bogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Thank you Annie for your thumbs up on the breakast. We put a lot of efforts for continuous improvement and I am glad it is paying off.
I am glad you also noticed the good attention to details with the courtesy call after you arrived and the supply of towels.
Appreciate your encouraging review.
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Our first impression of the Le Meridien was when we got out of the car. There was this bad sewer dead fish smell...only to realize there was the Market across the street and where the fishing boats come in. We understood that it was no fault of theirs and it was nothing that should reflect on them. We were greeted very nicely...Check in was great...staff was very helpful. Rooms were very big and spacious, but.... the bathroom shower was full of black mold and mildew...even around the rim of the toilet and tub. I can understand a little...but it was pretty bad. I washed the bottom of the shower because it still had hair around the drain. The whole bathroom needed a good bleaching....very, very disappointing. Bathroom also had a smell coming from the drain like sewer and the pool area had the same smell. We also had a problem with the electrical outlet at the desk area in the room. We reported it to the front desk and the fixed it right away. Which was a plus side for them. We used some Sheraton points to upgrade to the Club lounge, Which we were glad we did...all of the staff were very nice and helpful and the sunset view from the lounge was amazing. The restaurant food downstairs was so so. The wait staff was good and attentive.
It was disappointing to us that the cleanliness of the bathroom took away from the positive side of our stay. Therefore I don't think we will be staying at the Le Meridien KK again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CnCsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Thank you for bringing this up. Cleanliness of guest rooms and bathrooms is paramount for us and it is disappointing that this has happened to you despite the series of standards in have in place. After reading your review today we are re-emphasizing the issue with all our housekeeping attendants to explain how vital is for us to ensure we provide all of our guests with the most comfortable facilities.
I understand your experience has marred your impression on our hotel, however if you are reading this please get in contact with me through the general hotel email so that I can explain you how much we would love you to return allowing us to show you our true quality.
Kindest regards,
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. The staff are all super helpful and friendly, and it's right opposite the markets and waterfront and all the restaurants. The hotel itself is pretty big although I would say the decor is now looking a bit dated. We ordered room service one night and it arrived within 30 min and was very nice. We found the food and drink in the hotel a bit expensive so went over to the waterfront restaurants each night - a lot cheaper and much more variety.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank LucyJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you Lucy for sharing your impressions we are happy you had a pleasant experience and took advantage of our privileged location offering so much variety.
Looking forward to welcoming you back one day.
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Our trip to Kota Kinabalu to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniverary was amazing. Le Meridien is a wonderful hotel. The staff are fantastic - helpful and treat you like one of the family - we were there for 7 nights. The breakfast is amazing, our tenth floor sea view room was huge, beautifully appointed and gave us lovely sunsets and night time views of the market below. The pool is great - beautifully maintained with a great bar and staff who provide you with iced water and fresh fruit. Everything about this hotel relects their caring attitude and friendly disposition. We would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel - in fact we have just returned but thought we would like at other Le Meridien hotels to see where we might venture for our 30th wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkEngland1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Thank you Mark for your wonderful feed-back, the ideal motivation for us to continue provide the kind of service which we are renowned for.
We will be waiting for your return one day
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,513 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
297 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
728 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £89 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu is a contemporary 5 star hotel, strategically located at the heart and city center of downtown Kota Kinabalu across the fresh and handicraft markets and Kota Kinabalu waterfront. Overlooking the sea, Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu features newly renovated rooms, leisure outdoor pool and sundeck with sunset pool side bar. Convenient within easy walking distance of other local attractions like Gaya Street in less than 10 minutes walk, retail and entertainment facilities in less than 20 minutes walk like Centrepoint, Suria and Imago Shopping Malls. Enjoy access to local art gallery, golf courses and other island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing