We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city base for a Holiday in Kota Kinabalu, Sabah”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Had an enjoyable one night stay at the Le Meridien.The location is smack center in downtownm and within easy walking distance to seafood restaurants and stalls on the waterfront. As I stayed in a suite, had access to the Club Lounge which is a standout with sweeping views of sea and islands. The buffet breakfast in the mornings has a good spread, and they make excellent Illy coffees.
Some of the fittings and furniture may not be what you expect in a 5 Star Hotel; but overall recommended

Room Tip: The club Lounge is recommended if only for its scenic ambience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sodesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Thank you for recommending us, hope your next stay will be a little longer so that you can experience more of our services.
Regards,
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,381 - 1,387 of 2,228 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2012

There is a almost 24 hours opens local market, souviner stall and food stalls right in front of the hotel. From the seaview rooms, you can sit and watch the sunset and seeing all those fisherman boat coming back to the shore, very nice and romantic.

I arrived at the weekend and the hotel is fully booked, it took sometimes for them to get the room ready but the service is relatively fast. Staffs were friendly and helpful too.

The room is spacious and well maintained. Nothing much to complain about.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NeeNee_Cho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Hello NeeNee
I am happy not only there was nothing to complain about -already a big achievements for many hotels - but you also enjoyed the combination of privileged location, stunning views and friendly service.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you back next visit
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

After staying at the Pacific Sutera for the first half of the week on business, we moved over to this hotel for the rest of our R&R. Although we experienced some inconveniences (listed below), my overall impression of this hotel is stellar.

At check-in, our receptionist, Farrah, took excellent care of us with utmost hospitality. While checking us in, she noted our conversation regarding hotel loyalty points (since we have not been too pleased about our IHG experiences) and took the opportunity to share with us about the Starwood Preferred Guest membership. She was prompt to note our requests. When she realized our reservations did not come with breakfast and internet she actually stepped out of the reception area to stand by our side in order to explain the breakdown and what priveleges we would be accorded if we 'topped-up'. She didn't mind when we turned it down - we were out very early most days seeing the sights. She also took the time to explain that staying at the hotel provided complimentary entry to one of the art galleries in the city.

We were miserable the first night because either the neighbours' door or in-room safe kept turning and clicking, keeping us up all night. The next morning, we had to head out really early so we only got back to reception about this in the evening. They wern't able to resolve this problem immediately. Instead of having us wait, they informed us that they would get this settled in a few hours and if we would come back after dinner. At that time, they didn't have a room according to our specification and request, but when we returned from dinner; they not only resolved the problem, the room was bigger than the first one and we had got a room with a sea-view.

Throughout this time, I found found the pillows provided either too hard or too soft for my head to rest comfortably on so when I called on them for another pillow, I realized my request "not too hard - but not too soft either" would be rather difficult to please. But they came with a few pillows and I ended up with a very comfortable latex one.

On our last evening, we checked out and approached Farrah at the desk again since we felt her service was exemplary and once again we were pleased. She took care of us well, explained all the in-room charges and was more than happy to acede to our requests for the SPG membership.

While the hotel may not be spanking new and the facilities are par for the course, I thought the service provided was great. Goes to show that this line is really about the staff's hospitality which can make a difference.

One other things we really liked
- the room came with a voucher for 2 complimentary illy coffees at the lounge which we used one late afternoon to take in the sunset.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thechilibuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Thank you for your very insightful review. A lot of areas for us to be proud of, but of course as you said the service is what set us apart and rest assured Farah has been acknowledged for her great efforts and I have asked her to share with all guest services colleagues how to make the difference by stepping out the impersonal counter and connect genuinely with our guests.
Reaching for the stars is one of our say and your description of stellar service is a great encouragement !
Regards,
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Great location by the waterfront, the shops are all walking distance, restaurants and markets straight across the road. The rooms were very clean, service was great, pool area was nice although occasionally smelt quite fishy. Buffet breakfast was very nice. Entertainment in the lounge was quite good, although it was the same night after night. We arranged for a early pre-packed breakfast one morning and for the hotel to mind all our luggage whilst we climbed Mt kinabalu, which they did so with no issues. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fi101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

It is lovely to read so many good reasons for you to return on your next visit to Kota Kinabalu. Thank you for helping us by telling others.
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Warm and friendly people. Rooms are beginning show their age, but are quite big. Food is great and the spread is quite extensive. Had a problem getting poached eggs for breakfast but it's a minor blemish.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anisen943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Happy to know you found our service genuine and friendly that is one of our biggest trademarks and something which our returning guests appreciate.
We should be much better with the morning eggs and I am sorry we did not get it write when you stayed with us.
Regards,
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

This is my >20th time staying at Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien, and this hotel has yet to disappoint in any aspect of its hospitality. Reception provides top quality welcoming service as checking in is always hassle-free. Up till the most recent stay, the reception staff will go at length to ensure my room of choice is provided...all this top class courtesy just to entertain a guest staying on government rates :-) Despite her age, Le Meridien's spacious rooms still manage to maintain her 'home away from home' aura with the fine taste in terms of interior decor, for both the living and bathrooms. Apart from all these comforts and service, the strategic central location makes it the best business/city hotel by my account. And of course, the fact that this hotel makes me feel like I'm their most important guest, during all those stays from way back 2005, tops everything else. This is THE hotel in Kota Kinabalu if you want to stay in the city.

Room Tip: Any deluxe seaview rooms from 8th floor onwards will reward guests stunning seaview and mesmerizing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DendangPerantau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2012

Hello Glen thank you for providing some good feed-back. It is unfortunate that you experienced a situation where nobody was at the door to assist that is definitely not our standard and something which I am adressing with the team. The early check in can be a challenge especially whenever we are at full occupancy and that is quite common for us. We do have a system in place to keep the waiting time to a minimum till check in time at 3pm and I am sorry we couldn't do better this time.
I am happy to know you were pleased with the breakfast experience.
Thank you
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I stayed in this hotel for three nights. At one point there was nobody at the main door entrance to assist the guest arriving and departing. Considering its reputation it should not be the case.

Check-in around 12PM but end up having my room at around 2PM. This maybe due to availability, but some hotel offer guest with early check-in.

-If you are in for the sand and the sun this may not be the nearest.....

-the gym and pool area is sea view.. if you love sunset its perfect for you....

-with just right out side the hotel is a market which you can buy lots of local food stuff etc...

- if you love seafood there is an array of choices nearby...

- Bfast is awesome, they have specific corner for fresh fruit juice. I like the salad bar though.

Room Tip: room with sea view is perfect but be prepared to pay extra :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Hello Glen thank you for sharing. It is definitely not representative of our high standards to have the entrance unattended and we have since put in place new procedures to minimize the lack of coverage during the times when our team members are looking after guests. The check in time is 3pm and one of our priority is to focus on the critical check-out/check-in time to turn around a maximum number of rooms as we do understand the importance of a smooth and relaxing check-in. The high occupancy we enjoy throughout the year make us one of the most popular hotel and on some days it can be challenging and when that happens we make sure Roy the barman is ready with a few fresh drinks or the one and only Illy cappuccinos....
Let me know when you next visit and I will be happy to say hi to you.
Regards
Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,533 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,440 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
745 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £87 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu is a contemporary 5 star hotel, strategically located at the heart and city center of downtown Kota Kinabalu across the fresh and handicraft markets and Kota Kinabalu waterfront. Overlooking the sea, Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu features newly renovated rooms, leisure outdoor pool and sundeck with sunset pool side bar. Convenient within easy walking distance of other local attractions like Gaya Street in less than 10 minutes walk, retail and entertainment facilities in less than 20 minutes walk like Centrepoint, Suria and Imago Shopping Malls. Enjoy access to local art gallery, golf courses and other island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing