We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will I come again?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Will I come again?”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Had a stay for six days during June. On the first day I got a terrible room with the locker and tv not working as functioned. After changing the room to higher level, it's better. And don't need to wait for a long time on changing room.

There is free wifi in lobby, but the speed is v slow. There should be free internet connection in hotel as most hotel do this.

Cleanliness is fine but ventilation in bathroom is not working well, I could not dry my clothes after 1 day. Especially when there's many watersports in Kota Kinabalu.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
I understand your sentiments as I believe we can do better and there are no excuses for some of the facilities not to function as they should. My apologies for that.
I am happy we improved with the second room you experienced. If you decide to come back to Kota Kinabalu let us know and I am sure we will give you the type of experience which make us priority choice for travellers wanting an upscale hotel in a great location.
Kindest regards,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    889
    830
    217
    71
    30
See reviews for
396
769
117
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cabarita Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed here recently for three nights and its one of the better KK places , a bit more expensive than a few others but with the dollar conversion very afordable it was around 295 RM a night so $91 AUS .The lobby is huge but inviting and the staff are all very efficient and friendly, check in and out is fast.The rooms are huge and as you would expect from a place of this type appointed with all the luxury items, ensuite is modern and large, the pool area is nice and service there is good, once again one of the few that had chardonnay on offer. yeah. Breakfast is a buffet type with alot of variety and of a high standard, we walked out for dinner as its location is easy walking to the city area , also its opposite the markets where there is a variety of souvenirs, foods , fruits etc. We stayed in three hotels inKK with different star ratings this was the best by a long way but the Horizon Hotel not far away was cheaper but also very good and modern, then the Myne hotel which doesnt rate compared to these two, see review.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank showpony62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Thank you for sharing a few of the reasons why you felt our hotel was the best choice and good value for money. We are happy you were not disappointed.
Thank you
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed at the Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu in June when I was in Kota Kinabalu for work. I have stayed there several times over the last few years. It is a comfortable and clean place to stay. The rooms are huge and clean. I like the set-up of the rooms with the really comfortable beds and a reading chair that allows one to read by the window, especially if you have a seafront room.
The buffet breakfast at the Circle restaurant is one of the best I have had. Lots of choices ranging from healthy muesli to local delights like roti canai and nasi lemak. I particularly like the way coffee is served in an individual coffee plunger. Other meals are good too, this is an improvement from when the hotel first started its operations and were serving food that did not match the price charged. I have to give the chef credit for the change. Try the ox-tail assam pedas.
The Lounge is an ideal place to unwind after a hard's day travel, work or sight seeing. The atmosphere is nice and the music good. The drinks are well made and you will receive free coffee for two from a coupon found in the room.
The drawbacks that I have experienced throughout my stays there have been that the lobby can be rather dark in the evening as the hotel turns down the lights quite a bit to give it a 'romantic' feel, no free internet in the room and very slow free wifi at the lobby area.
Things to look out for, a great sunset over the South China Sea and ease to clubs at the waterfront in the evenings.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingCow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Thank you for your overall positive review. Indeed we are trying to give it a more stylish feel at the lobby by using candles, I am sorry that you did not feel comfortable with it.
We have recently increased the internet speed and I am sure the next time you visit you will see a difference.
Kindest regards,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed here in my last trip down to KK despite having a bad experience in my prior trip at the same hotel a month or so earlier. But thanks to the attentiveness of Alex Riva the GM and his Duty Manager Mr Suresh and his team, you guys really made my stay a memorable one. In terms of service, you are top in KK! I had a very comfortable stay this time round, and the ambience of the hotel has always been a big draw again. Pls thank the chefs as well, the buffet was fantastic! (had breakfast and dinner), the service in exec lounge immaculate as well. Will be back here during Raya next month. Thanks again to Alex and his team, top class!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Dear Kalv
thank you so much for giving us an opportunity to redeem ourselves on your last visit. I can't find your name on the booking list yet please let me know when you will be staying so that I can meet you personally.
Thank you
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Enjoyed our stay at the Le Meridien hotel in June, we had a deluxe room which looked onto the evening markets and beautiful sunsets, rooms were spacious and very comfortable. The Staff are very friendly and very professional, the breakfast buffet was great, staff remember what coffees you like after only taking your order once which was truly amazing considering they see so many hotel guest come and go. The little eye opener shots they serve before you go into breakfast was something to look forward to as they have different flavours everyday, and they really do wake you up. The location of the hotel is very central, close to shops and restaurants and markets.

Room Tip: ask for high floor and non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c1deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you for highlighting so many good reasons why you enjoyed your stay with us. Our eye opener are indeed something many of our guests look forward before getting ready for our extensive breakfast experience.
All the best,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Have just returned from KK. The hotel very good. The staff fantastic , nothing was too much trouble. Would stay there again. Loved it........

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynette k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Hello Lynette thank you so much for your glowing reviews and for showing your appreciation towards our team positive attitude and excellent service.
Happy travels,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Check in was very fast and efficient. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are very spacious and clean and the hotel is in a great location, opposite is the fish market which sometimes puts an off smell to the hotel but that would be the only downside of the hotel. The pool has a nice view which is hard to see sometimes because of all the trees in the way and the gym has sufficient equipment. The tour guide company near reception were also helpful booking tours for us and made a better deal as we booked quite a few tours with them. The flames restaurant in the hotel was amazing, the food was first class and it was my partners birthday and the staff in the restaurant organised a surprise birthday cake for him which was really thoughtful! Would definately be coming back to this hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki_1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Hello Nikki thank you for your thumbs up. I am particularly pleased with the team attitude and the care shown to you during the dinner at our Flames steak restaurant.
Delighted to see you will be back without hesitation next time your will be in Kota Kinabalu.
Regards,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,394 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
653 reviews
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,318 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Property: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu is a contemporary 5 star hotel, strategically located at the heart and city center of downtown Kota Kinabalu across the fresh and handicraft markets and Kota Kinabalu waterfront. Overlooking the sea, Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu features newly renovated rooms, leisure outdoor pool and sundeck with sunset pool side bar. Convenient within easy walking distance of other local attractions like Gaya Street in less than 10 minutes walk, retail and entertainment facilities in less than 20 minutes walk like Centrepoint, Suria and Imago Shopping Malls. Enjoy access to local art gallery, golf courses and other island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing