We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Rooms clean, great service and friendly staff all for a very affordable rate. Close to the airport and even closer to all the nightlife. We had a great stay. Prices for meals and drinks at the hotel were exceptional given the very friendly service and staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Hello Brett thank you for your thumbs up I am happy to know you found your stay great value for money overall.
Happy travels
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    889
    829
    217
    71
    30
See reviews for
396
769
117
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Barker, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

My teenage daughter and I stayed for a week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was very spacious and we both had a queen bed, the bathroom was also spacious. The room also had a DVD player which was great in evenings for watching movies.
The hotel is very central, walking distance to the waterfront restaurants and shopping malls, which have supermarkets and money changers within them. If you do need to get a taxi they are very cheap.
The hotel breakfast was the best I've had, what a selection, could have stayed there eating for a few hours!!
The pool was a great size as was the gym. The only down side of the gym was it was quite hot, and especially in the afternoon when the afternoon sun was coming in the windows.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesMyFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
If you felt in haven staying with us well I guess there is not much more I can do....
But yes indeed we can improve the temperature at the gym and we believe that was rectified a couple of weeks ago.
Looking forward to welcoming you back with your entire family next time.
Regards,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Well located for those who prefer to investigate the city. Close to markets - seafood, handycraft, all the shoping centres are in walking distance. Good view to KK embankment from the lounge at 12 floor.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natlario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you Natasha for finding our location ideal for the ones who want to explore the city and have a good feeling of the local people way of life.
Looking forward to more visitors from St Petersburg.
Regards,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I arrived at this hotel late afternoon after a days scuba diving, my boyfriend had already checked in earlier that day. The staff didn't seem very keen to help me and I had to wait a while to speak to someone. Once I got to the reception desk and they realised my boyfriend was a 'preferred' guest they changed immediately. It seemed that it now no longer mattered that I was wearing board shorts and a t shirt. That said, the rest of the staff were very nice during our stay. We had afternooon tea and h'ors deuves on an afternoon which was included in the room price. All very tasty and varied. The room was really clean and comfortable, except the foam pillows which were hard. But in fairness, that's not a big deal. Hotel has excellent position in KK next to the night market and waterfront. Would definitely visit again! Shame you might get occasionally looked down on because you're not wearing a suit and a Rolex!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suki29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you for sharing with us the way you felt in regard on how slow we reacted to your arrival and simple request to be given a key. Our apologies for that, let me tell you that we pride ourselves as the leading holiday hotel in the city and that means we do love guests from all over the globe and of any age and of all interests bringing them to Sabah. So divers, backpackers, trekkers, mountaineers, bird watchers, shoppers, under-umbrella-nappers....please all more than welcome to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu !
Thank you for the oppurtinity you gave us to make that clear to everyone :)
Regards,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at Le Meridien during our honeymoon - it was an INCREDIBLE experience that we hadn't expected at all. As an SPG member, we are used to the added extras that come through that program, however what we got at Le Meridien was like nothing else we'd experienced before.

We accepted the "upgrade" at the desk which provides internet, club access, and nightly appetizers and drinks - if given the offer, be sure to accept, it quickly pays for itself!

We were also THRILLED to be upgraded to a suite on the 11th floor facing the South China Sea. We couldn't believe how beautiful the room was!

To add to our enjoyment we spent both nights in the Club on the 12th floor and found the Club Manager (Mazlan) to be a wonderful resource for the hotel, and for our honeymoon in the KK area! His advice on what to see and where to go was dead-on..

When given the chance to be back in KK, there will be no choice where to stay - KK Le Meridien all the way!

Room Tip: 1) Accept the upgrade at the desk - this comes with internet, food and drinks. 2) If you aren't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FromtheWindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Greetings to windy Chicago from the Sabah, the land below the winds....
I am delighted the team and especially Mazlan went the extra mile to make your honemoon the most memorable. I am sure that from now to the golden anniversary there will be many opportunity to welcome you back. And this time the "pleasure will be ours" .
Regards,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Overall a very pleasant stay. We had a very smooth check-in process. Arrived in the evening and were immediately taken to the room. Lovely views from the 10th floor and consistent with other reviewers' comments, the rooms are very spacious and tidy. Love the complimentary bottled water and generous toiletries.

The location of the hotel is close to everything. Only 10min from the airport by taxi, walking distance to plenty of shops and restaurants. The night market and Filipino market is only across the road, plus only 20min walk to Jesselton Point ferry terminal.

Buffet breakfast was a great location. We especially liked the fresh juice station and made-on-the-spot eggs and pancakes. There was something for everyone at this buffet from continental to American to local Asian fare.

We must comment that the service at the hotel was brilliant! Everyone was very friendly and helpful, everyone! We want to give special thanks to Hiza who served us at the formal dining room on one of our dinners. She is an excellent waitress and were so surprised that she remembered us and our son (probably from one of the previous buffet meals). Her service was impeccable and flawless and we were very impressed to receive this level of service in Asia - normally what one may expect from a 5-star silver service restaurant in a western country.

The hotel pool was not bad. We would have preferred a bit more shade in the pool as the sun is very strong. But there is enough shade under the building if you want to sit and read a book. We must say that the Cheese Burger was great (available by the pool and room service)! A really nice big beef patty with good quality cheese and nice fries. Plus its a nice touch to have complimentary ice water consistently refilled by the pool waiters.

The hotel was very packed during our stay due to a conference group, followed by another group of golf tournament competitors. So we could not secure a connecting room but had rooms next to each other.

All in all, a good stay with Le Meridien. Yes we would recommend it as a good 4.5 star city hotel and would certainly come back here again. So if you want location, good service and walking distance to everything then this is your place. However, if you're after a proper beach resort with huge grounds or a kids club, then somewhere else might be better for you.

Room Tip: Deluxe seafacing room has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheParrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you to The Parrys for sharing the overall positive experience. I am particularly pleased that Hiza did it again in providing a memorable dinner for you at our Flames steak restaurant.
I am also happy that your found the service in general of high standard as that is the best compliment and motivation for us to continue to stay the leading holiday hotel in the city.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Check in wasn't smooth. I came together with my colleague for the conference, and our bookings were confirmed for king size bed. The reception told us no more king size bed room, only 2 double bed room is available. I insisted it as reservation was confirmed for 2 rooms with the king size bed. After we insist, the reception finally gave us 2 king size bed rooms? It was ridiculous, wasn't it? Why did she say that no king size bed room was available. But can manage to get 2 rooms with king size bed. It is not nice to tell guests so??? So my rating for service is low.

Maybe I am not used to with hotel standard in Malaysia. But this Le Meridien here is old and outdated. Swimming pool is old style, and there is no beach at this hotel. Air con was broken down on my last night stay.

The location is closed to street shopping and shopping nearby. It is not suitable for vacation if you consider flying far away here. You will want to stay closer to the beach with this kind of budget. So my rating for location is poor since I am here in KK.

If you are planning for family vacation, go else where better. It is not a hotel for vacation, but mainly business in KK.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kornkit T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexRiva, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear Khun Kornkit
Thank you for your feed-back and our apologies for the unprofessional room reservation arrangements I do understand that experience was not the best start to your stay.
Indeed we do not have a beach or a resort-style pool so our advantage is our great location connected to everything as well as the great views of the ocean. A good third of our clientele is here on holiday and they appreciate being in the middle of the action and connected to the local way of life. I am sorry that you were expecting a different experience and little could be done by our team to accommodate your preferences.
Kindest regards,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,393 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
653 reviews
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,317 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Property: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu is a contemporary 5 star hotel, strategically located at the heart and city center of downtown Kota Kinabalu across the fresh and handicraft markets and Kota Kinabalu waterfront. Overlooking the sea, Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu features newly renovated rooms, leisure outdoor pool and sundeck with sunset pool side bar. Convenient within easy walking distance of other local attractions like Gaya Street in less than 10 minutes walk, retail and entertainment facilities in less than 20 minutes walk like Centrepoint, Suria and Imago Shopping Malls. Enjoy access to local art gallery, golf courses and other island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing