We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Transit stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #5 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Transit stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here while on transit to a connecting flight.
The hotel is located in town. That said, it is not that far from the airport. About 15mins at 1 am weekday.
The room has adequate space and looks good.
I had to catch up on work and realised that i haven't got a pen. A call to housekeeping and within 5 minutes, they are at my door to deliver the pen. This is at 2 am. Good service.
I was out of the hotel by 6 am to catch my flight.
I did not manage to try other facilities nor breakfast.
I had a good sleep and wouldn't mind staying here again ... hopefully not just for transit.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank aarbain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Hello aarbain,

Thank you for your review, next time you must take time to stay a little longer than a transit stay!

Wishing you all the best!

Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    868
    814
    216
    71
    30
See reviews for
386
757
114
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed here for three nights, we arrived noon and we get to check in. That made our day as we were travelling with two young children that really needed some rest. Excellent free wi-fi connection at the lobby. We got a pleasantly clean and comfortable quite room at the eight floor which was not dated. As well as good house keeping service from its staff. Overall courteous and good service from all its staff that we dealth with from the time we checked in till checked out. Good variety at buffet breakfast as well something for vegetarians too. We also enjoyed dinner at the hotel except for my spouse since the vegetarian choice on the menu seems limited. Locations is perfect, opposite is the Filipino market. Gaya street nearby, jesselton jetty is walking distant. Lots of restaurants nearby. Nice decent swimming pool, the management should consider to provide a children changing room like the one they have at lobby. It was exciting to watch the sunset right from the swimming pool area!. Will stay here again for our next trip to Kota Kinabalu.

Room Tip: We didnt but dont miss a sea view room , the sunset was faboulus!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Hi akll76,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with others on your recent trip to KK! I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, specially as you were travelling with small children.

Please do let our staff know when you come back that your spouse is vegetarian . We do try though it's sometimes we don't have the variety to cater to all preferences, so our team are very used to creating something special just ask!

Great feedback on the swimming pool and sunsets thank you, we are just about to embark on installing an outdoor shower beside the pool which is missing at the moment. We do have change rooms available inside, though perhaps these were not easily seen - something I will look at with our team.

Thank you so sharing, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We upgraded to Le Meridien and we weren't disappointed. Whilst the rooms are starting to age they aren't as dated as others make out. What they are is enormous (SPG preferred rooms 9th floor). Spacious room, bed and bathroom. Divine. What we really noticed was the excellent service from the staff. Particularly the food and beverage staff. We had access to the Club lounge and viewing the sunsets from there with afternoon drinks and appetizers was lovely. We chose to have most breakfasts and one dinner at the main buffet and were overwhelmed with choices. It caters for Western and Asian palettes. There is a very slight bias to the Asian taste but hey, this is an Asian country and obviously no pork products were offered. Perhaps this doesn't bother us as we are expats living in Asia and no longer expect to see bacon at breakfast. The hotel is close to the Waterfront restaurants, a wet market and night market. We loved walking through the markets, always new things to see.
Others have commented on hall and room smells. We actually noted as family that it wasn't a musty hotel like we have encountered in other cities. And we had no issues in the room with smells or maintenance problems.
All in all, whilst more expensive than we usually pay for hotels we feel the service from staff and the extras we got in the club were worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Hello Donna,

Great feedback thank you from your recent stay with us.

Please do come back and visit us again soon as you are so close only in Singapore!

Warm regards,

Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights from 20/9 to 22/9

Rooms
Its spacious but generally old fashioned. Renovation is required really!

Gym
They operate from 6 to 10, this is very inconvenient. They should open 24/7 given that other spg hotel also open 24/7 in other country.

Housekeeping
Not so good as i found ant over the table and there was ant clawing over my body when I was sleeping! Further, I found hair and dust under the work table in our room. Impovment is required!

Service
Better than other hotel in Malaysia! Front desk staffs are nice!

Transport
There should be shuttle bus to and from airport provided by the hotel! The taxi in KK is way over priced! Solely base on the high transportation costs, I will never go back to Malaysia! I would rather go to Thailand or Bali anf spent the transportation costs on a better accommodation!

Conclusion
Good location, but renovation is needed! Unless you have no other choice to come to KK, you stay in this average hotel, otherwise do not even visit Malaysia, you will end up spending all on petrol!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKKMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Hello KKKMo,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay with us.

The good news is that we are in the stages of planning for a renovation that will start in 2014, which will refresh the lobby, restaurants and guest rooms! Our focus at the moment in the guest rooms is to ensure that we have very clean and comfortable rooms for our guests, this is something that we clearly failed on in your case. I do hope you either notified one of our staff or if you could send me a personal note to notify me your room number so we can address and retain our housekeeping team on this floor.

Whilst it doesn't change your experience, I can confirm that by the middle of October we will be installing guest room card access to our fitness center on the 2nd floor to enable guests to use this facility 24 hours a day. This has taken a little longer then I would of liked but I am pleased we will be able to extend this offering to our guests.

We do have fixed prices for taxi services and I know the price does vary for airport transfer depending on the time of the day between RM 30 - RM 55 each way. I will pass your comments related to the price of taxi services in KK to the local authorities for consideration and discussion.

Thank you again, I do hope you will choose to visit KK and the hotel again once we have renovated - plan for the end of 2014 or 2015!

Best regards,

Fiona Hagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

The highlight of the hotel was the service! The front desk, tour desk, bellmen, room service, and restaurant staff were all very helpful. I especially found Sylver at the bell desk to be very helpful. The pool was quite nice as well. Additionally, we enjoyed the entertainment in the lounge. The hotel is in a good location, within walking distance to many shops and some restaurants, including the waterfront night market. Although I would not recommend eating at the market, it is worth looking around.

The room while large and clean was a bit dated and run down. The furniture was a bit worn and old, and is in need of updating, given my expectations of a Starwood property. The selection of TV channels was a bit limited given the international clientele. As I stayed at another more modern hotel in KK on another trip through town, I know there are better room standards, but not nearly the excellent service of the Le Meridien.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoInCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
225 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 601 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

My 2011 review for this hotel is ambivalent, and I decided to give it another try, but I was disappointed.

The good
Location is great; it is in middle of the city, at the sea, and only 15 minutes from the airport.
Rooms are specious, and clean.
Service and courtesy was great. They are friendly tried everything to help.
The bad
Rooms old and tired, and badly maintained.
Carpets have a terrible smell
I first got room on the 8th floor, and smell was unbearable, in addition, air-condition was leaking water, and also had a terrible smell.
They called maintenance, but the air-condition problem wasn’t something to be fixed in a few minutes, and I intended to have a room, not a working zone, and I also couldn’t take the smell.
They changed me to the 10th floor (bigger room). Not that there was no bad smell there, since you feel that dusty smell in the entire hotel, but it was much better.

In short, service is good and friendly, but infrastructure is falling apart.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomad6022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear nomad6022,

Thank you for taking the time to share the feedback from your recent stay!

I am terribly sorry that you had the experience and impressions that you did whilst staying in the hotel. Whilst we are in the early stages of planning for a renovation of the hotel in 2014 this is no excuse for the air conditioning not to be working and the dusty smell in the corridors and guest rooms.

We were aware of a challenges over the past couple of months during to the particularly high levels of humidity and have increased the levels of air flow to our floors, but this is obviously something that we need to review with the team again, thank you for highlighting it.

Many thanks,

Fiona Hagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

A wonderful hotel for many reasons. A stone's throw to the open sea, if your room faces the wharfside like how mine was, you get to wake up to the picturesque view of a pristine blue stretch meeting the open horizon, to be interrupted in certain angles by lush green islands and glimpses of the Sabah water village. Fresh catch is brought in by tug boats, sold around the stalls nearby as fresh or dried seafood. These stalls that also serve meals are less than a minute's walk from the lobby.

The lobby itself is an impresive space very reminiscent of new hotels. It opens to the restaurant by the right side convenient for the complimentary breakfast. The staff is accommodating but the lobby seems to have seen alot of hustle and bustle, seeing that the hotel is of preferred choice for the corporate demography.

On the rooms, the floors are at first quite perplexing with its mazy corridors that split and fork into sections of rooms. Mine involves finding the right passage way, a few meanders and finally a room that is quite generous in space for the value, it could easily host a soiree of 20-30 friends. The wide windows are the highlight of the room, letting in the sunshine for a feel like home. Big TV and every appliance that you would need like an iron with board, hairdryer, water heater all provided. It is easy to list this hotel for say a month long stay in the wonderful city of Kota Kinabalu. The only gripe is the traffic but if you schedule your excursions well there should not be a problem.

Will return to this hotel for future stays.

Room Tip: Request an oceanview room. Not sure if this will incur additional charges but it is a stark differen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaiomarali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Hello shaiomarali,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay with us. Its sounds like you really had an adventure when you were here on excursions, exploring the markets over the road.

Please come back and visit us again soon.

Warm regards,
Fiona Hagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#8 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Property: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu embraces the aesthetic and eclectic beauty of Sabah while showcasing superb views of the city, Mount Kinabalu, and the South China Sea. Located in downtown Kota Kinabalu, and within easy walking distance of local attractions, the commercial district, and retail and entertainment facilities, the hotel provides easy access to some of Malaysia’s finest beaches and golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing