We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #6 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Le Meridian is a great 5* hotel in a great location. It's right on waterfront, next to the night market and close to a couple of shopping centres. If you want to be in the centre of town it's perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 195Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    884
    821
    217
    71
    30
See reviews for
392
764
116
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moe, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed here for four nights. The staff were so welcoming and made you feel at home. Farrah and Asmah were so friendly and always had time to talk to us as well check that everything was fine. The location was great only a short walk from Gaya St market and the Jessleton Wharf as well shopping malls. We upgraded to club status which was worthwhile as it was quieter to go upstairs for breakfast and could get a drink anytime as well as nibbles in the evening with alcoholic drinks.
Will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: We had sea view which was great. But certainly worth upgrading to club level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

We went there last september 2013, book a deluxe room facing towards the sea
Big room, clean bedroom and also bathroom. Quite environment. Friendly and efficient staff. Great buffet breakfast, serve different set of buffet every day. A mix between western and malaysian cuisine.
Excellent location near the night market.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nazim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Hello 195Lou,

Many thanks for sharing your views on your recent stay with us! please come back again soon.

Fiona Hagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We enjoyed some wonderful service during our recent stay at Le Meridien. As a pleasant surprise, we were upgraded to a sea view suite and the room overlooked The South China Sea and the vibrant Philippines Market. The room was certainly very spacious and clean, with no outside noise disturbing privacy.

We enjoyed a special facial and massage at the onsite spa which was fantastic. The staff that helped us made sure to tailor the experience to our individual needs. The food and drinks in both the lounge and the circle restaurant were impressive.

While there is free Wifi in the lobby, it would be good to see free Wifi in the rooms as most other hotels offer this service at no charge.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here while on transit to a connecting flight.
The hotel is located in town. That said, it is not that far from the airport. About 15mins at 1 am weekday.
The room has adequate space and looks good.
I had to catch up on work and realised that i haven't got a pen. A call to housekeeping and within 5 minutes, they are at my door to deliver the pen. This is at 2 am. Good service.
I was out of the hotel by 6 am to catch my flight.
I did not manage to try other facilities nor breakfast.
I had a good sleep and wouldn't mind staying here again ... hopefully not just for transit.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank aarbain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Hello aarbain,

Thank you for your review, next time you must take time to stay a little longer than a transit stay!

Wishing you all the best!

Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed here for three nights, we arrived noon and we get to check in. That made our day as we were travelling with two young children that really needed some rest. Excellent free wi-fi connection at the lobby. We got a pleasantly clean and comfortable quite room at the eight floor which was not dated. As well as good house keeping service from its staff. Overall courteous and good service from all its staff that we dealth with from the time we checked in till checked out. Good variety at buffet breakfast as well something for vegetarians too. We also enjoyed dinner at the hotel except for my spouse since the vegetarian choice on the menu seems limited. Locations is perfect, opposite is the Filipino market. Gaya street nearby, jesselton jetty is walking distant. Lots of restaurants nearby. Nice decent swimming pool, the management should consider to provide a children changing room like the one they have at lobby. It was exciting to watch the sunset right from the swimming pool area!. Will stay here again for our next trip to Kota Kinabalu.

Room Tip: We didnt but dont miss a sea view room , the sunset was faboulus!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Hi akll76,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with others on your recent trip to KK! I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, specially as you were travelling with small children.

Please do let our staff know when you come back that your spouse is vegetarian . We do try though it's sometimes we don't have the variety to cater to all preferences, so our team are very used to creating something special just ask!

Great feedback on the swimming pool and sunsets thank you, we are just about to embark on installing an outdoor shower beside the pool which is missing at the moment. We do have change rooms available inside, though perhaps these were not easily seen - something I will look at with our team.

Thank you so sharing, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We upgraded to Le Meridien and we weren't disappointed. Whilst the rooms are starting to age they aren't as dated as others make out. What they are is enormous (SPG preferred rooms 9th floor). Spacious room, bed and bathroom. Divine. What we really noticed was the excellent service from the staff. Particularly the food and beverage staff. We had access to the Club lounge and viewing the sunsets from there with afternoon drinks and appetizers was lovely. We chose to have most breakfasts and one dinner at the main buffet and were overwhelmed with choices. It caters for Western and Asian palettes. There is a very slight bias to the Asian taste but hey, this is an Asian country and obviously no pork products were offered. Perhaps this doesn't bother us as we are expats living in Asia and no longer expect to see bacon at breakfast. The hotel is close to the Waterfront restaurants, a wet market and night market. We loved walking through the markets, always new things to see.
Others have commented on hall and room smells. We actually noted as family that it wasn't a musty hotel like we have encountered in other cities. And we had no issues in the room with smells or maintenance problems.
All in all, whilst more expensive than we usually pay for hotels we feel the service from staff and the extras we got in the club were worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Hello Donna,

Great feedback thank you from your recent stay with us.

Please do come back and visit us again soon as you are so close only in Singapore!

Warm regards,

Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Property: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu is a contemporary 5 star hotel, strategically located at the heart and city center of downtown Kota Kinabalu across the fresh and handicraft markets and Kota Kinabalu waterfront. Overlooking the sea, Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu features newly renovated rooms, leisure outdoor pool and sundeck with sunset pool side bar. Convenient within easy walking distance of other local attractions like Gaya Street in less than 10 minutes walk, retail and entertainment facilities in less than 20 minutes walk like Centrepoint, Suria and Imago Shopping Malls. Enjoy access to local art gallery, golf courses and other island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing