We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Celyn City Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Le Hotel Kota Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Imperial Boutec Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
The Klagan Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Traveller(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Kooler Inn(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
Grand M Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Asia City(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
Monaco Boutique Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
View Hotel
Reviews (2,325)
Filter reviews
2,325 results
Traveller rating
1,099
897
227
72
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,099
897
227
72
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnight marketspg memberthe club loungesea viewseafoodthe general managerfish marketlocal markettour deskcentral locationwet marketthe south china seaan upgradebreakfast spreaddvd playerwater frontspacious room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,038 - 1,043 of 2,325 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights each in August and September.. First up, I was not helped at the lobby with my huge work baggage since I checked in at almost midnight. Nonetheless, that is not an excuse for the absence of the bell boy. Anyhow, check in was quick and the room was acceptable. Buffet breakfast was pretty good compared to Hyatt Kota Kinabalu. Overall it was fine but I still haven't found the best hotel yet in this town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Volatile75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Hello Volatile75,

You have set us a challenge with your subject line - "Still not Found It" Whilst I am biased I know, I do believe that we have the most wonderful associates and caring staff in Kota Kinabalu (not to mention location location). Though on this occasion we missed an opportunity upon your arrival to the hotel, which I absolutely agree with you this should not happen!

Please do try us again in the future to see if we have been able to move ahead of the other hotels you have experienced in KK!

With best regards,
Fiona Hagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

This is our favourite hotel in kk because of its location, spacious room n great view.
This time we stayed on the higher floor in the club rooms.
Room 1129 was spacious n clean n faces the sea. We get free access to the lounge on the 12th floor which served bfast, high tea n pre dinner cocktails. Great food n view.
Location is fantastic in the city centre with many eateries n malls within walking distance.
Portview seafood restaurant n the night market is just across the road.
Great place n will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merc8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Hello Merc8989,

Thank you for your review and for sharing pictures of the Club Lounge so others can review also.

As you are based in KL, please come back and visit us again soon!

Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We have just returned from 3 weeks in Borneo. Le Meridien in KK was our absolute favourite hotel. As we all do I read all the TA reviews..some were concerned with minor things eg lifting wallpaper and mould the size of a 20c piece in bathrooms....so here's the truth. Yes the decor is a little dated, small areas of peeling wallpaper and tiny areas of mould on the bathroom ceilings, however the service and club facilities far out weighed these minor issues. All staff were friendly and helpful and so quick to fufill any request. The room size was spacious, comfy beds and the view spectacular, location fantastic, great breakfast..pay the extra for the Club rooms, it is well worth it! This will be the place we stay if we are in KK again.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a Club room on the 11th or 12th floors
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaB30071963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Hi Lisa,

Wow 3 weeks, you are real Borneo explorers, what a fantastic amount of time to spend here.

Thank you for sharing your feedback with others from your recent stay with us, I am thrilled that our service and facilities in the hotel outweighed the small imperfections in the rooms. I am very proud of our team and they way that they care for our guests so I am delighted that they were a highlight for you on your travels.

If you decided to explore Borneo little more please come back and visit us!

Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I had 2 stays there in October 2013

It is a great Hotel. Right across from the night market and centrally located. Nice gym and pool and great breakfast. Really can not complain.
The staff is super friendly - really excellent!!!!! Fast check-in and check-out...
15 minutes to the airport.

HOWEVER: The doors are not equipped with hinges that let them close slowly so that you hear doors slamming all night. it is VERY loud. This was during our first stay on the 12th floor or so...
Next time we stayed we got a room which had a connecting door to the room next door. We heard EVERY word they spoke next door. That is NOT ok for a Hotel in this price range.
At 2 am we had to call the reception because they were yelling around in some room close to us and we could not sleep even WITH EARPLUGS. I know this is just bad luck... but a hotel of this price category and from the LeMeridien brand should have much better noise insulation!!!!


SO BRING YOUR EARPLUGS> and then enjoy the Hotel.

Room Tip: A room away from the elevators and DO NOT allow them to give you a room with a connecting door to another room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelRaoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Dear TravelRaoul,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with others from your recent stay with us. I am terribly sorry that you were not able to sleep due to the noise form the guest room adjacent to your room. I hope that our associates offered to move you to another room during your stay without a connecting door as an alternative. We do have an odd occasion when this becomes an issue and most times after we speak with the guests in the adjoining room it is no longer a challenge.

I am pleased to read that you had a fast arrival and departure and you found our staff super friendly.

Thank you again for sharing!

Warm regards,
Fiona Hagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Le Meridian is a great 5* hotel in a great location. It's right on waterfront, next to the night market and close to a couple of shopping centres. If you want to be in the centre of town it's perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 195Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews