We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for KK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We recently stayed for 3 nights as part of SPG rewards.

Hotel is centrally located, within walking distance of Chinatown and other highlights.

Has a nice pool area with bar service.

Rooms are large and reasonably well kept, despite showing a little age but still acceptable.

One aspect which significantly cheapens the atmosphere is the bus-load of guests (or non guests) who camp out in the foyer desperate to catch free wifi, available only in the lobby.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arwin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Hello Arwin,

Thank you for your feedback specifically related to the internet usage in the lobby. I know at some times the lobby is congested and we are working on solutions to address this. We are in the early stages of upgrading our wireless connectivity in the guest rooms and increasing the bandwidth which will help us deliver a more stable option for our guests in the room.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us using your SPG points, please come back and visit us again soon.

Warm regards,

Fiona Hagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

941 - 947 of 2,189 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

2 nights en route from Borneo to Brunei Le Meridien was another great Starwood Hotel. I agree with all the 2olddiggers have to say we also had an Ocean view room looking over the bay and Markets. Very courteous, helpful, friendly staff at all levels. They made time to talk to you and see how things were going and I could nothing but positive feedback. Wow the breakfasts make sure you have included. I will return here again. KK another interesting stop on our journey.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dontgetout2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Hello dontgetout2much (love your name)!

Thank you for getting out and spending some time with us in Kota Kinabalu, I love your review and thank you for sharing with others.

Best regards.

Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

In the end, nothing particularly wrong with this hotel, but if you're traveling for leisure, think you could probably do better from an enjoyment perspective...

- Location right in the middle of town doesn't offer that many perks. Yes, there are some food markets around, a Starbucks, tourist places, and some more local restaurants....but otherwise kind of an uninspiring area. You're right near the water, but not in a particularly scenic way.
- Hotel itself could probably use a refresh. Like many older Le Meridien properties across Asia and Europe, it's hard to say the place is aging particularly well. The modern vibe from ~15 years ago now comes across feeling a bit silly.
- Was given a larger room with a front view...room seemed a bit sparsely furnished. Bed was clearly a bit worn and creaked quite a bit. Towels felt like they could be replaced/upgraded.
- A noticeable moldly smell throughout the property....I understand the local climate, but at better places in these sort of areas they manage to deal with it.
- Pool area is only ok...somewhat small and at least when I was there fairly crowded.

If you're transiting Kota Kinablu quickly or are on business, this hotel probably makes sense. Or if ferry access is most important to you. However, otherwise, I'd suggest looking at options outside the city - Kota Kinablu on its own isn't much of an attraction, and this hotel doesn't really help that situation.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
Thank travelworld1170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear homeless601580,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts from your recent stay with us with others.

You are right, the hotel was built around 15 years ago though was opened only 8 years ago hence some the decor and design reflects this. We are in the planning stages of a renovation which will refresh the guest rooms, restaurants and public areas more in line with other refreshed Le Meridien hotels globally.

Kota Kinabalu is continuing to develop and as you mention at the moment perhaps there is not the choice or available level of choices available for the visitors as in other world class locations. This will change as the new developments start to take shape which will support the growth in the number of visitors to KK.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with others.

Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This hotel was excellent. We had an Ocean View room and the room was huge with great views. The hotel was located centrally to the markets directly across the road and a large multilevel shopping centre diagonally opposite the back entrance. We signed up to SPG when we got there which provided discounts on restaurants and free morning paper. The package included breakfast and the vast range of different dishes to select from was impressive and great quality. There was free Wi-Fi in the lobby and by the pool and the cocktails at the pool bar were sensational, along with the lovely service. Pool was excellent too! We checked out at 4am and the hotel suggested breakfast in the room. The breakfast was provided on a trolley there was so much and service at this time of the morning was greatly appreciated. Overall excellent service, food and a lovely hotel...which made for a wonderful trip to KK.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tropicstraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Have just returned from a great holiday in Borneo and our first hotel in KK. was the Meridien.
Everything went very smoothly and we where suprised with the courtsy, professionalism, cleanliness and the very high standards of this hotel. The morning we where leaving, (5am), so we didn`t miss our breakfast, they provided us with a breakfast box, which was more than adequate. The hotel is close to the wharf, night markets, restuarants and shopping. We found at times it was cheaper to eat in the hotel than outside. Also if you become a Starwood member you receive discounts on food, well worth taking 5 mins to join. Would not hestiate to recommend this hotel to anyone, even the fussiest of travels.

Room Tip: Ask for the Club Lounge upgrade, well worth the extra. Rooms are bigger and the view is over the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2olddiggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you 2olddiggers.

I really appreciate you taking the time to share with others your feedback on your recent stay with us. Also a great call out to others on the SPG discount, I am glad you found this a worthwhile program to opt into and enjoyed the discounts.

Please do come back and visit us again if you travel to Borneo again soon.

Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Arrived to a shaky check in, due to some internal confusion with the reservation dept. But was rectified in the morning with the GM. Hotel is old and we stayed in the suite that needs renovating badly, but service is fantastic. The executive lounge is ok, expected better food, but once again was trumped by excellent service.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank yaso1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Yaso1,

I am so pleased that after the disappointing arrival we managed to provide a comfortable setting for you to enjoy your vacation. I do agree with you, the hotel does need a renovation and we are taking steps towards starting this in 2014.

You have highlighted the strength of the hotel - our people, thank you so much I will share your feedback with our team.

With best regards,
Fiona Hagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Central to everything, especially to the ferry terminal.

Room is clean and big single bed and very comfy.

Only thing is free wifi is only available at the lobby.

Nice breakfast spread and variety.

Overall happy with stay! Will recommend to friends!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank joeytansh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,507 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
284 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
714 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £86 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu is a contemporary 5 star hotel, strategically located at the heart and city center of downtown Kota Kinabalu across the fresh and handicraft markets and Kota Kinabalu waterfront. Overlooking the sea, Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu features newly renovated rooms, leisure outdoor pool and sundeck with sunset pool side bar. Convenient within easy walking distance of other local attractions like Gaya Street in less than 10 minutes walk, retail and entertainment facilities in less than 20 minutes walk like Centrepoint, Suria and Imago Shopping Malls. Enjoy access to local art gallery, golf courses and other island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing