We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall staff was very good. Enjoyed the sea view. Close to the pearl shopping area which was right behind the hotel, wa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overall staff was very good. Enjoyed the sea view. Close to the pearl shopping area which was right behind the hotel, wa”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Overall staff was very good. Enjoyed the sea view. Close to the pearl shopping area which was right behind the hotel, walking distance! Walking distance to seafood restaurants! And shopping malls! Breakfast spread was excellent & enjoyed the apple juices! If you want to buy fresh fish & prawns.. & bring home... The hotel assists you with the packing for 6 hours! Loved the idea of the waterfront location!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view deluxe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tess779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Hello Tess779,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback and share it with us!
We’re glad that you have enjoyed the pearls and handicraft shopping and of course the seafood. We hope you are happily enjoying the seafood you have packed back home with your family and friends this moment!
We look forward to welcoming you and loved ones again. Do share your experience with us to your friends and families as well.
See you soon.

Regards
Suresh Ramasamy
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    912
    837
    218
    71
    30
See reviews for
407
777
117
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Overall staff are excellent. We were greeted well each and everytime passes by any of the staff throughout the property. The only major concern is, cleanliness of the room has to be relook into. We stayed at Level-5. A non smoking room. View are excellent with partly seaview. To be specific, edges of the shower room turned yellowish and algae all around. Even worse, behind the toilet seat is really surprised us and seems that it was not been clean for months. Dustbin inside the bathroom seems not working anymore. I suggest the hotel to just provide an open bin instead of the "step to open" bin while it doesnt even open. Water pressure is the other concern, it is really regret each and everytime to take our shower. It is toooooo slow! And indeed, the hot/cold water is inconsistent. Apart from that, i understand that the hotel has old and new towels, but atleast you can either pair the old towel together or new towels together instead of putting 1 old and 1 new. There's an obvious substandards issue there.
The wardrobe door is also not smoothly functioning. We have to use full force of energy to get it open everytime it got stuck! Since the wardrobe door is not functioning well, we have to sleep with the light on from the wardrobe. Please also look into the main-door frame of our room, we have to push hard to open and to pull hard to close. Probably the housekeeper should check the room prior to guest arrival? and also your maintenance team perhaps?
Things to compliments are of course your staff. Amenities range are very good.. Aircond is cold enough.

Room Tip: Lower floor with better water/shower pressure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Are-Narz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Hello Are-Narz,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay, I am very concerned to read some of the specific feedback related to the standard in your guest room. As you have mentioned the 5th floor we will look into all of our part sea view rooms to locate this room and rectify the points you have mentioned.

I am terribly sorry that this was your experience and would like to assure you that what you have mentioned is not a standard of room that you should of been given to stay in. We do have an inspection process in place to check guest rooms prior to arrivals and all of the points you mentioned should of been highlighted at this time. At this point we then involve our maintenance team for rectification. Clearly this process failed, I can only extend my apologies to you and assure you I will take action on your comments.

I do hope that you will try us again on your next trip to Kota Kinabalu.

Warm regards,
Fiona Hagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

It's difficult to fault this property with its extra large rooms, marble bathrooms, palatial foyer, very friendly and helpful staff, great views of the harbour from it's waterfront location and close proximity to the large night market and other shopping centres. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skyfox49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Hello Skyfox49,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience in the Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu. It sounds like you had the opportunity to discover the local area around the hotel, thank you for exploring. Please share your experience with others so we can welcome more travellers to Kota Kinabalu.

Warm regards,
Fiona Hagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed in the Club Room with free high-speed internet, a sea view, afternoon tea, evening drinks/hors D Oeuvres, and Breakfast in the Lounge. Service was excellent and the view terrific. The room was spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Close to all town amenities which are in walking distance. The staff are extremely helpful, polite and nothing seems too much for them. The buffet breakfast is sumptuous with an abundance of choices. The standard of cuisine provided at all meals was of the highest order. We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary whist at the hotel and were surprised and delighted to receive a beautiful present of wine and cakes organised by a Front Office Manager.
The room was very clean and quiet and our stay was a total pleasurable event.
We cannot over recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Hello Mike,

Thank you for sharing "Just Right" with everyone to read. I am thrilled that you decided to share your wedding anniversary with us and even more so Rizan our Front Office Manager helped make this memorable.

Wishing you and your wife all the very best for the future, please come back and visit us again for another special occasion!

Best regards,
Fiona Hagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miri, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Situated in town. Close to many interesting places. Centre Point shopping centre is 2 mins walk away, whereas Suria KK, the latest shopping centre is about 10-15 mins walk. A few seafood restaurants situated around the hotel, within walking distance too. Across the road are the various markets-the 'Filipino market', fruit market, dried seafood market, fish market, vegetables and wet market. Also night food stalls across the road (those with sensitive bowels should avoid eating there!)
Have stayed in this hotel many times over the years. Staff are generally attentive, pleasant and polite. Service is good. Breakfast spread and quality have improved over the years. Swimming pool and its surrounding area well kept. There are 334 rooms, some with Starwood Preferred Guests sign at the door and mine is one of them. Room is clean and well maintain. Comes with the usual well stocked mini refrigerator, electric kettle, sachets of coffee, tea, sugar and creamer, mini safe, electric iron and board. Also have LCD TV. Bed king size, comfortable with soft pillows. However the housekeeping is not doing a good job in cleaning the bathroom. Stain and slim especially at corners are left untouched. Occasionally the bathroom smells!
There is an AED (Automatic Emergency Defibrillator) at the reception.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrClementLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you Dr Lee for your very detailed and informative review!

Specifically thank you for pointing out to others about the AED at the reception desk, in addition to this we have another AED for our Crisis response team to use and in the fitness centre. This is a brand standard of Starwood hotels and you will find a similar standard in all of our hotels.

Thank you for sharing with others your advise with others to avoid the food stalls opposite the hotel if you have sensitive stomachs. We recommend our guests to explore the market though as you mention caution them on the hygiene standards.

I sincerely appreciate your review and I know others will find this very useful thank you.

Warm regards,

Fiona Hagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 6 nights in July and had the most wonderful experience!

We decided to spend a little extra and stay in the club suite, best decision possible! Private check in with the kindest and most helpful staff, a stunning ocean view, easy internet connection, a delicious buffet breakfast, afternoon tea and open bar (all in the private lounge)! Hardly had to leave, except to visit the pool bar and have one of Kenneth's killer long island ice tea's (the best I had in all of Borneo!)

The rooms were always clean, quiet and extremely comfortable and did I mention the view?!

It was also in the best location, on-top of the night markets and a block away from the rest of the action!

We also booked all of our activities through the tours team in the lobby, because, after wandering around the city to all the booking agencies it was easier and very similar in pricing but without any hassle!

I cannot recommend this hotel more highly, I am just sorry it took me so long to review!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OGBorneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,415 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
663 reviews
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,331 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Property: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu is a contemporary 5 star hotel, strategically located at the heart and city center of downtown Kota Kinabalu across the fresh and handicraft markets and Kota Kinabalu waterfront. Overlooking the sea, Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu features newly renovated rooms, leisure outdoor pool and sundeck with sunset pool side bar. Convenient within easy walking distance of other local attractions like Gaya Street in less than 10 minutes walk, retail and entertainment facilities in less than 20 minutes walk like Centrepoint, Suria and Imago Shopping Malls. Enjoy access to local art gallery, golf courses and other island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Starwood APAC, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing