We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value option in Kota Kinabalu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #3 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Myself and husband stayed here in September 2013 and were very please with the room. We booked a room on the club floor, which included evening hors d'oeuvres, drinks and seating in the lounge with sea views. We both like a drink and if we hadn't opted for this option, then we would really have struggled to find something in Kota Kinabalu. The sunsets from this club room are sublime and it is well worth paying a bit extra for all the additional benefits.

Room Tip: Book a club room. You won't regret it.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Hello Scoa,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with others from your recent stay with us! I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience in the Club Lounge, particularly the sunset views and services we provide.

Please do come and stay with us again if you are in KK again in the future.

Warm regards,

Fiona Hagan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,128)
There are newer reviews for Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

864 - 870 of 2,128 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed at Meridian for the weekend and was in blackout for few hours due to electricity blowout in the city. However, what made it terrible for us was the hotel generator was not working which we found out from outsider that the maintenance was careless! Nothing was done for guests to compensate the discomfort which was a big NO-NO for a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suzy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Our sincere regret for the local power outage that occurred during your stay with us. Rest assured that the safety, security and comfort of our guests have always been and continue to be our utmost priority. Please feel free to reach out to me at suresh.ramasamy@lemeridien.com to address your concerns.

Thank you
Suresh Ramasamy
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed here for only 1 night, but I am impressed by the hotel and the service provided. Kota Kinabalu is quite a hectic town, thus getting away from the hustle and bustle of it all while still being in the middle of town is a major plus in my book. Just across the road, you can find really good food, souvenirs and for those interested, dried fish and seafood. There is also a daily night market just beside the hotels. But from what I see, they sell almost the same things on every stall.

Kota Kinabalu is can be really really hot and humid. So after a day out in the hot sun, you'd be glad to come back to a spacious room with comfy beds, as well as a huge toilet with a choice of a bath tub or a shower after your day. Didn't get to use the pool though, so thats a shame. Would definitely come back for a stay if I ever go back to K.K.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank feruzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Hello Feruzie,
I’m so glad it took us one night to impress you and we hope you could visit us in the future so that you can discover and get to know us more a little better. Great review and yes Kota Kinabalu is a lovely town waiting to be uncovered by you and your family.
Looking forward to see you and hopefully it will be a more delightful stay for you and your loved ones.

Regards
Suresh Ramasamy
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The hotel was strategically located in the city. The staffs were friendly and helpful. The room was huge, clean and comfortable. It will be good if free WIFI was provided in the room. However, sound proof from bathroom wasn't very good as you can still hear water noises from side room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AylmerW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Hello Aylmerw,
Thank you for your feedback and it’s great to hear that our staffs have been great to you. Good to know you’re comfortable with the rooms, similarly to Jasmine, we are well aware of your constructive suggestion of including wifi in its rate for all rooms. We are also in the midst of planning a refreshing of the rooms and public areas, rest assured your bathroom mention will be brought to attention.
Looking forward to seeing you again!

Regards
Suresh Ramasamy
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We spend our wedding anniversary in this hotel. The Hotel Manager was so kind and arranged a complimentary upgrade to a Deluxe sea view room with anniversary set up in the room, red roses and sparkling wine was there for my wife when we entered the room.
On the day we checked out, we took a cab from the hotel to the airport. On the airline check-in desk we realized we forgot our bag with DSLR camera and mobile phone in the taxi... damn it!!. With less than 1/5h left to departure, we called immediately to the hotel and after a while they found the bag and the taxi driver came back to the airport and returned us the camera bag. #thumbs up!

The hotel location basically in the central point in town. Walking distance to the nearby restaurant. Hotel staff was very nice, helpful and made sure you had a good stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a seaview
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Hello Michael,

Thank you for sharing with others the experience from your recent stay with us! Congratulations and thank you for choosing to celebrate your wedding anniversary with us, I am thrilled that we helped make the occasion memorable.

I was not aware on the camera item and how our team had returned this to you, thank you for sharing as we do recognise our associates for acts of honesty so I will search out our team who were involved.

I do hope we can welcome you both back to the hotel in the future.

Best regards,

Fiona Hagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Very well operated 5-star hotel. The hotel itself is beautiful and all the staff members are very professional and helpful. The spa is excellent and is highly recommended. We felt very pampered during the stay.

One comment though we were surprised wifi is not included in the room rate. Not sure if this is the industry's general practice.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JasmineDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Hello JasmineDB,
“Immaculate” is a great review title and thank you for taking the time to write your review down! We’re glad that you have felt pampered during your stay, as you should when you’re in the beautiful Kota Kinabalu! At this moment, Wifis are available for free in the lobby only, but yes we are aware of your input as we will look into to include more rooms with wifi in its rate, at this moment we would like to share that our clubs and suites could accommodate this among its other benefits.
Looking forward to seeing you and your loved ones again!

Regards
Suresh Ramasamy
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

1. check-in process was smooth. nice reception staff.2. bath tub drainage unoperational. called the service number, and plumber came in a flash, but does not repair. he just take out the thing from the drain hole, and as a result, no bath in a tub for me3. consumables such as sugar doesnt get replenish the next day4. buffet breakfast was gooood.. lots of choices5. free parking for spg member. non member staying here need to pay MYR3 per entry. make sure u become a member upon checking in6. smoking rooms are limited. and u will be fined MYR300/day if u smoke in a non-smoking room! (which equivalent to a night stay charge!!!)7. location is not bad. sea view room allow you to see the fish market across the road, and of course, the sea.8. from here to mount kinabalu is approx 2 hrs drive. to the tip of borneo is 4 hours9. cable tv reception was baaadd...

1  Thank nawza
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Hello Nawza,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and feedback from your recent stay with us at the Le Meridien. I wanted to take the time to address your feedback on a point basis as you have mentioned;
1. Thank you for the feedback on the arrival and check in process
2. Apologies for the service provided by our maintenance associate - this is valuable feedback and needs addressing.
3. As above we will address this with our Housekeeping associates.
4. I am pleased you enjoyed the breakfast
5. Thank you for the recommendation for others to join SPG - this is a powerful program that also entitles you to discounts on dining in the hotel and awards on accommodation.
6. We have 2 floors in the hotel that are smoking and these can be reserved prior to arrival during the reservation confirmation. If a guest does smoke in a non smoking room then we do need to spend time in the room for deep cleaning of the carpets & curtains hence the charge that applies.
7. &8. thank you
9. We were aware that we had a problem for a few days though this has now be rectified, I am sorry that you were here during this period.

Your feedback is very constructive and valuable thank you for sharing. I do hope if you come back again you will find improvements and areas that we have addressed.

Warm regards,

Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,470 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,372 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
691 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £87 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu is a contemporary 5 star hotel, strategically located at the heart and city center of downtown Kota Kinabalu across the fresh and handicraft markets and Kota Kinabalu waterfront. Overlooking the sea, Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu features newly renovated rooms, leisure outdoor pool and sundeck with sunset pool side bar. Convenient within easy walking distance of other local attractions like Gaya Street in less than 10 minutes walk, retail and entertainment facilities in less than 20 minutes walk like Centrepoint, Suria and Imago Shopping Malls. Enjoy access to local art gallery, golf courses and other island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing