We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #5 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quality Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on our trip to Malaysia.
We walked into the hotel without a reservation due to a change in our plans. The staff was welcoming and friendly.
The room was clean and high quality. The pool area is pleasant and has free wifi, and the staff at the bar there is very accommodating and friendly (brought over snacks of fruit and nuts throughout the day).
Some of the amenities were a bit pricey (internet in room/breakfast/etc.).
The area is ok, easy walk to restaurants along the beach, which is nice.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Hello Melissa,

Many thanks for sharing with other the feedback from your recent stay with us. I am very pleased that you chose to walk into our hotel and you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for the specific feedback on our poolside team, I will ensure we share this and recognise them in our monthly celebration.

Thank you again for sharing.

Many thanks,
Fiona Hagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    809
    213
    71
    30
See reviews for
383
748
114
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Just had 6 night visit. We arrived 7 am but our room was ready which was great, and we could go in and have the buffet breakfast. Ocean right in front of us, central to everything, staff very nice and helpful. Lots of seafront bars and bistros opposite the hotel. Staff very helpful in printing out air tickets for a trip to Sandakan. We really enjoyed our stay. There was also a power outage caused by careless digging on a construction site. Can't blame the hotel for that. Would recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: If you can, try and get a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yunderup1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you Yunderup1 for sharing your feedback with others!

We did experience a power outage and this was beyond our control, thank you for your understanding. I was away from the hotel at the time and my team managed this situation and I am sincerely grateful for the way they manage the situation under a very busy period.

Please do come back again we now have 2 direct flights a week from Perth to KK so its much easier to plan your travels.

Warm regards,

Fiona Hagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Harwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Myself and husband stayed here in September 2013 and were very please with the room. We booked a room on the club floor, which included evening hors d'oeuvres, drinks and seating in the lounge with sea views. We both like a drink and if we hadn't opted for this option, then we would really have struggled to find something in Kota Kinabalu. The sunsets from this club room are sublime and it is well worth paying a bit extra for all the additional benefits.

Room Tip: Book a club room. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Hello Scoa,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with others from your recent stay with us! I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience in the Club Lounge, particularly the sunset views and services we provide.

Please do come and stay with us again if you are in KK again in the future.

Warm regards,

Fiona Hagan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed at Meridian for the weekend and was in blackout for few hours due to electricity blowout in the city. However, what made it terrible for us was the hotel generator was not working which we found out from outsider that the maintenance was careless! Nothing was done for guests to compensate the discomfort which was a big NO-NO for a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Our sincere regret for the local power outage that occurred during your stay with us. Rest assured that the safety, security and comfort of our guests have always been and continue to be our utmost priority. Please feel free to reach out to me at suresh.ramasamy@lemeridien.com to address your concerns.

Thank you
Suresh Ramasamy
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed here for only 1 night, but I am impressed by the hotel and the service provided. Kota Kinabalu is quite a hectic town, thus getting away from the hustle and bustle of it all while still being in the middle of town is a major plus in my book. Just across the road, you can find really good food, souvenirs and for those interested, dried fish and seafood. There is also a daily night market just beside the hotels. But from what I see, they sell almost the same things on every stall.

Kota Kinabalu is can be really really hot and humid. So after a day out in the hot sun, you'd be glad to come back to a spacious room with comfy beds, as well as a huge toilet with a choice of a bath tub or a shower after your day. Didn't get to use the pool though, so thats a shame. Would definitely come back for a stay if I ever go back to K.K.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank feruzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Hello Feruzie,
I’m so glad it took us one night to impress you and we hope you could visit us in the future so that you can discover and get to know us more a little better. Great review and yes Kota Kinabalu is a lovely town waiting to be uncovered by you and your family.
Looking forward to see you and hopefully it will be a more delightful stay for you and your loved ones.

Regards
Suresh Ramasamy
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

The hotel was strategically located in the city. The staffs were friendly and helpful. The room was huge, clean and comfortable. It will be good if free WIFI was provided in the room. However, sound proof from bathroom wasn't very good as you can still hear water noises from side room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AylmerW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Hello Aylmerw,
Thank you for your feedback and it’s great to hear that our staffs have been great to you. Good to know you’re comfortable with the rooms, similarly to Jasmine, we are well aware of your constructive suggestion of including wifi in its rate for all rooms. We are also in the midst of planning a refreshing of the rooms and public areas, rest assured your bathroom mention will be brought to attention.
Looking forward to seeing you again!

Regards
Suresh Ramasamy
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We spend our wedding anniversary in this hotel. The Hotel Manager was so kind and arranged a complimentary upgrade to a Deluxe sea view room with anniversary set up in the room, red roses and sparkling wine was there for my wife when we entered the room.
On the day we checked out, we took a cab from the hotel to the airport. On the airline check-in desk we realized we forgot our bag with DSLR camera and mobile phone in the taxi... damn it!!. With less than 1/5h left to departure, we called immediately to the hotel and after a while they found the bag and the taxi driver came back to the airport and returned us the camera bag. #thumbs up!

The hotel location basically in the central point in town. Walking distance to the nearby restaurant. Hotel staff was very nice, helpful and made sure you had a good stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hello Michael,

Thank you for sharing with others the experience from your recent stay with us! Congratulations and thank you for choosing to celebrate your wedding anniversary with us, I am thrilled that we helped make the occasion memorable.

I was not aware on the camera item and how our team had returned this to you, thank you for sharing as we do recognise our associates for acts of honesty so I will search out our team who were involved.

I do hope we can welcome you both back to the hotel in the future.

Best regards,

Fiona Hagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
13.2 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Property: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu embraces the aesthetic and eclectic beauty of Sabah while showcasing superb views of the city, Mount Kinabalu, and the South China Sea. Located in downtown Kota Kinabalu, and within easy walking distance of local attractions, the commercial district, and retail and entertainment facilities, the hotel provides easy access to some of Malaysia’s finest beaches and golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Holiday Gems so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing