We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel management - thank you.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Hotel management - thank you.”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We have unfortunately had to cancel our festive reservation in this lovely hotel at the last moment because of a family bereavement. We received not only a full refund but a lovely and thoughtful letter from the hotel reservations team, which we greatly appreciated. Thank you so much once again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LindsayCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Hello LindseyCheshire,

From all of the team at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, wishing you and your family all the very best over the festive period.

Please do keep us on your travel calendar for 2014.


Fiona Hagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    892
    831
    217
    71
    30
See reviews for
397
770
117
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
KL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 1 night, always happy to be back.
What I like about LE Meridien, is that everyting is within reach. Its definitely near the philipino market, night market, malls etc. The shuttle bus to 1 Borneo also just steps from the Hotel.

Early morning if you like, you can catch a glimpse of activities when fishemen bring in their fresh catch for the day and you can take the opportunity to even buy and pack your lobsters, prawns etc and the hotel can keep it for you until you check out.

Other than that, the hotel always maintain its cleanliness, comfortable bed and pleasant staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NafNaf75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Hello NatNat75

Thank you for your recent review form your stay with us in KK! You are right, we are located in a perfect position for those wishing to puchase seafood or to just wander through the markets.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to KK when your business travel brings you here again.

Fiona Hagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this.hotel for 8 nights from end of nov to early dec it was a package deal.We did have some problems at first but they were happy to sort them out.I was surprised to find ants in our room especially as we were on the 9th floor but they relocated us and gave us access to the executive lounge each day which was great.The food was lovely .
The housekeepers need to pick up on the cleaning a bit we went to another hotel for 2 nights and when we returned the dirty cups and jug of milk were still sitting on table where we left them
Having to pay for internet was a shock as most places it is free but they gave us free once we complained about housekeeping
Overall it was a good stay and I would stay there again thank you you to all staff

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

We have been frequent guest in LMKK since it started operation. We have had very few visit to LMKK these past few years. The service has always been good but our recent visits proved us wrong - the service and hospitality is far from good - it was Great Service and Hospitality. LMKK staffs will try their best to make sure that they will try their best to make your stay comfortable. They will ensure that there will be minimal waiting time for checking in to your room despite the high rate of occupancy. Despite the hustle and bustle of its surrounding location the service and hospitality of LMKK created peace and tranquility for guests. Kudos to Suresh and his fleet of Front Office team especially Mizan, Aaron, Rocky, Agus and their Front Office Manager Rizan and the entire LMKK team for making us feel the way we should be feeling when staying in a 5 Star hotel for vacation. Highly recommended for family trip.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank daizikzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Hello Daizikzak,

Thank you for your support and loyalty over the years! I am thrilled to read your feedback related to our front office team, we will be sharing & celebrating your comments with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to KK again soon.

Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
135 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

KK isn't exactly a place with a bunch of world class hotel options, and we decided to use the Le Meridien as our home base for a recent Borneo trip due to their excellent SPG redemption rate. Up against other Le Meridien properties in SE Asia and worldwide, this hotel is just "okay". Compared to other options in the area, though, it's pretty decent.

Admittedly, our first night was a bit awkward. My wife and I are both SPG Gold members. After checking in and casually asking about upgrades, we were told none were available because the hotel was "booked full". Yet, we were pleasantly surprised to find out we had received a room on the club floor! We used our key card, scoped out the lounge, and went to bed. The next morning, we had an early taxi ride to Mt. Kinabalu and we were excited about being able to grab a quick breakfast in the lounge. Just as we started filling our plates with pastries, the lounge attendant came over and asked our room number. Then she proceeded to tell us that just because we were on the club floor didn't mean we had access to the lounge, and we would have to leave. She let us quickly eat the items that were already on our plates, and escorted us out. We left hungry and a bit bewildered.

The next time we checked in (a few days later), the desk staff again explained that the hotel was "booked full" and no SPG upgrades were available. We received a small standard room -- nothing special, but nice enough. The bathroom was large and the bed was comfy. We had to stay an extra day after coming down with food poisoning, and extending our reservation online was not a problem -- we just called down to the front desk and confirmed we could stay in our room.

On our final visit (a few days later), we struck up a nice conversation with a manager on check-in, and he quickly informed us that the hotel was "booked full" so he couldn't offer any kind of upgrade, which was expected by now. He did offer us a couple of drink coupons to thank us for staying throughout our trip, which was a nice gesture (especially after the lounge incident our first stay). We received a large room -- probably the size of a suite -- but it had the same furniture as any other room -- basically a bed, a desk, and a lamp. The room was strange at night -- like sleeping in a huge empty space. But, hey, for the price we paid we couldn't complain.

We decided to eat breakfast the next morning at the buffet/restaurant, and the spread was impressive. I especially loved the little juice "shots" they had near the entrance.

Overall, our stay was fine -- memorable mostly because of the odd rooms and being kicked out of the lounge even though we were on the club floor. If you have SPG points to burn, this is a fantastic redemption despite the few rough edges.

Room Tip: Don't assume that just because you receive a room on the club floor and your key opens the door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheInternationalLine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Hello Grand Rapids,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us feedback from your recent stays with us! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your multiple stays with us, and thank you for your understanding that we do not always have an upgrade available in the hotel.

I am sorry that you had this experience upon your first stay with us in the Club Lounge, this should of been explained to you by our team upon your arrival into the hotel. We will take your feedback as an opportunity to retrain our associates to ensure this is not repeated with other guests.

I am delighted you enjoyed our morning "Eye openers" before breakfast, these are a wonderful way to stimulate your appetite in the mornings.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback.

Warm regards,
Fiona Hagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My husband and I plus daughter and her husband all stayed twice at this hotel - once before our trip to Sandakan and Sepilok and again on our way home to UK and New Zealand respectively. We all had great service at the hotel. The views from the executive lounge are well worth paying the extra for the privilege. All the staff were so welcoming, pleasant and helpful. The food was good - especially the local specialities in the executive loungs at the weekend and the rooms were very comfortable. Could not have been better.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maplehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

bit belated review..Stay there 2nights during our DEc1012 trip to KK..since its a 5Star hotel, we expect the high end services..It meet our expectation, good parking space, nice hotel lobby..checkin was fast, we got executive room as requested, spacious rooms, comfy bed n pillows, ample tv channel.buffet bfast was great, great array of options n lavish foods..wonderful pools, my kids loved it, & the attendant even serve u cold water & tropical fruits when u there.! 5 Star experience,, will definitely come back..

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azamin99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Hello azamin99,

Thank you for taking the time to share with others the feedback from your recent stay with us.

I am thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your stay, please come back and visit us again soon.

Warm regards,

Fiona Hagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,395 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
653 reviews
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#13 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,319 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Property: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu is a contemporary 5 star hotel, strategically located at the heart and city center of downtown Kota Kinabalu across the fresh and handicraft markets and Kota Kinabalu waterfront. Overlooking the sea, Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu features newly renovated rooms, leisure outdoor pool and sundeck with sunset pool side bar. Convenient within easy walking distance of other local attractions like Gaya Street in less than 10 minutes walk, retail and entertainment facilities in less than 20 minutes walk like Centrepoint, Suria and Imago Shopping Malls. Enjoy access to local art gallery, golf courses and other island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing