We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property and very good locatiob”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #3 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel is located near to port and many rooms are having nice view of overlooking local market and sea...

You dont need to walk long to find best nightlife... Just cross the road and you find all the famous hang out spots... Such as Water Front, BED, Aussie and there is a north Indian resturant as well... Just infront of the hotel you'll find many shops having variety of sea foods..

Handiceafts and body massage parlours are also located near by hotel..

When it comes to services, staffs are friendly. Ther are attentive and ready to help..

All togerher its worth staying over here...

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank Musafirnix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,128)
There are newer reviews for Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

834 - 840 of 2,128 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here for a week in July 2013. The hotel scores well because of its excellent location. You can leave the hotel and 10 minutes later be on a boat out to one of the beautiful islands. In the evenings you are a stones throw from the food markets where we you can eat some seriously large prawns. The giant mantis prawns are bigger than a Cornish lobster! The staff were always polite and the rooms were always cleaned. We didn't eat in the hotel as there are so many places to go but the restaurant seemed to have a good menu. It's not the best Meridien I have stayed in but its reasonably well priced and a great place to stay at if you want to visit Kota Kinabalu

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndrewandKeren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Hello AndrewandKaren,

Your review and feedback is both very fair and pleasing for me to read, thank you so much for sharing.

We are aware hat the hotel may not be as modern or new in design and decor as other hotels, though our team really is very genuine and caring so I am elapsed that this came through during your stay.

Warm regards,

Fiona Hagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at Le Meridien KK for 3 nights over NYE. Stayed in a club suite as we were traveling with our daughter. Very disappointing as the door to the room kept making a noise every 90 seconds with the electronic key system, so our daughter was too scared to stay out in the living area. We had to move her bed into the MB. Also, walls of the room were filthy, with some mold or other leakage on both the door and the corner of the wall. Room also smelled of sewage unless you kept the AC on.
The hotel staff were very nice, but didn't feel like a 5 star property at all. Very very tired and the pool area was much smaller than expected.
When we went to check out, we noticed that we hadn't been given the Starwood 20% discount on our food, beverage purchases. We were told then, that we should have shown the restaurant staff our Starwood card, even though our Starwood # was noted on our room account and we were not told that we needed to bring the card to the pool, etc. The reception would not adjust the bill and we needed to catch a flight, so we just gave up trying to pursue it.
Overall, if you only need to spend a day or so in the city for business, then this hotel is probably OK, but for family or holiday, do the Shangri-la instead!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank ASFifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Ann Tyler,

Thank you so much for sharing feedback from your recent stay with us. Specifically thankyou for calling out the fact our team did not proactively process the SPG discount at the time of dining in the venues. This is a process that should be seamless and we will take immediate action to ensure that we fix this for our SPG guests moving forward.

I am sorry that the door and standard of the room was not acceptable, our team have already located this and have addressed this for future guests.

I do hope that after this you did enjoy Kota Kinabalu as a destination and would consider returning on another occasion.

Warm regards,
Fiona Hagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We were a family of 5 who travelled from Perth to celebrate our parents's 40th Wedding Anniversary. Right from the time of check-in to check-out, the staff and Managers, Suresh and Fiona made us feel like a part of their SPG family. We really liked this hotel for its close proximity to everything, especially the shops and eateries around.The Club rooms that we were staying in, had beautiful, scenic views of the bay. The food was always in plenty and tasty, the room service prompt and friendly. Special mention needs to be made of John Selva for his service at the bar and ever friendly and chatty Rodney, who always welcomed us for our meals at the Circle restaurant with a friendly smile and took the trouble to make me a special cocktail, when the cocktail I had asked for was unavailable. Although we didn't get to see the much talked about sunsets because of the rain, we were delighted each evening to see the little stalls in front of the hotel being set up and the water traffic. Upon request, Le Meridien played a big role in making my parents's 40th Wedding Anniversary extra special with the cake, musicians who came to the table and sang a lovely song and decorating the room with flowers and towel arrangements. Since the hotel had 100 % occupancy on one of the days, we were offered to stay at their sister hotel, Gayana Eco Resort for one night. This was an experience in itself, one that we will always cherish. My daughter was sick one night and when we asked for a doctor, it was arranged for without any delay. The care and concern that you showed during our short visit, was greatly appreciated by us. The New Year's eve dinner and countdown was well worth the price and a fantastic way to bring in 2014. Thank you to you all for making our trip a memorable one. We will always recommend your hotel to our friends and hope to stay at Le Meridien only, when we next visit Kota Kinabalu.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I wouldnt recommend this hotel to anyone!!
Terrible service!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The hotel is also a very old design and the area around the hotel is pretty smelly.

Breakfast was great and the rooms were large, but that is where is stopped!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaLeaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Hello EmmaLeaM,

I feel very disappointed that you would not recommend the hotel to anyone and I am truly very sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay.

Please do let me know if you will be travelling back through this way again in the future as I would like an opportunity to showcase our warm service and hospitality to you again.

Warm regards,
Fiona Hagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in late October 2013, apart from the check-in, which was handled by someone that was very inexperienced everything at this place was way above the norm, we stayed in the club level rooms and the staff are some of the best that I have seen, "Yusuf, Asmah & Hiza" nothing was to much trouble from them to please you. We also met the General manager Fiona who is a wonderful person with direction that will see this place reach the top, no doubt!. If we ever go back to Kota Kinabalu this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a club level room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Hello Paul,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with others form your recent stay with us.

Thank you so much for taking the time to call out the staff in our Club lounge, they are indeed an asset to the hotel and shining stars in our Service team.

Warm regards,
Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed at meridien KK for 4 days - certainly not good enough for the price - it's at most a 3 star hotel but they are charging 5 star - rooms big enough and with a beautiful view - but very small windows and no balcony takes all the fun out of the location and view - pool small - breakfast 1 star - reception slow - etc - not good enough

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carsten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Hello Carsten,

Thank you for taking the time to share with others your feedback from your recent stay with us.

I am sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations in terms of the guest rooms and services we provided. The room rates in Kota Kinabalu were high over the festive period as it was high season with all hotels and resorts having very high demand over this time.

I am surprised that you did not enjoy the breakfast, this is something that we do receive mostly very positive feedback on from other guests. If you are able to send an email to me directly - fiona.hagan@lemeridien.com with your specific feedback then I will take the opportunity to review this with our Culinary team.

Wishing you all the best for the New Year.

Fiona Hagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,470 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,372 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
691 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £87 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu is a contemporary 5 star hotel, strategically located at the heart and city center of downtown Kota Kinabalu across the fresh and handicraft markets and Kota Kinabalu waterfront. Overlooking the sea, Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu features newly renovated rooms, leisure outdoor pool and sundeck with sunset pool side bar. Convenient within easy walking distance of other local attractions like Gaya Street in less than 10 minutes walk, retail and entertainment facilities in less than 20 minutes walk like Centrepoint, Suria and Imago Shopping Malls. Enjoy access to local art gallery, golf courses and other island excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing